SAF Scraps Buddy System with Immediate Effect

AhJason

@jamesc will miss the buddy system dearly. [laugh]

SINGAPORE ARMED FORCES SCRAPS BUDDY SYSTEM WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT

http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/singapore-armed-forces-scraps-buddy-system-immediate-effect

by Wan Dao Liao, Straight Times

SINGAPORE - Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) has announced it has removed the "buddy system" from its combat doctrine with effect from today (10 July).

In a press statement to the media, SAF spokesperson reiterated they are constantly reviewing its training procedures to ensure the SAF is "keeping up with the times". The "buddy system" is a traditional military doctrine which requires individual soldiers to function in pairs during training and operations to ensure safety and accountability.

"The SAF is concerned that the buddy system which requires individual soldiers to be devoted to another soldier interferes with their mental development," spokesperson Brigadier-General Yee Ker Xing replied in a e-mail interview, " We would like our conscript soldiers lead a healthy lifestyle that allows them to transit normally into civilian life after they completed their mandatory service."

The latest move by SAF coincides with National Library Board's removal of three children books which were criticised by pro-family groups as "anti-family" and "pro-gay". One of the books, "And Tango Makes Three" is based on a true story that tells the story of a pair of gay penguins which incubated a young bird and regarded it as their offspring.

"Finally the army wake up already!" cheered Lance Corporal Hock Kian Peng, "My instructor always tell me must eat, sleep and shower with my buddy you know! Then they forced us to sleep together in a small tent in field camp for 7 days you know! So gay!"

However, Brigader-General Yee declined to revealed the upcoming changes to the training doctrine, citing operational concerns.

"Maybe army should also stop telling me my rifle is my wife lah!", Lance Corporal Hock added, "I look at my rifle cannot stim, how to marry? how to buy hdb then claim baby bonus, you tell me? PAP give money you don't take meh? Siao."
- See more at: http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/singapore-armed-forces-scraps-buddy-system-immediate-effect#sthash.00cH0DEW.dpuf

SAF scared later have shagging session maciam Austin Power field camp......hahaha! Maybe have many Full-metal Jacket scenes nowadays.......better talk to my son so he wont break his parents and gf heart!

Imagine a soldier, his buddy and their respective rifles in a little tent.

What a riot it will be when you have a battalion level field camp

Haha

It's telling that we have so many local "Onion News" type alternatives now. Either people are losing hope or suddenly developing a sense of humour. Probably both. :D

= kee siao !? :o

Actually, I think (or I hope) Singaporeans are actually getting saner. 60+ and falling. :D

To be honest, I don't even find it funny at all and the website is seriously trying too hard.

The (late) Talkingcock used to be good but this..doesn't even make sense.

Wah, you all keep posting articles from Straights Times.

Reading from the thread title alone, I thought they are real news. [:)]

"Finally the army wake up already!" cheered Lance Corporal Hock Kian Peng, "My instructor always tell me must eat, sleep and shower with my buddy you know! Then they forced us to sleep together in a small tent in field camp for 7 days you know! So gay!"

I dunno this fellow so happy for what.....sleep with one buddy he say gay liow...

now SAF makes him sleep with many buddies considered gay orgy bo???? [hur][hur]

It's good to laugh at ourselves sometimes. Life is short, no need always so serious. [:)]

Bo liao nothing to gain publicity so create news? The souce of news also not reliable. Umless saf want to train every one to be rambo?

Edited by Rustyz

LoL..."Lance Corporal Hock Kian Peng".

Hock kian peng is what era sia?

Why they neber interview "ah gua peng"?

Cos that era's one is Chow Ah Gua ... [sly]