Advice on Perth Road Trip

Y0shimi

4 members have voted

1. 1. Which part of Perth is better for sightseeing?

• Northern Perth (Geraldton etc)
    • Eastern Perth (Swan Valley etc)
    • Southern Perth (Albany etic)

I had booked air tickets to Perth in April for 10 days. Planning to do a road trip. I like free and easy. As this is my first time to Aus, would like to find out more. Few questions:

1. Visa, When should I get it done? What are the charges and procedures? Can it be done online?

2. Transport. I am looking to rent a car but on second thoughts, was considering a camper van which I can stay in. Is it safe?

3. Attractions to recommend? Skip the bustling city please. I want something peaceful and relaxing. Prefer sea view, landscapes. What are the must see locations? Trip advisor seems to recommend alot on museum (no no for me, I might fall asleep).

There are so many choices and I guess I might not have the time to do all the sightseeing.

Is Rottnest worth 1-2 days?

Accommodations? I know it is a bad idea to only walk in and do bookings but as we are doing road trip it becomes a hassle to do any advance bookings. (Back to question of camper van)

I had been given some advice by friends not sure how true it is:

Do not drive after 5-6 pm (Dangers such as kangaroo or lousy view)

Doing road trip, just randomly walk up to backpacker inns

Lastly, please recommend me places for cheap seafood!! Especially oysters!!

↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 2

This topic have been discussed till death many times over.

U should do a search!

Better search before posting these days. If not will tio gan.

And I am not talking about that type you get from your bf.

perth, bustling city?? no way.

attractions also nothing much -

kings park - nice park to relax and look at look at perth city view

harbourtown outlet mall - some shopping but also nothing much

swan valley or margaret river - if you are into wine