I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

The thing i dislike most about nursing is the hierarchy.

The Matriarchal way things are done...

Not many nurses can take this kinda work environment especially with the younger generations.

Don't say young, my SIL who is in her late 40s worked as a patient service associate at SGH last year as temp staff. 2 weeks only cannot tahan and resigned.

She says the nurses there at his clinic very disjointed and a lot of politics.

Edited by Othello

Dr Pol har? Vet....dont think so lar....he had never shown interest in animals....except for Pokemon......hahaha! Maybe will push the idea of being a physio......

that's because he has not yet met that special cat. [grin]

i agree that vets make big bucks. go there check heart rate and external appearance, 10 min only, $40 liao!!!

that's because he has not yet met that special cat. [grin]

i agree that vets make big bucks. go there check heart rate and external appearance, 10 min only, $40 liao!!!

met liao....'cat' always follow him home when he book out.......hahaha!

catch no ball. that cat got 2 legs or 4 legs???

anyway, back to topic. I hold healthcare professionals, esp the nurses, in high esteem. It is a noble job fuelled by their passion. It is shit job. And I think the pay does not justify their work.

Don't say young, my SIL who is in her late 40s worked as a patient service associate at SGH last year as temp staff. 2 weeks only cannot tahan and resigned.

PSA not an easy job. Lots of paperwork and administrative protocol in a hospital.

catch no ball. that cat got 2 legs or 4 legs???

anyway, back to topic. I hold healthcare professionals, esp the nurses, in high esteem. It is a noble job fuelled by their passion. It is shit job. And I think the pay does not justify their work.

2 legs.....hahaha.....poly coursemates and ya....for the work they do i think the kana lowballed by the system.

normal lah......u talking about profession that is overwhelmed by the fairer sex. A women can get along with just one other women in her life..............her mom! Edited by Eviilusion

No unless he wants to be a HCA.

To be a RN or EN, he HAS TO go through the ITE or Dip in Nursing.

my classmates was a medic during ns....ROD he straight away join TTSH as a nurse.....last i met him he was already a staff nurse. Guys in that line has faster promotion then their female counterpart due to lack of male nurse. I talked with a dental assistant that serves schools.....9-5 job and all the patients are students. Pays roughly about the same as nurses and the male dental assistants are usually promoted faster due to the same reasons as male nurse.

It is likely that he got his diploma BEFORE NS or got it after NS. Without the diploma or degree, he CANNOT be a registered nurse in Singapore. Of course, he will be advantaged with his training but this does not mean he does not need that piece of paper.

Promotion wise, not really. It seems that way. Cos you see, one male nurse promoted can mean 100% of male nurses in that ward promoted while for females, 10 promoted might not even be 40% Then again, male nurses lack some exposure in training due to the fact that they do not go for posting in Obstretics and Gynae. I know cos I was once the only male RN in the ward for 6 months [:)]

Thank you v much for answering my question!

No unless he wants to be a HCA.

To be a RN or EN, he HAS TO go through the ITE or Dip in Nursing.

my classmates was a medic during ns....ROD he straight away join TTSH as a nurse.....last i met him he was already a staff nurse. Guys in that line has faster promotion then their female counterpart due to lack of male nurse. I talked with a dental assistant that serves schools.....9-5 job and all the patients are students. Pays roughly about the same as nurses and the male dental assistants are usually promoted faster due to the same reasons as male nurse.

It is likely that he got his diploma BEFORE NS or got it after NS. Without the diploma or degree, he CANNOT be a registered nurse in Singapore. Of course, he will be advantaged with his training but this does not mean he does not need that piece of paper.

Promotion wise, not really. It seems that way. Cos you see, one male nurse promoted can mean 100% of male nurses in that ward promoted while for females, 10 promoted might not even be 40% Then again, male nurses lack some exposure in training due to the fact that they do not go for posting in Obstretics and Gynae. I know cos I was once the only male RN in the ward for 6 months [:)]

didnt ask him about his qualification though....but i think he has a levels......if he continued studying to get his dip or degree then its good for him.

What is the best paying type of specialist?

When they insert the needle for drip or jab, there is sometimes a bubble, will it be harmful for the bubble to get in?

Maybe this is trivial:-

Is there a national colour code for nurses' uniform? or different hospitals have their own code?

When i was warded last year, i saw different colours. [:)]

Some female nurses wear pants, some skirts also. Male nurses always wear pants.

Yah I also want to know. SGH Wear purple uniform is nurse or admin?

Once I was in a checkup, nurse pull curtain ask me to strip. I stripping halfway with pants down and man exposed, a syt with purple uniform pull the curtain to look for nurse and saw me there front facing her.

She smile and say sorry and pull back curtain.

I feel like kena tikoed.

Once I was in a checkup, nurse pull curtain ask me to strip. I stripping halfway with pants down and man exposed, a syt with purple uniform pull the curtain to look for nurse and saw me there front facing her.

I feel like kena tikoed.

wah...u neber complain har.....at least look for the syt in purple and ask.........swee boh?.......hahahaha!

Can u explain the various ambulance siren? Sometimes, lights on no sound. What does that mean?

I realise that there have been questions popping up about SCDF and ambulance. From contacts with my friends and even family members, there seem to be a lot of misconception of what we do in the nursing field. What we can do, what we cannot do, bed situation and the such.

Following from Hardwarezone threads, I thought it might be helpful if I started a thread on nursing.

A little background.

Graduated from nursing over 15 years ago

Worked in C class and B2 ward in a restructured hospital

Worked in major OT in restructured and private hospital

Worked in Accident and Emergency department in restructured and private hospital

Lecturer in nursing

Attachments include SCDF posting when going for a specialist course

Of course the on and off volunteer missions overseas

So ask me anything. If I can answer without compromising my identity or place I work, I will do so, within reason.

p/s with O levels coming out soon, this thread is also for those who might consider nursing as a career but cannot seem to get the on the ground info [lipsrsealed]

I feel like kena tikoed.

At least she smiled. [laugh]

I feel like kena tikoed.

Wah lau. You didn't get her name and number (to report her)?

It happen too fast! No time to react.

After I'm done checkup I to go out to admin area but no sign of her....

So cannot complain without prove...

Edited by Pocus

It happen too fast! No time to react.

After I'm done checkup I to go out to admin area but no sign of her....

So cannot complain without prove...

Jialat. You kanna hit and run.