Singapore Airlines pricing error

Neutrino

Yep, no choice but their way of handling such crisis is way below par,,,,,, choice of words used during the whole 24hrs was super bad.

Anyway back to SIA 😄

I though they already blamed the error on a computer?

They should have just pretended it was the computer and left it at that.

Now someone's head may need to role.

Or if he or she is high enough then their poor subordinate's

head may have to role.

Blame the computer and the computer cannot be sacked right.

Cannot even hurt the poor computer's feelings.

Ya.. thought its computer fault?!

Now, to recover these $3mil, someone heads will roll... to recover from their salaries and bonus.. haiz..

Big companies always win... regardless of anything..

This case small small fry - only a few millions lost opportunities. Chop heads also no point.

More interesting is to see what will happen to the guy(s)/gal(s)/committee who hedged SQ fuel purchases until 2017 at more than USD 100/barrel equivalent......

SQ has to continue to sell over-priced tickets to make up for this wrong bet....

I though they already blamed the error on a computer?

They should have just pretended it was the computer and left it at that.

Now someone's head may need to role.

Or if he or she is high enough then their poor subordinate's

head may have to role.

Blame the computer and the computer cannot be sacked right.

Cannot even hurt the poor computer's feelings.

Maybe they are checking to see if it was maintain by $2/- company ... [lipsrsealed]

Maybe it is maintained by a $2 company and they are cracking their head to see how to provide reasonable explanation ! [:p]:D

• Praise 10

Jamesc Mate, while reading ur post I jst remember something tat will always be remembered. Its an incident that happened while I was returning fm Tokyo to Spore. I OT abit but still related to Airline stuff..............hahahah lol :D

Part 1:

This yr during 10th day of CNY (Tokyo Snow storm), taking flight Delt% airline back to SPore.

- but was delayed n delayed

- got onboard at 9pm, sit and wait n wait (pilot talk n explain situation)

- nvr serve me dinner which suppose to hv (same pilot talk n explain situation)

- at ard 12midnight serve some snacks n u guess wat, ICE-CREAM (I nearly faint) (same pilot talk n explain situation)

- ard 2am or 3am (forget liao), pilot talk n explain and finally say "apologies, we cant fly today"

The best ting, he announce to stewards, "Cabin Crew, prepare for ARRIVAL"..................... wow wow my eyes was like, WTF :angry:

Its something to share which I have nvr expirence b4 and don't want to also.....want part 2? :D

Part 2:

- stay at the airport from 2am until like 4pm then they bring us to a hotel.(total hours in the airport = 24hr+)

- fly back only 3 days lata due to not enough seats.............. terrible experience ya [dizzy][dizzy]

Haha weather related is the worse.

Sit at airport and don't know if can fly or not.

Wait and wait.

Changi airport is the best prepared for delays.

Once when a MAS shuttle broke down,

as soon as they announce flight delay

they roll out trolley with coffee and tea

and mee gorange and bee hoon.

Its a money saving option as I would rather

have a $10 voucher to spend at starbucks.

Our pilots can only parrot according to the scrip

so that's why he say - Cabin crew, prepare of arrival

when he meant disembarkation.

Edited by Jamesc

Haha weather related is the worse.

Sit at airport and don't know if can fly or not.

Wait and wait.

Changi airport is the best prepared for delays.

Once when a MAS shuttle broke down,

as soon as they announce flight delay

they roll out trolley with coffee and tea

and mee gorange and bee hoon.

Its a money saving option as I would rather

have a $10 voucher to spend at starbucks.

Our pilots can only parrot according to the scrip

so that's why he say - Cabin crew, prepare of arrival

when he meant disembarkation.

Yep, precisely. Don't hv a process flow drawn up for tis kind,,,,,,,, so not ready. Only follow n say even when it all doesn't make sense sayg it👊

Supposed world class airlines with a Chinese business mindset.

Alot of SG big companies are like that........

Sibei cina mindset and culture.....

This is a very good point.

The limiting factor of our companies

is the low quality of their management.

Sadly I don't see this improving any time soon.

Thats why SG always have to 'import' FT to be the top ppl in our own companies. We ourselves are not equipped to compete globally with our lousy cina mindset. But garment always says SG has the best manpower resources, blah blah blah..........

I am all for FT.

Must get those syt from Korea, Japan, Taiwan and even Vietnam.

Some of these young single ladies are really smart, good looking

and come from world class universities.

Housing is expensive and maybe we can some policy

to provide them affordable housing. 2 weeks ago

I was in Hanoi and I met a nice single young lady

that was asking how to get a job here and I told her

she can come and look for a job and if she has no where

to stay she can always sleep with me until she finds a place.

I am all for FT.

Must get those syt from Korea, Japan, Taiwan and even Vietnam.

Some of these young single ladies are really smart, good looking

and come from world class universities.

Housing is expensive and maybe we can some policy

to provide them affordable housing. 2 weeks ago

I was in Hanoi and I met a nice single young lady

that was asking how to get a job here and I told her

she can come and look for a job and if she has no where

to stay she can always sleep with me until she finds a place.

Hahhaha :))

Ok, frankly speaking, I am ok for FW, as they are here to do construction works and these are jobs that are shunned by most locals..

I am ok with nurses and maids, as we need to depend on them to take care of our ppl...

But, have to put a stop to the so-called FT... these ppl may not be any clever than us, so why deprive our locals from getting the same job?

Hahhaha :))

Ok, frankly speaking, I am ok for FW, as they are here to do construction works and these are jobs that are shunned by most locals..

I am ok with nurses and maids, as we need to depend on them to take care of our ppl...

But, have to put a stop to the so-called FT... these ppl may not be any clever than us, so why deprive our locals from getting the same job?

That's exactly right.

This lady was looking for a clerical administrator's position.

We are very short of clerical and admin staff.

6 months ago I was in Mumbai and a manager was asking

how to get a manager's job in Singapore.

I told him they are tightening up and now its harder to get a job here now.

The beauty of hiring single female syts is they can help increase the birth rate.

I don't mean to be a sexist and discriminate against men but men cannot make

babies. I mean they can make but cannot product babies. No matter how much

I fight for equality for men they just cannot product babies like women can.

So we need more single female syt from countries with good universities and less

men from countries with dodgy degrees look for professional and management

positions which we can fill ourselves.

Oops! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

SIA apologises to musicians who were denied boarding with instruments
PUBLISHED ON DEC 9, 2014
BY KARAMJIT KAUR
SINGAPORE - Singapore Airlines (SIA) has apologised to a group of musicians who missed their flight last weekend because ground staff at Hong Kong airport barred them from boarding the plane with their instruments.
A review is being conducted to find out what happened and assess how the situation could have been better handled, a spokesman for the carrier told The Straits Times on Tuesday.
The members of Swiss-based ensemble the LGT Young Soloists, who had performed in Singapore and Hong Kong, were scheduled to travel on Flight SQ871 from Hong Kong to Zurich via Singapore on Saturday when the incident occurred.
They had checked in a double bass, booked seats for two cellos and were carrying eight violins and violas as hand baggage - the same thing they had done for their SIA flight when they left Zurich.
But at the airport in Hong Kong on Saturday, SIA insisted that the violins and violas had to be checked in, the group's group's artistic director Alexander Gilman reportedly told The Strad - a monthly magazine for the music industry. In the end, the group flew on German carrier Lufthansa.
SIA regrets the incident and "sincerely apologises for the inconvenience and anxiety caused to the group'' the spokesman said.

Somehow I feel it's another case of AMDK.

If this happened locally. Will SIA just void the tickets and insist customers top up $$$??? I think they will.

Oops! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

This month, SIA got "fun tai sui"?

One incident after another ....

SIA, pls show more human care and concern, and this will differentiate you with the rest of your competitors....

This month, SIA got "fun tai sui"?

One incident after another ....

SIA, pls show more human care and concern, and this will differentiate you with the rest of your competitors....

Any ground incidents acceptable with apologies but not plane missing or shoot down .... [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Picnic06