Interior cloth falling off

Sgspurs

My passat interior cloth is falling and sagging off. Seems like the glue has come off.

Any lobang to fix it or anyway that can help change it ?

Thanks for the help.

Last I did for my civic some time back was at a upholstery shop along Ubi road 1. I also dunno where to go and just go to that area drive around. Sure enough there's a shop who does it. I said a friend with the same car recommended me. LoL...

They use back the original roof hard backing. Remove & replace the lining and the sponge.

This kinda only do one time. So I didn't bother to note down their address or shop name.

Actually if you do not want to spend a couple of hundred of bucks to get it fix you can actually DIY.

If next time my car does this, this is what I will do.

I will remove the interior panel and lighting, remove the interior roof.

Pull off the fabric lining. Go DIY shop get scrapping tool and sand paper to remove the sponge material.

Once the surface is cleaned and dry. I will get a few cans of white colour plasti-dip($25/can), http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsqsjtd902RLo8peD11olPw

and spray a few layers of it. And put the roof back.

That will save you some money for your old car.

The plasti-dip can be bought at autobacs or mx trading or any car accessory shop.

Actually if you do not want to spend a couple of hundred of bucks to get it fix you can actually DIY.

If next time my car does this, this is what I will do.

I will remove the interior panel and lighting, remove the interior roof.

Pull off the fabric lining. Go DIY shop get scrapping tool and sand paper to remove the sponge material.

Once the surface is cleaned and dry. I will get a few cans of white colour plasti-dip($25/can), http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsqsjtd902RLo8peD11olPw

and spray a few layers of it. And put the roof back.

That will save you some money for your old car.

The plasti-dip can be bought at autobacs or mx trading or any car accessory shop.

Thanks but i think i probably don't have it in me to DIY. Would prefer to look for a trusty shop to do it.

Thanks.

Thanks but i think i probably don't have it in me to DIY. Would prefer to look for a trusty shop to do it.

Thanks.

Ive driven cars till scrap n a COE car til 19 yrs n never had this problem.

How come Passat so lousy one? :huh:

Have u checked with the agent or upholstery shop how much to repalce or repair?

classic leather at paya ubi is one...

Thanks.

I have got friend's BMW 4-5 years got this problem. My previous civic fd 6-7 years tio liao. The equality of cars nowadays very cut cost type.

Tell me about it.....Never encounter this in my previous cars....

going to call agent tomorrow to get a quote although i likely will get from other workshop. I've given up on VW on servicing...that's another long story....

classic leather at paya ubi is one...

Thanks. will give them a call tomorrow...

Somehow the German cars have also sagging roof lining issues. I ever replaced the roof linings in a 7/8 yr old Bimmer with very very low mileage, whereas all my other cars from Japanese to Italians to Swedes never had this issue.

Tell me about it.....Never encounter this in my previous cars....

going to call agent tomorrow to get a quote although i likely will get from other workshop. I've given up on VW on servicing...that's another long story....

Thanks. will give them a call tomorrow...

If its a common problem, maybe they can just glue it back?

If to change the whole roof lining wil b quite ex hor.

If got felt type better. Unlikely to detach n sag.

U can try to DIY but if whole lining is falling away then u need to remove the whole roof lining complete n do a proper gule back on a bench then put it back. Its quite a big job n u dun DIY so go shop lah.

Or if just the fabric lining coming loose, cut it off nicely n stick a new layer of felt on the whole inside roof. Use a good quality waterproof fabric glue.

Somehow the German cars have also sagging roof lining issues. I ever replaced the roof linings in a 7/8 yr old Bimmer with very very low mileage, whereas all my other cars from Japanese to Italians to Swedes never had this issue.

Maybe just like German women also suffer sagging problems. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If its a common problem, maybe they can just glue it back?

If to change the whole roof lining wil b quite ex hor.

If got felt type better. Unlikely to detach n sag.

U can try to DIY but if whole lining is falling away then u need to remove the whole roof lining complete n do a proper gule back on a bench then put it back. Its quite a big job n u dun DIY so go shop lah.

Or if just the fabric lining coming loose, cut it off nicely n stick a new layer of felt on the whole inside roof. Use a good quality waterproof fabric glue.

Glue it back? No way lah. Becoz inbetween the fabric lining and hard backing the sponge like material has turned brown. The boss who did mine told me dunno whether it's the oil from human being or oil from elsewhere in the car that caused the adhesiveness to fail. When there's oil contaminants nothing will stick.

Maybe just like German women also suffer sagging problems. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

korea wan mostly plastic....jap wan many many use oredy....MY wan use and scrap....hahaha!

Wah u specialize in sagging issues?

U got do study for Africa women? [sweatdrop]

Wah u specialize in sagging issues?

U got do study for Africa women? [sweatdrop]

i scared kana sucked into 'blackhole' in the dark continent.....better not try! I racist sia!

My passat interior cloth is falling and sagging off. Seems like the glue has come off.

Any lobang to fix it or anyway that can help change it ?

Thanks for the help.

Normal for Conti to have the lining delaminate between the cloth and actual roof lining board. The problem is caused by the failure of the sponge lining between the cloth and board. The sponge rots or deteriorate causing the two to separate......thus the sagging cloth. Nothing to do with the glue acutally. A bucket of glue cannot put the cloth lining back to the board lining because the rotting sponge needs to be remove.

Mine failed after about 4 years. Was replaced by Jason at AutoBay at Kaki. Give him a call at 814 129 88 . Got the whole roof lining removed in the morning and it was ready to be reinstalled the next day.

Strange but Japanese/Korean cars don't seem to have this problem or I have not seen them before.