LiuDeHua

cow cannot eat ... got mad cow

chicken and duck cannot eat ... got bird flu

fish cannot eat ... got mercury

fruit & vege cannot eat ... got toxic

the world is coming to an end ... KNN

2 of my favourite fish are inside the high mercury list.

Swordfish and Chilean Sea Bass.

http://misterbenster.blogspot.sg/2005/11/for-those-of-you-who-like-to-eat-cod.html

For those of you who like to eat 'Cod' fish

This is taken from a thread that i wrote in www.fishingkaki.com

Hi guys. I have always been intrigued by this fish that is sold locally as 'cod' and is called 'Xue Yu' or 'Snow Fish' in chinese. This fish is always very expensive and tastes very good, but somehow it doesn't seem to be the real Cod http://www.landbigfish.com/fish/fish.cfm?ID=128 that is found in UK waters.

So during one of my weekly trips to Jurong Fishery Port to purchase fish for my family's eatery, i came across one of the wholesalers who was selling a batch of this 'Xue Yu'. The fish are usually between 0.5 to 0.8m long, with dark grey/black skin, and always headless. The wholesale price is between $22-26 a kilo. They come packed deep frozen in cardboard boxes, and i managed to read the label on the box. It read: 'Falkland Islands, Sea Bass'. The shipping info indicated that the fish were shipped from Chile. So i was wondering, wow, this fish comes from the Falkland Islands, instead of the UK, so it must not be the Cod that is found in the UK.
seabasswithfilet55.2.jpg

And so, i went on google and searched for Falkland Islands Sea Bass. And this is what i found out.

1. The fish is actually called the Chilean Sea Bass, or Patagonian Toothfish. http://www.colto.org/Background_Toothfish.htm http://www.blueoceaninstitute.org/seafood/species/98.html

2. It is native to sub-antartic regions such as the Falkland Islands, hence its nickname here of 'Xue Yu' or Snow Fish.

3. It is highly endangered as it reproduces very slowly, and is a protected species. This is a good link - http://environet.policy.net/marine/csb/

4. More than 60% of the Chilean Sea Bass on the market is caught illegally using illegal fishing methods that kill a lot of antarctic sea birds such as Albatrosses and Emperor Penguins http://actionnetwork.org/campaign/csb

5. There are many environmental groups in other countries which promote the boycotting of buying this fish. However, there is also a group which regulates legal tootfish fishing. http://www.colto.org/

6. There are heavy penalties for those who poach for these fish Fines http://www.planetark.com/dailynewsstory.cfm/newsid/32724/story.htm Fishing vessel blown up for fishing for toothfish http://www.colto.org/Vessels/vess_Elqui.htm More http://www.usdoj.gov/usao/fls/050928-01.html

Here's what a New York chef had to say about the fish:
"I started to use Chilean sea bass in 1992 or 1993 and it was a great fish, a beautiful fish," he continued. "In the last few years they have been getting smaller and smaller, while the quality is getting worse. Now, most of the Chilean sea bass on the market is illegal, and it has been frozen. I agree 100 percent with the campaign to improve the stocks of this fish for the future." http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2002/05/0522_020522_seabass.html

I agree with him, when i first ate this 'cod' locally about 8 years ago, it was much nicer. The 'cod' i find nowadays doesn't taste as nice, and sometimes tastes as if it has been frozen for too long. This fish can grow up to 2.2m long and weigh 120kg+! And nowadays you only find juveniles around 3-4kg..

By the way, the people who first brought the fish in to Singapore and named it as 'Cod' are really ignorant! This fish is MUCH better tasting than the real Cod (which is used for fish & chips and fish fingers in the UK) and is a totally different species.

The real Cod that is found in the UK: fishcodwholefish.2.jpg
http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/SpeciesSummary.php?id=69

The Patagonian Toothfish/'Chilean Sea Bass'
TFish%20Platter2.2.jpg

Interesting eh? Makes me feel that the public should be educated more about this fish.

different la, local cod fish cost $40+ in the market, chilean sea bass $70+.

http://misterbenster.blogspot.sg/2005/11/for-those-of-you-who-like-to-eat-cod.html

Hi guys. I have always been intrigued by this fish that is sold locally as 'cod' and is called 'Xue Yu' or 'Snow Fish' in chinese. This fish is always very expensive and tastes very good, but somehow it doesn't seem to be the real Cod http://www.landbigfish.com/fish/fish.cfm?ID=128 that is found in UK waters.

So during one of my weekly trips to Jurong Fishery Port to purchase fish for my family's eatery, i came across one of the wholesalers who was selling a batch of this 'Xue Yu'. The fish are usually between 0.5 to 0.8m long, with dark grey/black skin, and always headless. The wholesale price is between $22-26 a kilo. They come packed deep frozen in cardboard boxes, and i managed to read the label on the box. It read: 'Falkland Islands, Sea Bass'. The shipping info indicated that the fish were shipped from Chile. So i was wondering, wow, this fish comes from the Falkland Islands, instead of the UK, so it must not be the Cod that is found in the UK.
seabasswithfilet55.2.jpg

And so, i went on google and searched for Falkland Islands Sea Bass. And this is what i found out.

1. The fish is actually called the Chilean Sea Bass, or Patagonian Toothfish. http://www.colto.org/Background_Toothfish.htm http://www.blueoceaninstitute.org/seafood/species/98.html

2. It is native to sub-antartic regions such as the Falkland Islands, hence its nickname here of 'Xue Yu' or Snow Fish.

3. It is highly endangered as it reproduces very slowly, and is a protected species. This is a good link - http://environet.policy.net/marine/csb/

4. More than 60% of the Chilean Sea Bass on the market is caught illegally using illegal fishing methods that kill a lot of antarctic sea birds such as Albatrosses and Emperor Penguins http://actionnetwork.org/campaign/csb

5. There are many environmental groups in other countries which promote the boycotting of buying this fish. However, there is also a group which regulates legal tootfish fishing. http://www.colto.org/

6. There are heavy penalties for those who poach for these fish Fines http://www.planetark.com/dailynewsstory.cfm/newsid/32724/story.htm Fishing vessel blown up for fishing for toothfish http://www.colto.org/Vessels/vess_Elqui.htm More http://www.usdoj.gov/usao/fls/050928-01.html

"I started to use Chilean sea bass in 1992 or 1993 and it was a great fish, a beautiful fish," he continued. "In the last few years they have been getting smaller and smaller, while the quality is getting worse. Now, most of the Chilean sea bass on the market is illegal, and it has been frozen. I agree 100 percent with the campaign to improve the stocks of this fish for the future." http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2002/05/0522_020522_seabass.html

I agree with him, when i first ate this 'cod' locally about 8 years ago, it was much nicer. The 'cod' i find nowadays doesn't taste as nice, and sometimes tastes as if it has been frozen for too long. This fish can grow up to 2.2m long and weigh 120kg+! And nowadays you only find juveniles around 3-4kg..

By the way, the people who first brought the fish in to Singapore and named it as 'Cod' are really ignorant! This fish is MUCH better tasting than the real Cod (which is used for fish & chips and fish fingers in the UK) and is a totally different species.

TFish%20Platter2.2.jpg

Interesting eh? Makes me feel that the public should be educated more about this fish.

A lot of misleading food labeling around. Eg Cream Dory is actually a catfish from Mekong river and not a Dory at all.

No one would buy "Catfish" right?

Or Orang Juice DRINK (plenty of sugar added) which is not the same as Orange Juice.

I am wondering if salmon in Jap resturant are all farmed salmon. Wild salmon is virtually extinct unless u are grizzly bear.

most if not all salmon you find in Sinkapor is farmed with orange-colored flesh(laced with chemicals & dye)..wild salmon is the color below

Wild-Salmon-Are-Better-1-460x313.jpg

all ang moh name ... don't know leh

my fav soon hock .. safe to eat?

mingkee_05.jpg

Picture+1705.jpg

Wow...

I like Soon Hock too.

But not many like because it's freshwater fish...and association of the taste of fish. I like the texture.

However freshwater fish should not be eaten raw as has higher risk of parasites.

Seawater fish is safe from parasite but have higher mercury risk.

A lot of misleading food labeling around. Eg Cream Dory is actually a catfish from Mekong river and not a Dory at all.

No one would buy "Catfish" right?

Or Orang Juice DRINK (plenty of sugar added) which is not the same as Orange Juice.

Must look for the Not from Concentrate label on the OJ package.

Blondes need not apply.

Tks for the info!

Any idea abt threadfin aka Gor Hee?

Very popular among children, mine included.

threadfin ie ngoh her is one of the fishes with lower mercury contents.

Somehow the wisdom of the parents knew all this way way before testing for mercury or levels of DHA were known. Really is common people wisdom.

Now selling super expensive at around the price of "Cod" fish.

threadfin ie ngoh her is one of the fishes with lower mercury contents.

Somehow the wisdom of the parents knew all this way way before testing for mercury or levels of DHA were known. Really is common people wisdom.

Yes.

i realised this sometime ago.

Anyway cod is a commonly mistakened fish like tuna.

I was reading somewhere that 50% of the consumed tuna is not really tuna. Just fish that looks like tuna lol.

it's almost certain your "tuna" in a can is not 100% tuna lol.

seabasswithfilet55.2.jpg

TFish%20Platter2.2.jpg

Now selling super expensive at around the price of "Cod" fish.

it's getting harder to catch bigger fishes.

It's highly prized in chinese and even indian society as good fish.

There's an indian version of the threadfin.

I was trying to find studies on internet regarding threadfin (ngoh her) mercury and DHA contents when i was searching regarding DHA capsules. Australia health authorities recommends threadfin (local version) as low mercury. HK health authrorities recommends their golden threadfin as low mercury.

There's an indian study comparing their local threadfin vs 2 other fishes. It has the highest DHA amount of the 3.

So in general threadfin is good for you.