I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

The Mediacorp drama 你也可以是天使 kept emphasizing on Advanced Practice Nurse or something along that line. I respect Nurses but that drama spells too much propaganda right from the start and it does not seem to portray a realistic picture of nursing life at all (when I compare it to my Nursing friends' experience. I rather watch past Mediacorp productions similar to the forensic drama donkey years ago 'Fa Yi Gu Shi' than this cheesy Nurse drama with all the extremely mediocre actors like Elvin Ng and the SG 'supermodel' girl Sheila Sim.

it is part of the recruitment drive along with the current issue on ageing population, medical, cpf, pioneer generation package, education in nursing, etc.

Yes exactly. Which is why I do not find it educational at all.

Lol u think govt hospital pay is low.

Wait till u see those myanmar or sri lanka nursing assistants in nursing homes. Earn same as a maid niah...

better get my sons to study hard [crazy]

What's the salary of nurses like?

TS got say: got degree, do 3 shift, get about 5k plus [crazy]

Part of it is wayang. But definitely shift work and pay are big issues...

You are right that healthcare costs have to be kept low. There are hundreds to thousands of nurses per hospital.

minister pay must high attractive to get best people, others must keep low low

really is

Projectile-Vomiting-Level-.-MFW-I-ve-had

Edited by Mustank

Ask him to consider to be a vet. [laugh]

Murdoch Uni is v popular for Vet studies.

Vets are earning bigger bucks and usually pet owners will pay top dollars for their pets. I know coz i have a dog. [laugh]

Psychology, like someone said, must study until Masters level, then your son is qualified to practice.

yeah agree. small dog go clinic smelly smelly also $100+.

last time, my sis's dog which we were fostering a rat n got bitten on the nose. got c vet, came out of clinic $300+ poorer. then nvr learnt it's lesson, after that,still go hunt rat.

now, with a small bunny, ear infection also need $70+.

plus, being a vet, if patient passed away, emotional recovery is faster than that of a doctor or nurse for all that matters.

Edited by Qpik

TS got say: got degree, do 3 shift, get about 5k plus [crazy]

I mean the progression - unless you mean starting 5k?

..The MOM report, which was released yesterday, said that unattractive pay and a preference not to do shift work were among the reasons Singaporeans shunned nursing jobs...

..One way to improve the situation is through redesigning the job, such as expanding the role of the nurse, and using technology to make the work more efficient, Dr Chia said...

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/nursing-vacancies-among-hardest-fill-sporeans-report

I think it is a travesty that in same report where unattractive pay is cited as why people avoid nursing, the nursing recruitment leader (not a nurse) is offering silly solutions like job redesign etc..

My surmise is that gov is deeply hypocritical in nursing training, abetted by a poorly organised nursing leadership that is systematically made weak by administrative non-nursing people..

Nursing pay is kept artificially low in name of capping healthcare costs...leaders who could effect a change in the system are all paying lip service because anything else is political suicide.

Correct me if I am wrong please. :D

I think many who know me will know my wife is a nurse.

I always tell her, from what I observe. Nursing to the garment and hospital are like production worker instead of professional hence the low pay. They are like factory worker in a factory to the management mind. Hence they won't pay them high. Their stupid scholar mind is so inept In this that they even "accidentally" place them in the same bracket as low skilled worker and some high ranking minister have to come out to apologize.

For easy to understand, in short they think nurses are rank and file while doctor are officer if we take reference to army..

Edited by Joseph22

those are usually staff nurse.

ITE grad is only assistant nurse.

issit like that?

nursing degree = officer nurse

nuursing deploma = staff nurse

nursing ite = assistant nurse

I mean the progression - unless you mean starting 5k?

oh i see

The Mediacorp drama 你也可以是天使 kept emphasizing on Advanced Practice Nurse or something along that line. I respect Nurses but that drama spells too much propaganda right from the start and it does not seem to portray a realistic picture of nursing life at all (when I compare it to my Nursing friends' experience. I rather watch past Mediacorp productions similar to the forensic drama donkey years ago 'Fa Yi Gu Shi' than this cheesy Nurse drama with all the extremely mediocre actors like Elvin Ng and the SG 'supermodel' girl Sheila Sim.

My wife commented, the show is underplaying the role of doctor too much. It is not realistic anymore. But she is watching as she has to re-educate her student if there are any incorrect procedure shown.

No wonder very hard to attract people

Salary really too low

While nurses are doing a good (i call it a noble) job which is shunned by many others, saving lives, helping the sicks, the system here doesnt really pay them what they deserve. I guess the idea of "cheaper and better" is applied by those who have a say their pay scale?

On the other hands, some will say in order to keep healthcare affordable, salaries have to stay low. The use of imported nurses works as long as the supplies of them are assured --- otherwise if their home countries decide to stop them from coming to work here, our hospitals will be paralysed.

Question:- Do we have a good spread of imported nurses coming from different countries to avoid being held at "ransom" if some countries decide to impose a ban / restriction / high levies on their nurses working here?

Edited by Super7

Zhun boh? I thought nurses work on shifts. Got so much free time to share with us MCF folks?

The part I read that nurses clear sh!t, urine and what's not clearly ppl can't see beyond or even know what other things they do.(Chuckles) Some nurses have their specialised field too. So many patients with so many different conditions the nurses cannot be bao ka liao know how to take care of all patients.

I'm really surprised to see nurse got time to share with us though. Oh yeah, now they have janitors to help clear the sh!t and urine. FYI for those who are still stuck in their world.

He already say he is now a nursing lecturer. Got a bit more time on Internet cause we all know working office hour can multi task.

minister pay must high attractive to get best people, others must keep low low

really is

Projectile-Vomiting-Level-.-MFW-I-ve-had

but but, ministers need to talk, rub shoulders with CEOs, towkays hor.... nurses no need [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

have you come across any weird request from the patient's family?

During my NSF days, my campmate kena very serious accident. his family went to ask the Chinese god and was told that thou he is still alive, the soul not there anymore. must light up a oil lamp beside his bed for the next 72 hours without the fire dying off. The family request my CSM to put men on 24 hour standby to "look" after the lamp.

of cos the hospital didn't allow that to happen and our CSM also don't dare to commit.

eventually, my campmate also mati liao....... [smallcry]

last time my sis's BF now my BIL was involved in a hit, run & cover up.

my mom consulted a Tangkee n found out he cheong with the spirits, 50% survival rate. so, did some rites n need to bring some stuff into ICU n wayang. at first doc refused cos scared infections etc. but, we begged the doctor to help us arrange n surprising, after that, my BIL did start to feel btr n recover.

got nursing degree, do 3 shift, then can get 5k plus is reallyv ery difficult to survive

even if both couple is nursing degree, add together is 11k

11k, bring home 9k

9k can have bto, baby but very hard to have even a bb car

Ask him to consider to be a vet. [laugh]

Murdoch Uni is v popular for Vet studies.

Vets are earning bigger bucks and usually pet owners will pay top dollars for their pets. I know coz i have a dog. [laugh]

Psychology, like someone said, must study until Masters level, then your son is qualified to practice.

My friend is a vet, he got bitten by his patients before.... humans patients seldom bite nurses/doctors. My friend's hand was swollen, bigger than his leg, within minutes of the bite. [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

last time my sis's BF now my BIL was involved in a hit, run & cover up.

my mom consulted a Tangkee n found out he cheong with the spirits, 50% survival rate. so, did some rites n need to bring some stuff into ICU n wayang. at first doc refused cos scared infections etc. but, we begged the doctor to help us arrange n surprising, after that, my BIL did start to feel btr n recover.

tangkee earn how much

got nursing degree, do 3 shift, then can get 5k plus is reallyv ery difficult to survive

even if both couple is nursing degree, add together is 11k

11k, bring home 9k

9k can have bto, baby but very hard to have even a bb car

why not double as ambulance driver, then can drive, bigger than bb car [thumbsup]