Li-ion battery that recharge in Minutes and Last 20 Years

LiuDeHua

Charging your phone battery can be inconvenient and take awhile, but what if you could get a proper power refueling in just a few minutes?

Scientists at the Nanyang Technological University in Singapore say they developed a lithium-ion battery that can go from zero to 70% power capacity in two minutes. Lithium-ion batteries are commonly used in phones and tablets.

Perhaps even more importantly, the battery lasts much longer than the ones we have now, an attribute that could boost the electric car industry, developers said.

1-ultrafastcha.jpg

The new battery is supposed to last for 10,000 cycles, a lifespan estimated at two decades and more than 10 times longer than what we're used to.

The new battery is supposed to last for 10,000 cycles, a lifespan estimated at two decades

In contrast, Apple says its phone batteries are designed to "retain up to 80% of its original capacity at 500 complete charge cycles." Generally, the more you recharge a battery, the more it loses its luster over time.

The breakthrough here is with the battery's anode or negative pole, which traditionally works with graphite. The graphite is replaced with a newly developed gel made from an "abundant, cheap and safe" material called titanium dioxide that's found in soil. It's also an active ingredient in sunscreen.

The researchers were able to morph the spherically-shaped titanium dioxide into tubular strands that are 1,000-times thinner than a human hair. The gel speeds up reactions taking place inside the new battery, propelling the hyper-fast recharging.

The researchers think the battery's most important impact will be on the electric car industry. Potential adopters can be turned off by the long recharge times and shorter battery lifespans for electric vehicles.

With this battery, however, recharging your car — timewise — wouldn't be so far off from filling up a tank a gas. It should take about five minutes to give you enough power to get back on the road and 15 minutes for a full charge, the researchers said in a statement.

Replacement batteries for electric cars are costly, too, with some priced at more than $5,000. Another benefit is that it would cut down on waste resulting from battery disposals.

When talking about "breakthroughs" for battery technology, expectations can be very high. Don't treat this as consumer reality just yet, but it's good to know that scientists are trying to make batteries more efficient.

Developers expect the new batteries to hit the market in the next two years.

The millions we are pouring into R&D is paying dividends.

Err i won't go so far to say that lah.

But it's good to see beneficial technologies coming out all the time. Especially if from our local labs.

go go go ... when this happen

the rich saudi can jiak sai liao

if we invent a super battery that can store gazillion watts of electricity that can be charged up within miliseconds by one bolt of lightning, then truely of truely, the oilly chaps can go jiak sai liao!!!! [laugh]

huat ah!!!!!!!!!! [laugh]

the battery can last 10,000 cycles charged

it's not charge 2-mins and last 20 years hor ... lol ... in this case everyone jiak sai liao ...

if the battery put into car ... 1 charge = 5 mins ...

if can last 500km is already better than 90% car on the street liao with a full tank of petrol

As long as the fast charging up does not contribute to explosion, this will be good news :))

Hey, we have MIS - Made in Singapore battery :))

You know what NTU and NUS are about?

Ranking.

To raise ranking, you need awareness.

To raise awareness, you need hype.

I read this article in the morning...laughed. Just hype.

This fast charging is nothing new. Current toy grade lithium polymer batteries can easily charge 60% in 5mins. Some even claim 15c charge rate, that is close to 75% in 3mins.

Number of cycles really depends a lot on how you use it.

Most importantly, the researcher probably did all his literature review in his research field and forgot to just simply google electric car charging problems.

The fundamental issues we have today is not how fast the battery can be charged. It is how fast the power can be transferred from the power station into your car. This means, even if I give you a battery that can fully charge in 30s, you will never be able to do that because the car battery is big. To charge it in mins requires an EVEN BIGGER power point.

And perhaps this is why, as a lousy researcher myself, who is never concentrating on research but waste all my time on visiting car showrooms, know that some electric cars are bundle with a "specialised" charging point that speeds up charging.

Wait a minute.... Batt that can last 20 years WHILE using it or shelf life of 20 years? Big difference hor....

EDIT: OK, it says lifespan is 20 years and last 10 times longer than the current batt. Some of you here thinks it can last 20 years in one charge.... [laugh]

Edited by Tjkbeluga