Car Names Pronunciation

BabyBlade

Por-Shay is definitely Singaporean only. Haha.

Jaguar is a problem too. The lads on Top Gear pronounce it differently from the way local Singaporeans do.

Most of us say Jar-Guar. For them it's three syllabus.

What about Buick and Ssangyong?

Buick = pu ki

So buy a BMW is best choice.

No need to guess how to pronounce it.

the problem arises when someone ask what is the expanded form of BMW..most are probably clueless

Then go Chinese lor. Sure will not pronounce wrongly

Audi = 奧迪

BMW = 寶馬

Ferrari = 法拉利

Ford = 福特

Honda = 本田

Toyota = 豐田

Merc = 平治

Do we need to pronounce like the native do? It seems alright for the ang mo pronouce nanyang as nan yen.

The ah tiongs or ah bengs who pay cash for fahlalees or mahseelees have the right to call their cars any way they like

Then go Chinese lor. Sure will not pronounce wrongly

Audi = 奧迪

BMW = 寶馬

Ferrari = 法拉利

Ford = 福特

Honda = 本田

Toyota = 豐田

Merc = 平治

Merc Benz = 奔驰?

my Citroen is always pronounced as see-tron when i think the actual pronunciation should be see seat-trow-en. which i cant even pronounce properly [lipsrsealed]:D

Actual pronunciation for Volkswagen is Vow-Vay (or VW in German) in Germany

For BMW is (Bay-M-Vay in German) in Germany, which is same as in Singapore.

So buy a BMW is best choice.

No need to guess how to pronounce it.

Have also arh...

BMW = Bian tak yew (no need accelerate)

My daughter always ask me, what is the relation of a&w and bmw........

One is a kids magnet and the other is a xmm magnet.

:p

Have also arh...

BMW = Bian tak yew (no need accelerate)

One is a kids magnet and the other is a xmm magnet.

:p

Hehe, BMW is my magnet too.

Just fall in love with BMW...... when there is no repair works.

this word got probably half our population pronouncing it wrongly (probably half our MPs too)

OPPORTUNITY

Wrong : APORTunity

Right : Opportunity

this word got probably half our population pronouncing it wrongly (probably half our MPs too)

OPPORTUNITY

Wrong : APORTunity

Right : Opportunity

can be more specific.....say like never say :D

Singaporeans...

Suite becomes "Suit"

Lingerie becomes "Ling-Ger-Ree"

February - We usually omit the first R.

Miniature becomes "Mi-Ni-Cher"

Library becomes "Lie-Berry"

Salmon becomes "Sell-Men"

Pronunciation becomes "Pro-Nounce-See-Ay-Tion"

Haha.

You laugh. But a lot of ppl are still struggling. As for my past English teachers I think they mass commit suicide. LoL...

The way I do it is to remember some "keywords" to remind me inorder to say it correctly.

Eg. Suite... The words honeymoon sweet will pop up in my mind.

For "Salmon" the name "Sally" will remind me of saying the "Sal" follow by "mon".

Lingerie is pretty much a French word. I forgive ppl who says it wrong. LoL...

For the rest Sgporeans have their own lazy way to say it wrongly.

The word "cement" has many Sgpreans struggling. Many just say it as "semen" whereby Ang Mohs will break into laughter. Hokkien bengs and lians when in doubt will say "si meh?". We will make fun by saying it's "Ang Moh huay" (cement).