DC power supply question

Hamburger

please help me understand....

if my LED power supply for lighting conk out with the spec A below, can i replace it with spec B of higher ampere ?

A. Output: 12V 0.5A

B. Output: 12V 2A

Both are with AC input ~240V.

Thanks

if my LED power supply for lighting conk out with the spec A below, can i replace it with spec B of higher ampere ?

Thanks

higher am allow higher number of lights thats all

Thanks

knn my taobao led light,

one the driver up lori

another the light remote receiver up lori

damm waste time and effort

damm

Thanks

You are increasing the Ampere from 0.5 to 2.

Beware, it might cause some electrical items to melt if more current all allow to past through and the circuit breaker fail to work. [sweatdrop]

Thanks

Either your LED become very bright or....... no light.... with black smoke.

Best to get back the Output with 0.5A.

Thanks

btw u can get 240v led liao ma..now market alot liao

the inbuilt inside led bring down the Am

replacement of drivers one is v troublesome also

Thanks

Yes, u can use spec B without any problems.

Either your LED become very bright or....... no light.... with black smoke.

Best to get back the Output with 0.5A.

Nothing will happen lah. Only when u increase the voltage then LED gets brighter, hotter and finally black smoke. Higher ampere allows for more LED to run.

Myself using 12V 30A power supply to power my LEDs. In actual fact, they only draw 2-3A.

Nothing will happen lah. Only when u increase the voltage then LED gets brighter, hotter and finally black smoke. Higher ampere allows for more LED to run.

Myself using 12V 30A power supply to power my LEDs. In actual fact, they only draw 2-3A.

my simple minded understanding is as such you described.

The higher ampere is there as reservoir but that does not mean you must use it. But if there is insufficient amp, then its another question altogether liao.

knn my taobao led light,

one the driver up lori

another the light remote receiver up lori

damm waste time and effort

damm

taobao quality is not exactly top notch. wonder if there is another source???

The higher ampere is there as reservoir but that does not mean you must use it. But if there is insufficient amp, then its another question altogether liao.

Yes, u are right.

But when comes to efficiency, higher ampere = wastage of energy.

taobao quality is not exactly top notch. wonder if there is another source???

For power supply, higher amperage means it can supply high current when it is needed. i.e. you can use more LEDS with the one with higher amperage. As long as the rated voltage is 12V DC, then it's safe to use.

thats why mcf is part of my life routine.

Ask and you shall be taught. Thanks bro and all for advices.

Your LED take less than 0.5A, let's say it's 0.2A.

That's why originally they gave you a 0.5A output power supply.

When you replace with 2A output power supply, it will work per normal.

It just have the capability of putting out more power, up to 2A according to spec.

Your LED will continue to sink 0.2A, no change.

However, if you raise the voltage from 12V to 14V, then it's a different story.

If the LED does not use constant current drive, but is resistor-limited, then it will brighten up and suck more current, instead of 0.2A.

Brighter usually means shorter LED life.

Your LED take less than 0.5A, let's say it's 0.2A.

That's why originally they gave you a 0.5A output power supply.

When you replace with 2A output power supply, it will work per normal.

It just have the capability of putting out more power, up to 2A according to spec.

Your LED will continue to sink 0.2A, no change.

However, if you raise the voltage from 12V to 14V, then it's a different story.

If the LED does not use constant current drive, but is resistor-limited, then it will brighten up and suck more current, instead of 0.2A.

Brighter usually means shorter LED life.

so it is does essential to use 12V. Lesson learned. [nod]

You might be right.

But I am looking at the iphone chargers.

Older gen one is rated 5V, 1A.

Newer one is rated 5V, 2A.

And my BB charger is 5V, 750mA.

The input is 120V-240, (0-15A). So, it is the input that will varies.

When we use the 1A charger to charge, it takes 1hr to fully charge.

If use the 2A charger, it takes 40mins... for example.

The load on the phone should be constant right?

So I suspect the output of 1A or 2A is fixed, not variable. Otherwise, we won't find our phone gets charged up faster when using the 2A charger.

You might be right.

So I suspect the output of 1A or 2A is fixed, not variable. Otherwise, we won't find our phone gets charged up faster when using the 2A charger.

Charging of battery is different from powering a LED.

For charging of battery, the higher the ampere, the faster it gets charged. But do note, there is a limit too. Each battery has a specific charging ampere spec to adhere to. Too high ampere with cause the battery to explode.

You might be right.

For phone battery, there is another internal controller which tells the battery how much current to suck. For those phones which can charge using 0.5A to 2A, the maximum current intake is at 2A.

If a phone's charging controller is made properly, like to take max 1A, when you use 1A and 2A charger, it will take the same time to charge. Sometimes, the phone will reject the charger if it cannot take in only 1A instead of 2A, in this case the phone refuses to charge.