Share your childhood biscuits

Jman888

chey i also thought this can only be found in SG/MY, now then i know [laugh]
What other type of biscuits you had in your childhood?

Iced Gem biscuits: 5 things about the nostalgic, colourful snack
The Straits Times
Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014
icegems2_st_1200x781.jpg?itok=eS8yADse
SINGAPORE - Some of the gifts for babies born next year as part of the SG50Baby Jubilee Gift will be printed with a "Gem Baby" character, whose design is inspired by Gem biscuits. The small biscuits topped with pink, yellow, white or green icing have been a hit with children here for several generations. Here are 5 colourful facts about the joy pills.
1. They were not created in Singapore
Called Iced Gem Biscuits, they were first made by Huntley and Palmer of Reading, Britain in the 1850s. That was just the biscuit bottom. The icing was added in 1910. According to NiceCupOfTeaAndASitDown.com, the biscuits were an experiment with new biscuit technology.
2. They can be found in several countries
Gem biscuits are believed to be sold in Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, Ireland and Britain. They are made by Jacobs, McVitie's and Rich Garden and Khong Guan.
3. The colours of the toppings vary according to countries
The ones in Singapore feature bright coloured toppings, while the ones overseas are either muted in colour, or fruit-flavoured. The flavours include lemon.
4. The recipe
The biscuit is usually made using plain flour, unsalted butter, egg, sugar, golden syrup and salt, and the icing is made using meringue powder, icing sugar and water.
5. They have an official Facebook page
There is a Facebook page dedicated to Iced Gem biscuits that has more than 90,000 likes. It is the official page started by Ritz Food Corporation, a Philippine-owned company under which the Rich Garden and Khong Guan labels are.

Please don't get me started - I could spend the whole morning putting pictures

1. Mallowpuffs

2. Sultana Pasties

3. Squiggles

4. Toffee Pops

5. Mint Slice

6. Hundreds and Thousands

7. Gingernuts

8 Chocolate Digestives

Mmmmmmm......quite frankly - biscuits avaialable in Singapore just "cannot make it" ....it's like comparing a Tuscani to Lotus

1. Mallowpuffs

2. Sultana Pasties

3. Squiggles

4. Toffee Pops

5. Mint Slice

7. Gingernuts

8 Chocolate Digestives

Mmmmmmm......quite frankly - biscuits avaialable in Singapore just "cannot make it" ....it's like comparing a Tuscani to Lotus

ang mo biscuits? the only one i like is the Digestives, i hate mint [laugh][laugh]

as for singapore biscuits, you dun know one lah :D

ang mo biscuits? the only one i like is the Digestives, i hate mint [laugh][laugh]

Hmmm

Marie biscuits? Great with milo! [thumbsup]

Lemon puff biscuits?

Are these considered singapore biscuits?

Edited by Mason016

Har...

You want a biscuit war is it????

But seriously - different tastes

Singapore are not into "sweet" biscuits...

So it doesn't surprise me that you only like digestives from Ang Mo land

1. Mallowpuffs

2. Sultana Pasties

3. Squiggles

4. Toffee Pops

5. Mint Slice

7. Gingernuts

8 Chocolate Digestives

You must have been a Fat Kid ... 😂

Hmmm

Marie biscuits? Great with milo! [thumbsup]

Lemon puff biscuits?

Are these considered singapore biscuits?

I love lemon puff, always standby one in my office drawer [laugh]

post-1109-0-54008500-1417056925.jpg

Ehhh Old Man ... You eat like that one lar ... 😂

image41.jpg?w=640

chey i also thought this can only be found in SG/MY, now then i know [laugh]
What other type of biscuits you had in your childhood?

I liked :)))

These iced gem biscuist are really nice :))

My kids eat them too :))

And our way of eating:

eat the biscuits first, and then left the colourful iced gem last, collect all these iced gem and then enjoy altogether :D

this one is addictive ...

choklad-wafers-3.jpg

1. Mallowpuffs

2. Sultana Pasties

3. Squiggles

4. Toffee Pops

5. Mint Slice

7. Gingernuts

8 Chocolate Digestives

this is the singapore style of sultana biscuits, this i like cos not sweet :D

SultanaBiscuits.jpg

soggy biscuit included? Hehehe

Anyway, here goes

1) Pillow biscuit

2) Biscuit that looks like mini french loaf

3) Biscuit with hardened sugar cream on top which ppl here used for the afterlife. I usually call it see lang piah... Haha

4) Wafer biscuit

5) Ear biscuit

6) Soda biscuit (Dip with kopi-o, heaven!)

7) Red paper wrapped choc biscuit.

8) Variant of Soda biscuit but marbled with rough sugar and has square dimples

Hardly eat marie biscuit though...

Edited by Tjkbeluga

I only know one biscuit which they say when you throw on the floor the biscuit will not break...........

Army "Dog biscuit" haha!!

Last time when I was in NS went to Taiwan, give all to the villagers who like them [shocked]

But they are very nice, will cook for us which sure beats those damn hard biscuits anytime!!

I only know one biscuit which they say when you throw on the floor the biscuit will not break...........

Army "Dog biscuit" haha!!

Last time when I was in NS went to Taiwan, give all to the villagers who like them [shocked]

But they are very nice, will cook for us which sure beats those damn hard biscuits anytime!!

Feel like take a self drive and re-visit all the villages in SAF training areas in taiwan!!