E-class vs 5-series vs A5 & A6

LiuDeHua

I am considering between these few cars for purchase in 2015.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon

BMW 5 Series Sedan

Audi A6

Audi A5 Sportback

Can bros here tell me which one you'll recommend and why?

Important to me is :

1) driverability. ie, handling and power must be good.

2) as little maintenance problems as possible. I hate to go to the workshops to repair stuff, even if they are minor. Very time-wasting.

Just to add, I think the Lexus GS will fit my criteria nicely, but too bad, they failed the LOOK test.... too fugly.

Agreed that the new GS's looks may not be that endearing, but I think in terms of reliability it tops your shortlisted candidates of Audi, MB and BMW.

If I may use an analogy: it's like marrying a woman, no doubt looks are important but do you want to be constantly worried whether she would be faithful?

BMW for drive-ability

MB for (slightly better) reliability

Well, Audi, no comments.

I agree GS is ugly with its new grill and DRL

I would prefer the previous Generation GS anytime! Bit Ah-pek though!

BMW for drive-ability

MB for (slightly better) reliability

Well, Audi, no comments.

I agree GS is ugly with its new grill and DRL

I would prefer the previous Generation GS anytime! Bit Ah-pek though!

Power xia. I agree with all your statements.

I was previously driving a 2006 BMW 523. So many small problems...

Bulbs keep blowing, then engine check light on, then transmission, then then then I sold it.

Drive was excellent though. Esp love the handling.

Previous GS was damn nice and classy for its generation.

What's not good about the E-class and Audi?

My vote goes to the E class. BMW a lot of tiny problems and its really really common on the roads. see until sian liao.

the current FL E class also got quite a few but not as many.

i test drove the E250 Avantgarde a few weeks back. quite powerful considering its only 2L.

Not gonna consider Audi due to the DSG gearbox (im driving a Golf mk6 now)

Lexus.. very fugly but reliability is world-class since its a toyota after all.

Face Lifted E is good looking and comfortable though. I do not find the handling and pickup is anyway nearer to 5. Audi is in between these two in both departments. Audi maintenance is generally expensive (I never owned Audi, but my close buddy is driving one). Interior is better than E and 5.

Again back to my Mantra:

To drive - BMW

To be driven - MB

All the best!

Power xia. I agree with all your statements.

I was previously driving a 2006 BMW 523. So many small problems...
Bulbs keep blowing, then engine check light on, then transmission, then then then I sold it.

Drive was excellent though. Esp love the handling.

Previous GS was damn nice and classy for its generation.

What's not good about the E-class and Audi?

Face Lifted E is good looking and comfortable though. I do not find the handling and pickup is anyway nearer to 5. Audi is in between these two in both departments. Audi maintenance is generally expensive (I never owned Audi, but my close buddy is driving one). Interior is better than E and 5.

Again back to my Mantra:

To drive - BMW

To be driven - MB

All the best!

Summarised like this? [:p]

To drive - BMW

To be driven - MB

To sell - Audi

To own - Lexus

Since when Audi A5 and A6 use DSG gearbox? I thought they are using multironic and S Tronic transmission.

My vote goes to the E class. BMW a lot of tiny problems and its really really common on the roads. see until sian liao.

the current FL E class also got quite a few but not as many.

i test drove the E250 Avantgarde a few weeks back. quite powerful considering its only 2L.

Not gonna consider Audi due to the DSG gearbox (im driving a Golf mk6 now)

Lexus.. very fugly but reliability is world-class since its a toyota after all.

I am considering between these few cars for purchase in 2015.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon

BMW 5 Series Sedan

Audi A6

Audi A5 Sportback

Can bros here tell me which one you'll recommend and why?

Important to me is :

1) driverability. ie, handling and power must be good.

2) as little maintenance problems as possible. I hate to go to the workshops to repair stuff, even if they are minor. Very time-wasting.

driverability, handling is quite subjective, different people has different feedback,

above models relaibility are almost equal,

you never mentioned price, assume $$ is not issue for you,

another foactor, what is your age? if 40s and above, Merc-E or A6, 30s BMW5, 20s A5 sportback,

another factor, What career do you take up? or empolyer or empolyee?

if empolyer, not doubt fo for Merc-E

To drive - BMW

To be driven - MB

it's true 20 years ago and still true now

Not forgetting AMG hor.

Since when Audi A5 and A6 use DSG gearbox? I thought they are using multironic and S Tronic transmission.

S tronic is DSG

PDK is DSG

driverability, handling is quite subjective, different people has different feedback,

another foactor, what is your age? if 40s and above, Merc-E or A6, 30s BMW5, 20s A5 sportback,

Talk like no talk.

Based on TS criteria, which 1?

Price-wise, all 4 about the same mah. $250K to $300K...

I heard new E-class coming out early 2015? What about BMW 5-series?

Currently I am more inclined towards 5-series.

Price-wise, all 4 about the same mah. $250K to $300K...

I heard new E-class coming out early 2015? What about BMW 5-series?

Currently I am more inclined towards 5-series.

If I'm not wrong the 520 was having offer few weeks back, heard from friend it's a good buy at that price but I'm not sure what the price is.

E class def coming out new one as early as next year so not sure if you keen on an outgoing model.

Audi got 2 friends who own it and the comment was eat engine oil, though not a big thing but you may have to keep a spare bottle in your boot to top up periodically. Seems it's their car characteristic.

I think since buying new dont have to worry about reliability la. Cause its heng suay for a new car to have reliability issue.