Need help on dishonest workshop! urgent!

Ah_rek

Guy need urgent advises.

My wife got into an minor accident, so we send the car to paintshop for respray.

A frd recommended a paintshop at pioneer(not disclosing names here), today upon collecting the car, my wife found out that her touch n go card is missing. As we only use it while going to msia, she dint bother to take out,it was at the card compartment,those driving fiat punto should know.(dont flame me now, i know we r stupid to have left it there). She confronted the painter but all denied,she had no choice but to leave.

As soon as she called me about this incident,i immediately call the boss,told him the whole situation and wanted my card back,i gently tell him its theft and we are recommended by a frd,we even took a photo of the finger prints with paint stains inside the compartment and that he needsnto check and confront his workers. End up he challenge me to call police, investigate on the prints and boasted he got a full viewed CCTV.

We are not happy, its only a mere rm60 in the card, but its totally not right to take anythiNg away from my car and still walk away like this!
Pic that i took

post-59337-0-48807100-1409051555_thumb.jpg

U no put WS name, u left it there, u got no proof they took it, boss ask u to report polis.

Errrrrr......so what sorta 'help' r u expecting in MCF?

Do u have evidence that the card was left in the car? And someone there took it? It's your word vs the workshop's.

There is a Chinese saying, "catch thief must catch with said stolen goods".

It's a lesson learnt and despite the buay-songness, nothing much can be done. Just avoid the said wkshop forever and remember to keep all valuables and cash cards on person....otherwise it's really see and gone.

I am not related to any workshop and hope u will not let this affect the rest of your evening. Life is already stressful enough.... glad no one's hurt in the accident too.

Just my thoughts

Safe ride

Bro, to be frank with u, let it go bah. U think police/CID so free to process the fingerprint test for u? They got more serious cases to handle. Believe in Karma, the thief will get 100x worse than this. Life is so stressful liao, worry on more important things in your life bah.

Edited by Optramagnum

Guy need urgent advises.

My wife got into an minor accident, so we send the car to paintshop for respray.

A frd recommended a paintshop at pioneer(not disclosing names here), today upon collecting the car, my wife found out that her touch n go card is missing. As we only use it while going to msia, she dint bother to take out,it was at the card compartment,those driving fiat punto should know.(dont flame me now, i know we r stupid to have left it there). She confronted the painter but all denied,she had no choice but to leave.

As soon as she called me about this incident,i immediately call the boss,told him the whole situation and wanted my card back,i gently tell him its theft and we are recommended by a frd,we even took a photo of the finger prints with paint stains inside the compartment and that he needsnto check and confront his workers. End up he challenge me to call police, investigate on the prints and boasted he got a full viewed CCTV.

We are not happy, its only a mere rm60 in the card, but its totally not right to take anythiNg away from my car and still walk away like this!

Pic that i took

Rek,

If you and your wife confirmed the card is still in the coins compartment when you leave your car there. Then confirm one of them took the card .

At times, we might have misplace or overlook.

And the boss challenged you to call the Police. You shd have done so if you are 100% sure the card was left there before you left (physically check the card is there). Its their onus to prove it. Ask them don't talk big.

And no stupid thief in the world will admit they take the card.

Edited by Divers

We are very sure the card is inside. But see, its not about the card actually, its Like someone took ur thing n den challenging u knowing u cant do a thing about it. .

And my frd is in between now.

Thanks for all advises n replies, after some consideration i think i cant do anything about it too, police wont waste resources on me n i definitely dont wanna waste their time.

We are very sure the card is inside. But see, its not about the card actually, its Like someone took ur thing n den challenging u knowing u cant do a thing about it. .

Thanks for all advises n replies, after some consideration i think i cant do anything about it too, police wont waste resources on me n i definitely dont wanna waste their time.

I'm glad you have straighten your thoughts. That's the spirit of MCF, to consolidate ppl feedbacks and make sound decisions. Just be careful in future, I will even lock my car then walk to cashier while the uncle is refueling for me . It's not so much about losing things, but avoid wasting time on finger pointing and spoiling own mood. Bottomline is CAR is a form of transportation, not a SAFE. Dun store valuables inside esp when it's easily accessible by outsiders, car wash, servicing, etc. . Edited by Optramagnum

Guy need urgent advises.

Pic that i took

Since even boss tell u fly kite, then if u wan just make a police report.

See what they wan to do. Its stil theft n got finger prints so maybe they wan to investigate. If not then u just lan lan lah.

U have the right to make a police report of theft. Hope the police very free to follow up.

U got nothing to lose to report police.

忍一时风平浪静,退一步海阔天空!

But it's always much easier said than done...

Try not to let this incident affect your mood...

If u got fren work police as IO even better. Otherwise leave it to the police if they wan to follow up or not.

Sometimes now even small case they wil investigate but at least there is on record this shop got your caes. Who knows maybe many others also reported about this WS n then it becomes a big case.

Dun let the WS boss push u around. Hew challenge u so take it up. U got nothing to lose.

Maybe one of their workers already have long history of petty theft? [rolleyes]

Yup. Although the loss is minimal, theft is still theft. I still remember a classmate stole 50cents from me during primary school, I also buay song. Just report to police. Although I doubt they can catch the culprit, at least there's a case already on the workshop. So if there's any future theft reported, they can refer to past cases. Else, this will also prevent the culprit from repeating the offence on other cars, knowing the workshop already got a case.