School bus dispute : What Recourse Do Parents Have?

Coolpica

I'm one of the parents affected and have paid 2 months of school bus fares. Really inconsiderate of the Sindoz owner to make the statement that parents should go to schools for refund instead of him. Guess another Volks Auto saga is in the making.

School bus contracts sour, leaving parents in a pickle

PUBLISHED ON JAN 3, 2015 1:00 AM

PARENTS of pupils from two schools were left fretting over their children's transport arrangements, after the schools' contracts with a bus operator soured.

Red Swastika School in Bedok and Coral Primary in Pasir Ris had hired bus company Sindoz Group for the new school year, but terminated their contracts at the last minute after finding the firm's service unsatisfactory.

It is not known how many children were affected.

At Red Swastika, parents paid two months' worth of bus fees to Sindoz in November but did not hear from it thereafter.

A mother who wanted to be known only as Madam How, 42, said she did not hear from Sindoz owner Andy Lee after making a $160 deposit payment.

"I tried to call Andy but there was no response," she said.

A day before the school year began, parents received a message from Red Swastika principal Jenny Leong, informing them the school had ended its contract with Sindoz.

Mrs Leong assured parents that the school would look into refunding those who have paid Sindoz.

When asked, the Ministry of Education (MOE) said Red Swastika had appointed Sindoz as its school bus operator last August. But up to Wednesday, Sindoz could not confirm its arrangements with parents.

The school decided then to terminate the contract with Sindoz and work with its former bus operator Goh Transport, said a spokesman.

Mr Goh Bock Sin, who runs Goh Transport, said he received a call from Red Swastika only on Wednesday. "I worked with the school last year and we have a good relationship. So when they asked me for help, I agreed," said Mr Goh. Still, the last-minute appointment meant some parents had to take their children to school yesterday.

At Coral Primary, some children ended up waiting for the school bus provided by Sindoz for an hour yesterday and were late for school. Others were not picked up.

This led to the school ending its contract with the firm, the MOE spokesman said. The school had to make its own arrangements to send children home after lessons ended.

"The school has made arrangements with the alternative transport operator to continue to ferry the students from next week," added the spokesman.

When contacted, Mr Lee claimed the schools had unreasonably terminated his contracts. "It is unfair to terminate my contract even before the service commenced," he said, referring to Red Swastika School.

Mr Lee, who declined to give his age, said he has been in the chartered bus industry for more than 10 years. Asked about the money from parents, he said an operations executive from his firm had "absconded with the money" and that he had made a police report.

But parents should go to the schools, not him, for refunds, he said. "The schools are the ones that terminated the contracts suddenly, so they should bear the costs."

For Madam How, it is not about the refund but whether her daughter has a bus to take her to school.

"If we don't get a school bus, we really have to ask around and get non-working friends to help us out."

are the parents dealing directly with Sindoz or the schools?

If directly with Sindoz, how can the schools terminate the contract on behalf of the parents?

Or how about teaching their kids to take public transport on their own?

I studied in Red Swastika from pre-primary until part way through pri 2, at the time we were living in the upper changi road north/toh dr/tanah merah besar area (next to changi prison).

In pre-primary and part way through primary 1 i took school bus, then my parents taught me how to take public transport home and where to change buses. This allowed me to start going for chinese tuition which was a quick bus ride down the road from the school. I could also go visit bedok library when i wanted.

huh ? my kid's schoolbus operator didn't collect any deposit frm me when we sign up during orientation. He confirmed with me on the arrange 2 weeks back over the phone.. he didnt need us to pay no deposit as well just need to pay in adv for nov together with Jan payment on Monday...

another thought..is this another case of awarding to the lowest bidder ?

I'm one of the parents affected and have paid 2 months of school bus fares. Really inconsiderate of the Sindoz owner to make the statement that parents should go to schools for refund instead of him. Guess another Volks Auto saga is in the making.

School bus contracts sour, leaving parents in a pickle

PUBLISHED ON JAN 3, 2015 1:00 AM

PARENTS of pupils from two schools were left fretting over their children's transport arrangements, after the schools' contracts with a bus operator soured.

Red Swastika School in Bedok and Coral Primary in Pasir Ris had hired bus company Sindoz Group for the new school year, but terminated their contracts at the last minute after finding the firm's service unsatisfactory.

It is not known how many children were affected.

At Red Swastika, parents paid two months' worth of bus fees to Sindoz in November but did not hear from it thereafter.

A mother who wanted to be known only as Madam How, 42, said she did not hear from Sindoz owner Andy Lee after making a $160 deposit payment.

"I tried to call Andy but there was no response," she said.

A day before the school year began, parents received a message from Red Swastika principal Jenny Leong, informing them the school had ended its contract with Sindoz.

Mrs Leong assured parents that the school would look into refunding those who have paid Sindoz.

When asked, the Ministry of Education (MOE) said Red Swastika had appointed Sindoz as its school bus operator last August. But up to Wednesday, Sindoz could not confirm its arrangements with parents.

The school decided then to terminate the contract with Sindoz and work with its former bus operator Goh Transport, said a spokesman.

Mr Goh Bock Sin, who runs Goh Transport, said he received a call from Red Swastika only on Wednesday. "I worked with the school last year and we have a good relationship. So when they asked me for help, I agreed," said Mr Goh. Still, the last-minute appointment meant some parents had to take their children to school yesterday.

At Coral Primary, some children ended up waiting for the school bus provided by Sindoz for an hour yesterday and were late for school. Others were not picked up.

This led to the school ending its contract with the firm, the MOE spokesman said. The school had to make its own arrangements to send children home after lessons ended.

"The school has made arrangements with the alternative transport operator to continue to ferry the students from next week," added the spokesman.

When contacted, Mr Lee claimed the schools had unreasonably terminated his contracts. "It is unfair to terminate my contract even before the service commenced," he said, referring to Red Swastika School.

Mr Lee, who declined to give his age, said he has been in the chartered bus industry for more than 10 years. Asked about the money from parents, he said an operations executive from his firm had "absconded with the money" and that he had made a police report.

But parents should go to the schools, not him, for refunds, he said. "The schools are the ones that terminated the contracts suddenly, so they should bear the costs."

For Madam How, it is not about the refund but whether her daughter has a bus to take her to school.

"If we don't get a school bus, we really have to ask around and get non-working friends to help us out."

Wah say this Sindoz guy sibei hor.

Took the money from the parents and prata away responsibility.

Operations exec so coincidentally abscond with money.....

He doesnt understand that whoever takes the money without providing the service must return the money? Operations exec absconding with money makes no difference. 10yrs in the business yet no integrity? Better close shop lah. Hate this kind of business attitude, pwui!

Plse take this thug to task, Coolpica.

Or how about teaching their kids to take public transport on their own?

I studied in Red Swastika from pre-primary until part way through pri 2, at the time we were living in the upper changi road north/toh dr/tanah merah besar area (next to changi prison).

In pre-primary and part way through primary 1 i took school bus, then my parents taught me how to take public transport home and where to change buses. This allowed me to start going for chinese tuition which was a quick bus ride down the road from the school. I could also go visit bedok library when i wanted.

My wife and I have the intention of letting my girl take public transport when she is in Pri 3 next year.

Wah say this Sindoz guy sibei hor.

Took the money from the parents and prata away responsibility.

Operations exec so coincidentally abscond with money.....

He doesnt understand that whoever takes the money without providing the service must return the money? Operations exec absconding with money makes no difference. 10yrs in the business yet no integrity? Better close shop lah. Hate this kind of business attitude, pwui!

Plse take this thug to task, Coolpica.

Yes wanting to take the guy to task, I feel he can't just taiji his responsibility away. Will be contacting the school to understand the situation and the steps it will take for us to get the refunds back.

are the parents dealing directly with Sindoz or the schools?

If directly with Sindoz, how can the schools terminate the contract on behalf of the parents?

We deal directly with Sindoz, on the schedule, bus routes and fares collection. The school terminates the contract as Sindoz fails to fulfill the requirement of providing service for Mondays whereby the pupils will have extra lessons.

If "Sindoz could not confirm its arrangements with parents", why did they collect the 2 months' fees??

That's why I said it is akin to Volks Auto scam lo. Take deposits and disappear.

The sindoz bus operator cannot be contacted via his mobile. Sms no reply, call and line always busy.

Yup, he and his ops executive were so enthusiastic when collecting the

deposit!

Edited by Coolpica

We deal directly with Sindoz, on the schedule, bus routes and fares collection. The school terminates the contract as Sindoz fails to fulfill the requirement of providing service for Mondays whereby the pupils will have extra lessons.

In the first place, do the schools have the authority to terminate the school bus service?

If so, did the schools give parents advance notice (at least 1 month) to make alternative arrangement.

I think the schools didn't have a backup plan before the termination and they should bear part of the responsibilities.

They should make it illegal to collect deposits for certain services, including utilities.

In Japan, I booked some tours in advance at their counter, pay nothing until actual day to the tour guide direct.

They will just reserve the seats for you, no scared you fly them aeroplane. In the end, the tour bus still full full gum gum hoh; no over booking or under booking.

What's the rationale for collecting deposit for school bus? You mean children will run road?

Edited by Kangadrool

I think, you may want to group together with other parents to take collective action. Coz there may be a good chance its a civil case....

As a group, u all will have more financial strength to take the guy to task.

They should make it illegal to collect deposits for certain services, including utilities.

In Japan, I booked some tours in advance at their counter, pay nothing until actual day to the tour guide direct.

They will just reserve the seats for you, no scared you fly them aeroplane. In the end, the tour bus still full full gum gum hoh; no over booking or under booking.

What's the rationale for collecting deposit for school bus? You mean children will run road?

Am new to school bus fares as my girl only takes school bus since last year. The previous company took deposit as well and I thought this is an industry norm

I think, you may want to group together with other parents to take collective action. Coz there may be a good chance its a civil case....

As a group, u all will have more financial strength to take the guy to task.

Am unsure if this should be a civil case or it should involve police as the boss claimed that his staff has absconded with the money.

In the first place, do the schools have the authority to terminate the school bus service?

If so, did the schools give parents advance notice (at least 1 month) to make alternative arrangement.

I think the schools didn't have a backup plan before the termination and they should bear part of the responsibilities.

Whatever the scenario, consumer is always at the losing end. No consumer rights to talk about

This is the problem with deposit and often we forget about it.

I can't recall if I ever paid deposit for my son's school bus under student care centre's arrangement. But, I did remember I paid deposit for student care centre.

Again, wtf??? need to collect deposit for student care for what? You mean students run away?

At one stage, they even wanted to collect fees using Giro by force. I buat bodoh, no hew.... continue to pay be cheques....

Am new to school bus fares as my girl only takes school bus since last year. The previous company took deposit as well and I thought this is an industry norm

Am unsure if this should be a civil case or it should involve police as the boss claimed that his staff has absconded with the money.

Whatever the scenario, consumer is always at the losing end. No consumer rights to talk about

Edited by Kangadrool

Like what bro Mustank may say. Quick poh mata.

Agree wholeheartedly.

Parents and school should sue the bugger.

LTA should consider renewing such bus operators licence, want people use public transport, take school bus but when operators come up with crap reason all get stucked , those with personal transport would just need to send and fetch their kids at the required timing. Those without transport would need to do the same, just that they need to take public buses.

My wife and I have the intention of letting my girl take public transport when she is in Pri 3 next year.

Yes wanting to take the guy to task, I feel he can't just taiji his responsibility away. Will be contacting the school to understand the situation and the steps it will take for us to get the refunds back.

Hope you are able to resolve this asap and find alternative long-term transportation arrangments for your child.

Just curious - does the school run its own student care centre?