Most Expensive City In the world

Mllcg

Goodness $25 bottle of wine is expensive?

You must be living in a wine producing country [laugh]

Though our alcohol tax may not be the highest in the world, it'll definitely account around 30% of that $25.

How did they get that result? In many of those countries when eating out, I felt that its alot more expensive than Sg.

• Dislike 1

When you have the most expensive politician in the world, you know we have the most expensive cost of living

Yes, with those in play, we can expect the policy made would make roof over your head and private B&B car unbelievably expensive.

Edited by Janling3

How did they get that result? In many of those countries when eating out, I felt that its alot more expensive than Sg.

SG is expenseive in house and car

I find sg food, taxi and even groceries are cheaper than many of those countries.

Maybe they measure it based on living in Orchard or Raffles Place

another thread for most expensive city?

no need to talk la ... yes la ... spore is the most expensive city ... we all know la ...

i said up VEP for foreign vehicle (car only) to $50 ... who is with me? lol

Although I am not into alcohol, our alcohol tax is insane.

Not forgetting the slap on the $ required (to obtain a license) to operate a nightspot dispending liquor. Its a further addition add on that waterfalls onto the consumer.

Edited by Baal

now with many ban and restriction to sell alcohol to FW and operating hours at hdb nearby kopitiam

kopitiam need to raise alcohol price soon else how to survive with the sibei high rental

the math is easy

sell more ... lower price

sell less .. higher price

i share with my cousin in OZ that spore got restriction to sell beer to ah neh and also last order at 11pm

he roll on the floor laughing because in his house the fridge is always stock with beer and wine ... lol

Not forgetting the slap on the $ required (to obtain a license) to operate a nightspot dispending liquor. Its a further addition add on that waterfalls onto the consumer.

now with many ban and restriction to sell alcohol to FW and operating hours at hdb nearby kopitiam

kopitiam need to raise alcohol price soon else how to survive with the sibei high rental

the math is easy

sell less ... higher price

Makes no sense for me to have a drink at coffeeshop since 2006 when I can only smoke in the yellow box.

The yellow box is not the problem per se. Its the environment within the box..., rowdy, noisy, kpkb. No personal space. Hence I rather get a 6 from Ang Mo, SS, NTUC......get those budget brand and sip on 1-2 cans at night once on a blue moon.

yeah ... i normally stock up a cartoon of hoegarden, becks, carlsberg at home

nicelly chilled and can have 2 cans in a sat night ... sibei shiok

Skewed western survey laa.... The food they survey are all ang mor food. Try order a plate of nasi lemak and cendol in US and see how much you need to pay. That is if you can even find it.

hahaha ... angmoh go chatterbox for chicken rice one ... no $25 no talk ... lol

London 1 sandwich 3-4 pound in the normal store

why Singapore no 1 i dont understand

somes places like Istanbul, Athens..things are so expensive to their locals also..their earning power so low, things are so expensive but they never in the list before

even my malaysian colleagues said earn in Sg spend in Sg also better than earning and spend at their side..

sometimes i also dont understand the reports

London 1 sandwich 3-4 pound in the normal store

why Singapore no 1 i dont understand

somes places like Istanbul, Athens..things are so expensive to their locals also..their earning power so low, things are so expensive but they never in the list before

even my malaysian colleagues said earn in Sg spend in Sg also better than earning and spend at their side..

sometimes i also dont understand the reports

IMHO, that's what they call the affordability, where the fresh graduate first earning is realistically sufficient to support themselves from the day they join the work force. You can compare My, Indo'sia, etc. The living standard of the fresh graduate there is perceived poorer than Sgp base on basic needs (food, lodging, leisure). But the business environment is of the opposite site, to run a business and survive is easier, on a smaller to medium scale, there than here. -_-

the math is easy

sell less .. higher price

i share with my cousin in OZ that spore got restriction to sell beer to ah neh and also last order at 11pm

he roll on the floor laughing because in his house the fridge is always stock with beer and wine ... lol

Aiyah OZ can BYO,

We stocked up for our consumption at home.

But eating out have to buy from eateries.

But OZ have very strict alcohol rules too.

I was told that one cannot carry an opened bottle of wine/alcohol in the vehicle.

I did that for a few days while I was driving from town to town. Oops.