Fuel tank cannot be lower than one quarter

Aerosmith

is this true?

the manual says if go lower, there is small chance of engine faults and other problems.

is this a general guideline? fuel tank cannot be too empty?

is this true?

the manual says if go lower, there is small chance of engine faults and other problems.

The fuel lubricates n cools the fuel pump inside the fuel tank.

Go too low n u dun have this anymore. Might have fuel pump problems then. [:/]

Don't try your luck.

Your car is shaking, vibrating all the time when moving.

With not enough fuel, the pump may pick up air bubbles instead of fuel during the shaking.

With no fuel, your engine will stumble.

ECU may go crazy when you have random misfire.

Yeap, you're introducing all kinds of problem.

whether you pump at half tank, quarter tank or near empty tank, still need to pump. Why drag until the last drop? For me, I will pump once it drops to last bar/mark which has approx 15L left in tank.

Edited by Kangadrool

is this true?

What car so koo koo? Made in China?

Most of the time I pump only when the low fuel warning light comes on (sometimes after 1-2 days). Been doing this for years, on many different cars, without a single problem. Modern cars are well engineered and tested and shouldn't have such limitations.

(Except when I actually ran out of fuel many years ago!)

whether you pump at half tank, quarter tank or near empty tank, still need to pump. Why drag until the last drop? For me, I will pump once it drops to last bar/mark which has approx 15L left in tank.

Ya last time I pimp in JB always have >half tank.

Now I pump in SG never let it drop <1/4 tank then fill up full. [nod]

For diesel yes, for petrol no need

For diesel once air enter the fuel line, u must pump like seow n bleed out all the air b4 the engine can start.

Very susah. [sweatdrop][dizzy]

is this true?

This is especially true for fuel pump submerge in petrol.

I always pump up when the warning light comes out. There should be about 12 litres left in my tank. So far no issues leh...

Ya last time I pimp in JB always have >half tank.

Oh you pimp in JB huh....!

Didn't say earlier, I sure go support your "house" de... [grin][:p]

Don't try your luck.

Your car is shaking, vibrating all the time when moving.

With not enough fuel, the pump may pick up air bubbles instead of fuel during the shaking.

With no fuel, your engine will stumble.

ECU may go crazy when you have random misfire.

Yeap, you're introducing all kinds of problem.

With no fuel, your engine will stop and not stumble. You may go crazy but not the ECU. Never experienced all those things you mentioned.

Most of the time, I only refuel after the warning light comes on. Even then, I will still drive for 50km or more and that habit has been with me for more than 20 years. Never encountered any problem, except the inconvenience when my previous car stalled on PIE with no petrol. My present car which is just 8 years old ran out of petrol twice as I pushed it to more than 100km after the light came on. Luckily these last 2 ocassions happened after parking my car - not on the move. Now I dont stretch to the limit but still about 50 kim after the light comes on.

Edited by Dumb

Even light comes on I won't go pump till I hit the E marking and roughly I drive for another 20-30km more before I go pump my petrol.. No problems at all.. I tried not to exceed more than 50km after E marking..

I always pump up when the warning light comes out. There should be about 12 litres left in my tank. So far no issues leh...

I guess its also some luck involved.

But if yr petrol always very low your fuel pump in the tank gets hotter than usual. Its not good for the pump.

Just like u fill Engine Oil only to Min mark all the time. U lucky nothing happen. If not so lucky, engine lack of oil then one day Kapow. [sweatdrop]

Hahahaha.

Oh you pimp in JB huh....!

Didn't say earlier, I sure go support your "house" de... [grin][:p]

Hahahaha. Ya typo lah. My fingers too big for the keyboard. [laugh]

If I really Pimp in Jb, sure I wud hv invited u all for some good action at special prices. [thumbsup]

With no fuel, your engine will stop and not stumble. You may go crazy but not the ECU. Never experienced all those things you mentioned.

Most of the time, I only refuel after the warning light comes on. Even then, I will still drive for 50km or more and that habit has been with me for more than 20 years. Never encountered any problem, except the inconvenience when my previous car stalled on PIE with no petrol. My present car which is just 8 years old ran out of petrol twice as I pushed it to more than 100km after the light came on. Luckily these last 2 ocassions happened after parking my car - not on the move. Now I dont stretch to the limit but still about 50 kim after the light comes on.

Well still taking the chancxe fuel pump wil overheat n fail premature on u.

Bigger problem is running out of petrol on a dark n lonely road in the middle of the night n it rains heavily. [shocked]

Best is u can PUSH your car for 100KM [sweatdrop] . U must b superhuman strong?????

Even light comes on I won't go pump till I hit the E marking and roughly I drive for another 20-30km more before I go pump my petrol.. No problems at all.. I tried not to exceed more than 50km after E marking..

I prefer not to take such risks cos sometimes I all of a sudden got many things to do n places to go n no time to stop to fill up then.

Then my fear is running out of petrol when I rushing n very busy. Then Im screwed. [dizzy][bigcry]