I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

Patient molests nurse, I presume?

Yes.

BUT

there have been people who masqueraded as nurses to molest patients. Cos the trust is there. That is why masqueraders are punished very harshly. Do nurses molest patients? Every profession have its black sheep but unlikely cos many checks and balance.

Like in imh, male nurses cannot be unsupervised in female wards.

We do have our experiences like syt who come in drunk. When they start vomiting, believe me, all interest dies immediately.

Edited by Philipkee

How is the general relationship between FT and locals where you work before ?

Is there lots of competition, jealousy, politicking ?

People assume FT work harder (bcuz they need to make as much money as they can) and don't mind all kinds of jobs locals may not like to do.

How is the general relationship between FT and locals where you work before ?

Is there lots of competition, jealousy, politicking ?

People assume FT work harder (bcuz they need to make as much money as they can) and don't mind all kinds of jobs locals may not like to do.

Not too bad. It is true that different nationalities prefer to stick with each other like Filipinos with Filipinos but there is mutual respect for each other. Because we depend on each other. If a patient goes into cardiac arrest, I cannot say who my partner will be. Hence we respect each other.

Politicking is there

Competition? Not too bad because in govt hospital at least, promotion is more or less fixed, unless u aim to climb very high.

Everyone works hard. Cannot say this nationality work less hard . there are people who say seniors like to use eye power. The problem is, depends on your training. A surgeon once taught that the leader in an emergency should not do anything. He should observe and direct as needed. If he is busy setting an iv line, can he have the bird's eye view and delegate?

The charge of laziness tend to be directed against seniors as opposed to nationality. Competition is not too bad because in the day to day life of hospital, nurses struggle to finish their work. No time to think of competition. In smaller or freer places, maybe

To be frank, I have heard from a doctor medical fees in Australia can be up to 1 million. Dunno if she added living expenses but yea, its a killer.

Physio and psycho no comments.

Nursing in NUS. Well, chance of promotion is higher. Starting pay is higher. Nursing is moving towards degree so even if he joins diploma in nursing he will have to do a top up degree eventually.

What about studying nursing overseas? Recommendation is no unless he wants the experience OR he wants to work overseas. If he studies full time overseas it is easy for him to get a PR and job. For nursing.

ya.....i checked too....but the fees, lodging and meals they put it at about 500k. Thats what the webbie says.....if got add on maybe can reach 1 mill.

Thats what i want him to do.....study abroad and stay there....but dont give up his pink ic.....that is important.

ya.....i checked too....but the fees, lodging and meals they put it at about 500k. Thats what the webbie says.....if got add on maybe can reach 1 mill.

Thats what i want him to do.....study abroad and stay there....but dont give up his pink ic.....that is important.

Dun forget the extras and living expenses. Eating out is expensive in australia but heap if u cook at home. And of cos, the exchange rate from sgd to aud . textbooks can be exp plus travelling expense. Dun think he will stay in hostel entire time. In aussie, ppl will travel during their holidays and this adds up a lot.

ya i know....i floated the idea of him staying with his uncle should he wants to study there......but he dont want...he say he do not want to impose on others and moreover the uncle stays in Perth or Sydney while he wants to go Adelaide. Kids.......always want to do their iwn things. Now as long as he finish his army stint and continue his education to get his degree i happy liao. I scared he wants to be a career soldier.....

nope...my son is now 3rd sargeant....just finished his aslc.....he told me he was offered ocs a few time since his pop but he rejected the offer (dont know why). He told me jcc is part of his training as a specialist....so i dont want to dwell on it....actually i was hoping he could get to be a senior medic since he already signed on.....but he go and choose a combat vocation.

wah.....so long har.....thanks for the info.

ASLC standard for regulars. If he offered OCS means he got occifer caliber. If Sispec he is top 5% of the cohort, they will offer him occifer again. Maybe he is bedazzled with the glamour of WOSPECs in the US hollywood films, all the master chiefs, sergeants stereotypes.

Locally, SAF itself don't pave the road for WOSPECs, even to get to MWO and then SWO is damn difficult, unless you si bei kilat, go take badges from courses all over the world. Officer is you kilat or lembeh, you still officer, end of service at 45, you could still be a Major, if study still can hope for half Colonel. Higher gratuity too.

It is sad that but again apparent, people like nurses or WOSPECs, doing most of the work don't get appreciated.

ASLC standard for regulars. If he offered OCS means he got occifer caliber. If Sispec he is top 5% of the cohort, they will offer him occifer again. Maybe he is bedazzled with the glamour of WOSPECs in the US hollywood films, all the master chiefs, sergeants stereotypes.

Locally, SAF itself don't pave the road for WOSPECs, even to get to MWO and then SWO is damn difficult, unless you si bei kilat, go take badges from courses all over the world. Officer is you kilat or lembeh, you still officer, end of service at 45, you could still be a Major, if study still can hope for half Colonel. Higher gratuity too.

It is sad that but again apparent, people like nurses or WOSPECs, doing most of the work don't get appreciated.

ya....i told him off for refusing the ocs offer.....he won a silver bayonet during aslc. The week after i told him off he said he had applied for airborne parachute course.....nb....i shock sia....dont know he lying anot! Yesterday sent him off for jcc......he told me nx overseas is Hawaii......waliao! I sianz........told him off again.....go jcc....apply for this apply for that...people offer ocs u refuse.....kum gong......i bury tahan! But yesterday i sms him before his flight.....told him to be careful....and get the badge..give a bit of encouragement...hahahaha.

your son ...

But not being an officer maybe a blessing in disguise if the army is just a short stint.

your son ...

But not being an officer maybe a blessing in disguise if the army is just a short stint.

i just hope this 4 yrs fly fast officer or nco....when he won the silver bayonet i was quite surprise....scrawny boy with a love for badminton.....he wanted to play soccer but i cajoled him to play badminton instead for his cca.....trained him to be an individual.....most badminton players are. Edited by Eviilusion

if he really want to be WOSPEC, he must be really on the ball. Physically, mentally have to in tip top condition. Make Army RSM as his final goal. Like the current Ng Siak Ping. Ranger tag on left arm, array of diving & parachuting badges on chest. Stand with Perry Lim, he commands more respect.

Army is only about one thing - Siao On. [laugh]

Sorry to @PhilipKee for veering off-topic.

if he really want to be WOSPEC, he must be really on the ball. Physically, mentally have to in tip top condition. Make Army RSM as his final goal. Like the current Ng Siak Ping. Ranger tag on left arm, array of diving & parachuting badges on chest. Stand with Perry Lim, he commands more respect.

Army is only about one thing - Siao On. [laugh]

Sorry to @PhilipKee for veering off-topic.

wei....dont frighten me lei.......just want to be done with whatever it is.......no need to be in army for so long......i post his silver bayonet.....name i pixelised liao! Display box is on my wall.......hahahaha....maciam i am the one who won!post-60339-0-33397900-1422458726_thumb.jpgya....ya....sorry hor bro philip! Edited by Eviilusion

Where got staff nurse drive big cars?

Most of them can't afford a Bb car.

Not true. Having said TT, one must be a senior nurse first to get a reasonable wage. The job is stable so no fear of retrenchment. still, nurse who buys a merc will draw eyebrows cos we dun earn tt much unless at director of nursing level.

I personally know a Sn who drives a big car. I believe from parents. And I also know a senior doctor who takes MRT.

I do drive but i bought when coe was low.