Gifted Education Programme

Solar

wah wah...you also mensa level one is it?

sorry sorry next time no disturb you anymore

:wacko:  :D

you google wrongly izzit?

when did i say i am from mensa.

wah wah...you also mensa level one is it?

sorry sorry next time no disturb you anymore

:wacko:  :D

MCF got many dragons who like to masquerade as peasants with straw hats hor.  Don't pray pray.    [lipsrsealed]

:a-happy:

you google wrongly izzit?

when did i say i am from mensa.

not mensa har?  ok lor...i continue to listurb you

[scholar]  :D

MCF got many dragons who like to masquerade as peasants with straw hats hor.  Don't pray pray.    [lipsrsealed]

:a-happy:

agree agree...that's why i never pray pray with you, mr elite dragon with straw hat

not mensa har? ok lor...i continue to listurb you

[scholar]:D

Sifu.

Think you must be tired today. Google akso can google wrongly.

I suggest you buy us all some roast goose so we can overlook your momentary lapse.

Edited by Kusje

Gifted has iq in the range of 130 and above.

my son has been tested at age 5 to be gifted and accepted in Mensa, he will begin his primary 1 next year in a neighbourhood school.

We did asked around on the GEP and felt in singapore, context very academic..... in oversea, which i read up, once the kid has been tested to be gifted, they will be enrolled into a gifted school where they will be taught differently

a gifted kid also has many issues different from a normal kid. easily excited, easily emo , overly worried things etc etc. a special trained teacher is impt.

so do you think you son is naturally gifted or trained / prep to be gifted?

I suppose yours also have the 'issues' that come along. easily emo, short attention, issues organising his life, etc..

Mine wasn't tested but from all the observations he's also kind of aspergers.

A lot of attention and patience is needed.

These kids are good with music as well. U may want to explore this. Important though, don't impose pressure.

my view is this.

The gep was introduced to identify the top brains in our country from an early age. In a year of 40k births, roughly 400-500 are earmarked as gifted. Additional resources are ploughed into them, in the hopes of "nurturing" or "challenging" them, to give them the best opportunities to succeed, specifically, academically. The end game for identifying these kids early, is to groom them for future leadership, within our civil and public service. In my humble opinion, this is the start of our scholar system. 

Fundamentally, i have no major disagreements with this end purpose. We are, after all, a tiny nation with limited human resource.

My reservations are with the usage of resources. Is it fair, that so much is being spent on so little? I do not have the definitive answer. There are plenty of education systems out there who have done a much better job, without going down this early testing route. Also, I believe growing up in an environment that continues to reinforce your personal beliefs that you are "gifted" will have its negatives. 

The use of the word "gifted" is also, imo, too lenient. Firstly, IQ tests are not that difficult to game. Particularly in a country where tools to game the test is readily available and relatively affordable.

Secondly, i find it difficult to consider someone simply being in the top 1% as gifted. By my reckoning, its somewhere nearer 0.1%.

A true genius, i.e., a fields medalist, in the vein of terence tao, or an olympic champion is probably closer to 0.0001% (1 in 1,000,000).  These are the folks who I feel fits into my definition of gifted, and where special consideration to deploy extra resources, are fully warranted. 

Just my views. 

my view is this.

The gep was introduced to identify the top brains in our country from an early age. In a year of 40k births, roughly 400-500 are earmarked as gifted. Additional resources are ploughed into them, in the hopes of "nurturing" or "challenging" them, to give them the best opportunities to succeed, specifically, academically. The end game for identifying these kids early, is to groom them for future leadership, within our civil and public service. In my humble opinion, this is the start of our scholar system. 

Fundamentally, i have no major disagreements with this end purpose. We are, after all, a tiny nation with limited human resource.

My reservations are with the usage of resources. Is it fair, that so much is being spent on so little? I do not have the definitive answer. There are plenty of education systems out there who have done a much better job, without going down this early testing route. Also, I believe growing up in an environment that continues to reinforce your personal beliefs that you are "gifted" will have its negatives. 

The use of the word "gifted" is also, imo, too lenient. Firstly, IQ tests are not that difficult to game. Particularly in a country where tools to game the test is readily available and relatively affordable.

Secondly, i find it difficult to consider someone simply being in the top 1% as gifted. By my reckoning, its somewhere nearer 0.1%.

A true genius, i.e., a fields medalist, in the vein of terence tao, or an olympic champion is probably closer to 0.0001% (1 in 1,000,000).  These are the folks who I feel fits into my definition of gifted, and where special consideration to deploy extra resources, are fully warranted. 

Just my views. 

1% is to spread a wider net, you can get 0.1% in the end very happy liao.

Anyway whatever name you call it sure got people say one, different mean different.

my view is this.

A true genius, i.e., a fields medalist, in the vein of terence tao, or an olympic champion is probably closer to 0.0001% (1 in 1,000,000). These are the folks who I feel fits into my definition of gifted, and where special consideration to deploy extra resources, are fully warranted.

Just my views.

An old man who recently passed will say we play with the cards that are dealt. The 1 in a million might not contribute back. But if I have the top 1%, I have a chance to find the diamond or diamonds I need.

Ya. Gifted is used rather loosely.. why not use others, like Enhanced Program, or something.

Some may be good academically, with the ability to answer all the Mensa kind of questions.

Is it all encompassing to be labeled as such?

There are skills that's not covered, is the kid that excel outside not gifted?

Like all others, labeling is very unhealthy, whether it's labeled as gifted which stroke ego, or stupid, which harms esteem.

My kid is good at math but very bad at sports. He even runs weirdly, as his friend commented.

Reminds me of the comic strip about telling the fish stupid cos he can't climb trees and monkey stupid for not able to swim

Frankly this resource thing is way way overblown.... the class size is change from 40 to 25. I suspect a gep kid will use up twice the resource of the normal kid....

So it’s like 100 percent to 101 percent in the overall scheme of things. If you assume that the future leaders can be found in these 1% , it’s a no brainer to spend a bit more on them

How old is your son? They have limited activities for young children la. I would say it is a waste of time and the membership fee so just sign on 1 year for the bragging rights only [lipsrsealed]

Even for adults, it is mostly just a monthly board game session, a monthly drinking session and a monthly kopi session.

Anyway, average IQ is 100 under most tests but whether 130 is "gifted" or not depends on which IQ test you are taking. Different tests have different standard deviations. Under a test with a s.d. of 15, 130 is 2 s.d. above the mean so you will be classified as being in the top 2%. But if the test has a higher s.d. (i've heard some can be up to 24), then 130 is only top 10%.

Wah @kusje mensa member! Tok gong

I was always one of the top students in my primary school and I sat for the GEP test in primary 3 going to primary 4. I passed the first round but didn't make it into the second round. I was never drilled on GEP. But I have a cousin who was always average in the same primary school and he was heavily drilled for GEP. He got in. Well maybe he is really smarter than me but for sure after primary school I beat him all the way academically. But looking at the questions then (many years ago), it is possible to train yourself to solve them. Some of the questions are tricky, e.g. those large numbers to the power of large numbers - there is a trick to solve them. After you have seen the method to solve them once, you will know how to solve them in the future. Many of the math questions can be "learned". As for English, I don't even understand why they need to test English to find gifted students. Most truly gifted are not very good at languages.

Haha same. But I think I'm hopeless at higher logic or mathematics . Maybe drill me also cannot make it hahaha

Wah @kusje mensa member! Tok gong

Haha same. But I think I'm hopeless at higher logic or mathematics . Maybe drill me also cannot make it hahaha

Ya. Gifted is used rather loosely.. why not use others, like Enhanced Program, or something.

Some may be good academically, with the ability to answer all the Mensa kind of questions.

Is it all encompassing to be labeled as such?

There are skills that's not covered, is the kid that excel outside not gifted?

Like all others, labeling is very unhealthy, whether it's labeled as gifted which stroke ego, or stupid, which harms esteem.

My kid is good at math but very bad at sports. He even runs weirdly, as his friend commented.

Reminds me of the comic strip about telling the fish stupid cos he can't climb trees and monkey stupid for not able to swim

Haha my girl in k1. The progress report All the psychomotor part is beginner.

ð

Where did I say I was a member?

Haha not member will know whether meeting got use meh. Haha no need humble hehe

Could have been invited to attend by a member.

Or could be accompanying my kid.

Many possibilities.

Frankly this resource thing is way way overblown.... the class size is change from 40 to 25. I suspect a gep kid will use up twice the resource of the normal kid....

So itâs like 100 percent to 101 percent in the overall scheme of things. If you assume that the future leaders can be found in these 1% , itâs a no brainer to spend a bit more on them

You bet.

These kids are very inquisitive and very curious. The teacher will have to spend lots of time with them.

As parents, we want next generation to do better than us.

My girl was main stream type...earlier years, progress report also rated as beginner...psle 240, went to neighbourhood school, sec 3 L1/B5 25 pts..

So it’s like 100 percent to 101 percent in the overall scheme of things. If you assume that the future leaders can be found in these 1% , it’s a no brainer to spend a bit more on them

Agree. To educate those of the very smart and the very low IQ kids well, more resources and specialist teachers are needed.

Could have been invited to attend by a member.

Or could be accompanying my kid.

Many possibilities.

Lol Okie what ever u say. I definitely not mensa level. See those logic or mathematical problems sure dizzy lol. Haha I still remember being totally stumped at the gep question when I was primary 3. Haha went out of the venue and told my mum no chance haha. Just like maths olympiad in pri 6. Edited by Lala81