BEWARE! Speed limit not to be assumed..

carwizard

To all drivers taking AYE towards TUAS:

Speed limit isn't at 90km/h throughout the entire expressway!

I learnt it the hard way after I was slapped with a fine for driving at 95km/h on the stretch of AYE (around Pioneer area) a few weeks back. It was stated on the slip that the speed limit was only 80km/h. I have driven along that stretch many times and especially after the toll increase at our beloved causeway, I've decided to use TUAS instead since the difference isn't much now. And every single time I would assume that the speed limit is 90km/h.

I've always wondered why this was the case and I went back onto the same stretch of AYE and found out that there is actually NO speed limit signage, saying the speed limit is 80km/h, displayed after Corporation Road (next exit after Jurong Town Hall). So naturally it is to be assumed that the speed limit is 90km/h since it is prominently displayed (especially for the speed camera after Kent ridge) all the way up till Jurong area on the AYE.

And ALWAYS ALWAYS look out for white uniform men on top of overhead bridges! On my 'investigation trip', I saw one of them with a speed camera on the overhead bridge. They are all out to hunt now.

Drive safe and hope this piece of information helps.

I learnt it the hard way after I was slapped with a fine for driving at 95km/h on the stretch of AYE (around Pioneer area) a few weeks back. It was stated on the slip that the speed limit was only 80km/h. I have driven along that stretch many times and especially after the toll increase at our beloved causeway, I've decided to use TUAS instead since the difference isn't much now. And every single time I would assume that the speed limit is 90km/h.

I've always wondered why this was the case and I went back onto the same stretch of AYE and found out that there is actually NO speed limit signage, saying the speed limit is 80km/h, displayed after Corporation Road (next exit after Jurong Town Hall). So naturally it is to be assumed that the speed limit is 90km/h since it is prominently displayed (especially for the speed camera after Kent ridge) all the way up till Jurong area on the AYE.

And ALWAYS ALWAYS look out for white uniform men on top of overhead bridges! On my 'investigation trip', I saw one of them with a speed camera on the overhead bridge. They are all out to hunt now.

since you are sure there is no signage, why don't you appeal your case?

yup i gotten the summon too...

lamp post 345...

i gotten 12 demerit points in a month!!!!

anymore demerit points then i will have to take the passenger seat liao...

last year I already kena there before. but with warning @95km/hr.

there are 2 overhead bridge that stretch they can be at either side.

Definitely got 80km/h speed limit sign.

The cop on top always on the bridge at exit 18.

I kenna twice but both times are warning letter.

you what speed... nbz i 92 or 95 kena summon liao..

They want to encourage a nation of road-hogs, and a culture of looking up rather than at the road in front of one. Oh, and make $$$ at our expense, too.

Interestingly, i also just got hit with a love letter from TP. Pie towards Tuas.... i think those new cameras are not very forgiving. I dun remember going above 100.

Edited by Mockngbrd

For my years I already knew limits are 80km/hr after jurong area.

No chance to appeal as every slip road to the AYE have speed limit sign.

Unless you can spot one slip road that didn't have and no sign along the way until you are candid by the camera.

They want to encourage a nation of road-hogs, and a culture of looking up rather than at the road in front of one. Oh, and make $$$ at our expense, too.

LTA/TP is so considerate, wanting to counteract the effects of us looking down on smart phones, so when we drive we have to look up towards the overhead bridges now for the sneaky pesty speed traps.

Thanks a lot!

the funny thing is, i sent an email to TP asking if lane 1 is an overtaking lane along with a few other questions. its been 1 month and 5 days and they have not replied me. they definitely received my email cause after i sent my email, they sent an auto-generated letter saying thanks for the letter and i should expect a reply in a few days' time.

my email is attached below:

I have some questions regarding the usage of Lane 1 on the expressways and I was hoping some clarifications could be made.
1) Is lane 1 designated as an "Overtaking Only" lane? If yes, are drivers allowed to cruise on lane 1?
I'm abit confused about this, as I have seen email replies from the TP floating around in the forums, and in the email, it is stated that lane 1 is not an overtaking lane. However, i have found that in the Singapore Statues:
part IV point 58 and 59, it states that lane 1 is only for overtaking. As such, would drivers be booked for cruising on lane 1 if they are not overtaking?
2) Is overtaking from the left illegal? If the vehicle A on lane 2 overtakes vehicle B(on lane 1), will vehicle A be booked for overtaking on the left, or vehicle B be booked for road hogging?

wonder why they didn't reply. cause cannot copy paste template answer?

one thing about their style of enforcing speed limit I don't take too kindly to. they tend to like to place their mobile hidden cam on zone where the statutory imposed speed limit lowers than the preceding stretch. ie very often they place it on 80kmh limit zone not far after 90kmh zone. almost like it is higher chance of them nabbing unsuspecting and unobserving (of the speed limit changes) driver.

MY highway speed limit 110km/h.

Some exits at KL suddenly 60km/h.

Mata wait after that, smiling for those who don't jam brake...

one thing about their style of enforcing speed limit I don't take too kindly to. they tend to like to place their mobile hidden cam on zone where the statutory imposed speed limit lowers than the preceding stretch. ie very often they place it on 80kmh limit zone not far after 90kmh zone. almost like it is higher chance of them nabbing unsuspecting and unobserving (of the speed limit changes) driver.

90 than 80 than 90 than 80 than 90

knn!!

My company workshop nearby. Uncle Sam about 90-95% of the time "hiding" at the center of the bridge filming vehicles. Why I mentioned hiding is becos he can see you but driver's view is blocked by the tree branches.

post-65053-0-77905000-1417148592_thumb.jpg