S'pore to launch Asia's first tracking system for fish

Camrysfa

??? Great idea, or waste of time. All of us going to get those chips in our system? With a chip reader I can read you, haha

From February next year, some fish farmers in Singapore will be introducing microchipping for their fish. The aim is to improve competitiveness and ensure the quality of the fish sold to consumers.

Asia's first tracking system for fish

The microchips will allow buyers to find out the origins of the fish and its health conditions using an online system. There are plans to extend this to about 120 fish farms in Singapore within the next three years.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/fish-and-micro-chips-s/1418740.html

SINGAPORE: From February next year, some fish farmers in Singapore will be introducing microchipping for their fish. The aim is to improve competitiveness and ensure the quality of the fish sold to consumers.

Fish will be microchipped once they reach 100 grammes. With the microchip, buyers can find out the origins of the fish and its health conditions using an online system.

Once launched, this will be Asia's first tracking system for fish that are meant for consumption.

There are plans to extend this to about 120 fish farms in Singapore within the next three years.

"Once the chip is in, the farmers shall not implement any drugs or any medication to the fish. If the fish is sick, either they die or we do medical treatment. When we do medical treatment, this group of fish will not go into the market," said Mr Phillip Lim, ex-chairman of the Singapore Marine Aquaculture Cooperative.

- CNA/xy

I caught the news n was expecting the reporter asked whether the chip will "safe" for human consumption if accidentally consumed etc? Or is there a fixed part where it will be inserted. Unfortunately, our typical news don't release relevant information.

The chip will hook into your intestine and stayed there forever and so you being tact..... [sly]

You can run but you can't hide .. [sweatdrop]

The chip will hook into your intestine and stayed there forever and so you being tact..... [sly]

You can run but you can't hide .. [sweatdrop]

Eeeew, I love my fishes but cannot stand the idea of many chips in my body. Must get microchip reader from Tabao n use it when marketing.

Or become vegan cos no need to microchip vegan.

If it can be done on a fish, soon it will be inplanted into human ..... [grin]

One can forget about passport anymore. You will be scanned at entry and exit points or ERP gantries.. :huh:

Wow, very gd marnee. Car go thru ERP get charged plus passengers also charged.

Govt Huat Ah....

I don't understand the logic of implanting chip into fishes.. for what?

Implanting into pets, I can understand so as to track the health and owner, etc..

Implanting into fish when its meant for consumption?

Do they implant into ducks? chickens? etc etc?

Half-story too, what abt consumers? How do we remove the chips before consumption?

Aiyo... some "brillant idea", but obviously not much benefit...

ok, benefit to the chip companies lor :D

If it can be done on a fish, soon it will be inplanted into human ..... [grin]

One can forget about passport anymore. You will be scanned at entry and exit points or ERP gantries.. :huh:

No need lah, next time got the satelite ERP system leh :D

Track you everywhere :D

I think intense competition from supermarkets drove the fish farmers to come up with this? They can match the supermarket's price and will even deliver the fish right to your doorstep. I saw the news last night. They are like up in arms to fight back.

Some of the farmers incurred losses due to their fish dying of lack of oxygen in the water. I dunno how long their business operation can last if it continues like this.

Gd pt raised. Which coy supplying the chip?

I don't understand the logic of implanting chip into fishes.. for what?

Implanting into pets, I can understand so as to track the health and owner, etc..

Implanting into fish when its meant for consumption?

Do they implant into ducks? chickens? etc etc?

Half-story too, what abt consumers? How do we remove the chips before consumption?

No need lah, next time got the satelite ERP system leh :D

Track you everywhere :D

Then whn u eat u get tracked lo

I think intense competition from supermarkets drove the fish farmers to come up with this? They can match the supermarket's price and will even deliver the fish right to your doorstep. I saw the news last night. They are like up in arms to fight back.

Some of the farmers incurred losses due to their fish dying of lack of oxygen in the water. I dunno how long their business operation can last if it continues like this.

These are breeders. Supermarkets are Giant. Who do u think set the price?

Many times I try to support local produce but the prices are just not competitive enuff. Eg.luncheon meat from China vs made in Spore. I understd manufacturing costs r high but if the govt are keen to re-introduce or encourage locally food produce, they could look into rental cos it is form the bulk of operating costs.

Edited by Qpik

They will claim labour cost even though we know rental is the #1 killer. :D

Many times I try to support local produce but the prices are just not competitive enuff. Eg.luncheon meat from China vs made in Spore. I understd manufacturing costs r high but if the govt are keen to re-introduce or encourage locally food produce, they could look into rental cos it is form the bulk of operating costs.

You think they dun know this? They will just brush it aside and say market forces at play, can't be helped.

YOu should know how our gahment operates. They will not give its ppl the "crutch mentaility" just in case every problem ppl have they go disturb them for help.

Can match China if they remove the COE for lorries, lower workers levy, electricity tariff....etc. Operating cost is high and as usual, expect higher price .... [:(][:(]

I tot Japan already does such tagging liao for their premium fishes. They are able to tell u where the fish was reared, fed, killed and its age.

They will claim labour cost even though we know rental is the #1 killer. :D

This is true n only apply to our Cheng Hu. To defray the costs, I suggest those hardly used by public to move to Tuas area n put their existing sites to gd use. This move will hv multiple benefits. Takes the jam outskirts. Put more civil servant on public tpt. Encourage pple to move out fm matured estate, existing bldgs can rent out to foreign investors hahahaha. Edited by Qpik