Philippines: Boracay - Anything not to miss?

Francis-jack

I went in July.

Stayed at The District Boracay, nice location and usually i relak at the beach. Lots of activities if you wish. But touts everywhere and u need to bargain hard + they are VERY pushy and persistent. Snorkeling was fun and did it twice, ATV was boring, sailboat was ok-ok. Food is good but not super fantastic, seafood not great. Phuket has better food. But DO go for the milkshakes, esp. the ones at Jonah's Snack Bar. Best.

Bus ride to/fro airport really sucked. Remember to makan before you fly over as most flights from SG reach there in afternoon and coupled with the bus and ferry ride, by the time you reach your hotel, it'll be night. Will be a good idea to tarpau something to makan for the bus ride.

I still prefer phuket.

10583805_10154478219035604_7623313437270

10553362_10154481328415604_6968315414082

10557156_10154481329600604_5691952291009

10525586_10154481328625604_7369039352264

i stayed at the regency at station 2 a few years ago.

overall ok lah, but nothing that stands out fm koh samui n Phuket.

agreed - too many touts.

on the transport thing, yes, might be a hassle. Do some research on the 2 airports serving boracay. 1 is more convenient than the other. For me, I had made overnight stops in manila so I had a few choices in the domestic flights. I recall I chk in at hotel at approx 2 or 3pm.

Edited by JohnSHL

U can massage at the beach. All activities prices negotiable. Generally water sports is cheaper compared to phuket and krabi.

generally thai food taste better. Boracay have a really nice Italian food restaurant Aria. Food get cheaper when u walk to less crowded station.

I love parasailing and fly fish.

Enjoy and have fun

Edited by Bacteria83

i stayed at the regency at station 2 a few years ago.

overall ok lah, but nothing that stands out fm koh samui n Phuket.

agreed - too many touts.

on the transport thing, yes, might be a hassle. Do some research on the 2 airports serving boracay. 1 is more convenient than the other. For me, I had made overnight stops in manila so I had a few choices in the domestic flights. I recall I chk in at hotel at approx 2 or 3pm.

Always wanted to go but deterred by the cumbersome transfer. I was told the water is clearer than Phuket? True?

For phuket u still need to travel to those nearby island hopping site for beautiful beach and super clear water. Boracay (station 2 area) the main beach where tourist play and dine already have fine sand and clear sea water.

Very true. I went there last December and stayed at the Mandarin which is right in the middle of Station 2. You just have to step out of the hotel and into crystal clear waters. I went to Ko Samui a few Decembers ago. We had to take a 2 hr ride in choppy waters to reach some crystal clear beach. Everyone on board (save for my daughter) vomited at least once on the way. Frankly, we really feared for our lives... Never again! As for Phuket, don't bother unless you're ang moh...!

But I agree the real hassle is the transportation. There a 2 points of air entry. The larger airport is at Kalibo and Tigerair and Silkair fly there I believe. From Kalibo you need to travel by coach for 1.5 hrs to reach the ferry terminal point. The ferry crossing is abt half hr. The nearer airport is at Caticlan which is walking distance to the ferry terminal. But it is smaller and can only take small planes. We flew by Silkair, stayed overnight at Cebu and then flew via Cebu Pacific the next morning to Caticlan. The flight was only about 45 mins. The timing was too tight to attempt the whole journey within the day. Like I said, the journey is a real pain, but can be worth the pleasure you get once there.

And going at year-end is the best as the waters are clear and skies clear. I know of ppl who have gone in June and had a washed out holiday...

post-146370-0-33694400-1414764221_thumb.jpg

I was in Boracay last month and stayed at Boracay Ocean Resort (Station 3).

View from my resort

w83qfd.jpg

If you are landing at Kalibo, then its a hassle-free transit to the next phase of land transfer. Plenty of those providing mini-van/bus services to the ferry terminal. Get the mini-van and not the bus. Slightly faster and more comfortable.

Ferry terminal

2pyyo1t.jpg

Boracay offers a much more picturesque stretch of beaches than Phuket. Cleaner, clearer and "bluer". U may want to venture to Puka Beach too. More isolated with bigger waves.

Puka Beach

1sgwg0.jpg

k3xdz5.jpg

Apart from that, nothing much to do at night in Boracay. Just a tiny island.

i will be staying at station 2 for 4 nights, by looking at these beautiful beaches picture really will make one feel relax and shiok...maybe for crowd wise is better den phuket. i will be taking silkair to kalibor with a airport transfer direct to my hotel.

Totally. It is more laid-back than Phuket/Bali/Krabi. Lesser crowd too.

If you wanna feel like getting robbed, go and rent a motor-cycle for a day.

You need to know what beaches to go to. Patong is the worst representation of the natural beauty of Phuket available.

Be a little more adventerous and venture out to Rawai and Nai Harn next time - the beaches there are more beautiful than these shown here.

From a family perspective, i rather go Bali, Nusa Dua or Thailand any day.

Long travel time sucks big time especially if u have young kids. Just for a beach? Nah...

Totally. It is more laid-back than Phuket/Bali/Krabi. Lesser crowd too.

If you wanna feel like getting robbed, go and rent a motor-cycle for a day.

do they need licence for motorbike

From a family perspective, i rather go Bali, Nusa Dua or Thailand any day.

Long travel time sucks big time especially if u have young kids. Just for a beach? Nah...

i will be travelling with my wife only kids with in law hehe...