First it was ponding... now it is imperfection... :x

Ahgong

http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cw/Defectsinnewflats?OpenDocument

How does HDB rectify defects in newly completed flats?
Posted on 23 Jun 2014

HDB has a system in place to ensure that the quality of its new flats meet acceptable industry standards. We abide by a clear set of guidelines and impose quality checks at every stage of construction, including pre- and post-construction.

For example, contractors are required to inspect completed flats and carry out the necessary rectification works to the full satisfaction of HDB’s quality officers, before handing the flats over to HDB. Despite the stringent process, some minor imperfections may still remain due to the inherent features of natural materials or the nature of construction works that are dependent on manual labour.

As part of our commitment to quality, we provide all new HDB flat owners with HDB’s Assure 3 warranty coverage for ceiling and external wall seepage, and spalling concrete. This is in addition to the 1-year Defects Liability Period (DLP) for all new property owners to report defects for rectification, a timeframe similar to private sector developments.

HDB advises new flat owners to inspect their flat and report any defects to their development’s Building Services Centre (BSC) within the DLP. During this period, the BSCs are conveniently located near the new flats for owners to report the defects for prompt follow up by the contractors. Subsequently, flat owners can report any defects to their HDB Branch.

In general, defects reported are rectified within two weeks. In cases where the contractor requires more time, for reasons such as unavailability of materials, flat owners will be informed of the expected completion date.

The issue of defects rectification can be made more trying and complex when there are differences in understanding and expectations. An imperfection may be seen as a defect, and this usually happens with home owners who expect their new flat to be in pristine condition. While this is understandable, adopting zero tolerance towards defects and imperfections is not a reasonable expectation.

• A recent encounter with a flat owner over the level difference between the floor tiles in his new flat is a case in point. While the level difference between the floor tiles in his flat had met industry standards, he found it unacceptable despite several rounds of rectification, as he expected the laid tiles to be perfectly even.

• Some flat owners may also report ‘defects’ that are actually imperfections that arise from the nature of the product or manufacturing process. For example, for floors with timber finishes, some owners have given feedback on the colour inconsistencies. As timber is a natural, organic product, the shade and grain of each strip of the timber will vary. It is thus not possible to achieve a perfectly homogenous look.

• In the case of ceramic floor tiles, some owners have reported the gaps between the tiles as ‘defects’. These gaps are not defects as such. Ceramic tiles are produced at high temperatures and the tiles will shrink upon cooling. The extent to which each tile shrinks may vary slightly. To accommodate the slight variations in dimensions, the tiles are laid with gaps in between, and cement grout is used to fill these gaps.

• [jawdrop] so to save on cost, they have been using tiles that could possibly be warped?!? I dun remember my contractor just laying the tiles without rejecting the warped ones leh~! piang eh... BTO PREMIUM branding... and this is their defence?!? ONLY IN SG?

We acknowledge that there are times when defects may still remain despite everyone’s best efforts. HDB will make good on the defects caused by manufacturing lapses, or when the work is not up to standard. There are prevailing industry standards and practices which serve as objective arbiters for both public and private developments in cases of doubt and dispute.

- See more at: http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cw/Defectsinnewflats?OpenDocument#sthash.uMlJvAX2.dpuf

you know, for the obscene prices that we are paying for uneven walls, and multiple defects, this is one ballsy reply to all the complaints raised and shown on the net~!!!

post-66718-0-69631200-1405907890.jpg

Edited by Ahgong

Flats used to be good. Look at those old ones. They hardly had any defects until years later. Now new ones also have defects. HDB is trying to lie with eyes wide open. Tsk tsk tsk....

actually, I would also apply this to them.

What HDB trying to says is 'nothing is perfect' .... -_-

"Let's Move On" .... hmmmm......... I remember I heard this sentence before somewhere ... :blink:

So 'imperfection' of me to forget who said that ... [:(]

Edited by Picnic06

"Let's Move On" .... hmmmm......... I remember I heard this sentence before somewhere ... :blink:

Or maybe they want more money [sly]

The gaps in the tiles are poor workmanship.

If the renovator knows how to do it properly there will be no gaps.

Want to bluff ppl also dunno how. Fail.

In the same vein, there was also.....honest mistake...

Everything can be imperfect ...........except their salary package......but not applicable for working class

n how abt dengue outbreak? its all residents' fault coz they didnt get rid of still water? how abt making sure construction sites get rid of their thousands of mud pools lying everywhere?

Its already reaching the ceiling and about to burst into the roof top ... [lipsrsealed]

So what if it burst? [sly] You want good "service" have to pay -_-

I encountered steel bar lines on my ceiling and raised to HDB. They said no structural impact.

I raised the issue of grout sealant left over on tiles. They said can wash away.

I raised spalling concrete on my wall. They said prefab wall cannot withstand nailing on it.

Are these imperfections or defects??

huh? apply this to them? with regards to?

actually, I would also apply this to them.

imperfections...

deh... ahgong just gave you the new definition off the word in the first post. never read ah? [sly]

I encountered steel bar lines on my ceiling and raised to HDB. They said no structural impact.

I raised the issue of grout sealant left over on tiles. They said can wash away.

I raised spalling concrete on my wall. They said prefab wall cannot withstand nailing on it.

at the rate that we are re-inventing the meaning of words, we may need to have a singapore version of the dictionary liow.

call the MOXFERD Dictionary. (Ministry of Oxymoronic Full of Extra Redefined Definition for known words Dictionary) [laugh]

My coll's new Sengkang flat experienced tiles popping out. i even saw the pics of the popping tiles. looked bad.

the entire family had to move out stay in hotel, while HDB come to rectify. I believe HDB paid for everything......

Dont expect much from mass production work. Quality sure suffer along the line.

It's different from engaging own contractor doing the same work. Own contractor will spend more attention doing a good job for you.

If i get a new hdb flat, i rather it to be bone bare, so that i can do my own renovation.

I think you need to file a report under "below expectations" and not "defects". [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Defects conjure up an image that it's their fault. Bleow my expectations conjure up an image that we are too picky/our fault.