Cyclist riding on expressway

Raymondism

http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/cyclist-spotted-riding-along-mce-during-morning-rush-hour

SINGAPORE - A cyclist was seen pedalling on the road shoulder of the Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE) this morning.

A Stomp reader told the citizen journalism website that he had thought it was a motorcyclist.

He said it was during the morning rush hour at about 8.30am when he noticed the cyclist entering the MCE from the East Coast Parkway (ECP) towards the city.

He told Stomp: "Initially, at the first glance it looked like a motorcyclist, but I was shocked to realise it was a cyclist pedaling on the road shoulder!

"I hope LTA can do something about this incident."

Cyclists here face a fine of $20 for riding on an expressway, which is against the Road Traffic (Expressway Traffic) Rules.

"I hope LTA can do something about this incident."

What can they do, unless they catch him in the act and bother to bestir themselves to intercept and detain him? That's what comes of having no registration of bicycles, a situation which will remain as long as the vocal lycra brigade gets their selfish way.

Cyclists here face a fine of $20 for riding on an expressway, which is against the Road Traffic (Expressway Traffic) Rules.

$20? At least make it realistic lah. Fine $200 plus confiscation of bicycle sounds like a good start.

And someone loves to harp on about the underprivileged bikers not being able to afford this penalty. Here's a clue for the "underprivileged": *Stop breaking the law!!* But if one is really so concerned about egalitarianism, I guess one can do a means-test based fine, e.g. fine 5% of last annual income based on IR8E. Sort of like they do in some places in Europe for traffic offences. (I have no issues with them doing exactly that for cars, by the way, as long as such penalties are imposed equitably on ALL road users).

A good bicycle not cheap also but the $20 fine a bit odd.

In the past, those who cycles are the poor, as the bicycles are cheap...

Just like a certain person who still think nasi padang costs $1.50 today???

A good bicycle not cheap also but the $20 fine a bit odd.

Crazy ppl once in a bluemoon pull this kinda stunt. Even if fine $2K also no point, still peanuts compared to other summons. Confiscate bike also must find place to store. Too tedious for that one or two crazy ppl.

Actually its so dangerous to ride bicycle on the expressway. Even riding on the road shoulder also has risk.

• Dislike 1

Tis cyclist is jst causing more unpleasant comments on all cyclist.......................... one of such person all will have to kana in someway or another.

on this, very very inconsiderate. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

Best cyclist I have encountered is a moron cycling oncoming traffic on the fastest lane near to the road divider of the expressway. Can imagine the surprise I get when I swoosh past the moron. No helmet, no blinking lights and at night.

At 100km/hr after coming down from Sheares bridge, that's before MCE was completed. Towards AYE. my exacts words were "mutherfxxkin idiot" when I have gone passed the moron.

This dude must be born legs first.

Guess there will be lots of such inconsiderate cyclist out there daily. They may jst tink tat today jst me n all others tink the same, n u hv lots n lots of such cyclist lor........

Jst hope the authorities tat is directly related to tis can speed up on their process of wat they r planning to do fast..... B4 another unfortunate accident tat might happen.

Drive safe ya.......

Man...crazy dangerous. Given length of MCE shouldn't be that hard to catch if they want to...

Software can be programmed to alert to such things, then just send out patrol car.

$20 fine is a bit of a joke.

Every few months, Knight Frank will conduct Auction for

Confiscated bikes

Abandoned bikes

Cars too

Confiscate bike also must find place to store. Too tedious for that one or two crazy ppl.

Send patrol car to nab this bugger for $20 fine? Mana wu hua. :D

Mata go back station also kena laughed and ridiculed my collicks.

Man...crazy dangerous. Given length of MCE shouldn't be that hard to catch if they want to...

Software can be programmed to alert to such things, then just send out patrol car.

$20 fine is a bit of a joke.