You think ur car insurance is expensive?

Eyke

Detroit man with marathon walking commute surprised with new car

"A Detroit factory worker who has walked more than 20 miles (32 km) during his daily commute to work

for a decade was surprised on Friday with a brand new car, donated by a suburban car dealership.

Leedy told Reuters he was initially quoted a $15,000-a-year premium, a quote that

illustrates Detroit's notoriously high insurance rates."

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/02/06/us-usa-michigan-walkingman-idUSKBN0LA2E420150206

I could be wrong, but a lot of that premium could be going into anti-theft insurance. Detroit is the most unsafe city in America.

But even with insurance like that, the total cost of car ownership in the US is *much* less than in Sillypore.

When I was a very young man back in the UK, many older performance cars (performance for that era lah, 7-8 secs 0-100 was considered fast back then hor, can touch 240-250kph was like woah!) cost the same as the basic 3rd party insurance.

Imagine, spend 2000 pounds for a car, 2000 pounds for 1 year 3rd party insurance. But that was partly because of young age too.

As for Singapore, can only complain that as my NCD goes up, premium seems to stay the same!

As for that Detroit guy, I am wondering why he doesn't buy a bicycle. Cycling 30km is a lot easier than walking 30km. Or even a kickscooter. But glad he got a happy ending with the free car. Walking to work and having a perfect attendance record for 10 years. This man has a great work ethic.

Edited by Ake109

1/4 of our coe only.......not that bad lar!

is per year AND is US$15,000 wor, after pay 4yrs will exceed our COE liao loh...

Edited by Eyke

is per year AND is US$15,000 wor, after pay 4yrs will exceed our COE liao loh...

ya hor........then he should get fire and theft....or 3rd party......confirm cheaper!

Detroit man with marathon walking commute surprised with new car

"A Detroit factory worker who has walked more than 20 miles (32 km) during his daily commute to work

for a decade was surprised on Friday with a brand new car, donated by a suburban car dealership.

Leedy told Reuters he was initially quoted a $15,000-a-year premium, a quote that

illustrates Detroit's notoriously high insurance rates."

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/02/06/us-usa-michigan-walkingman-idUSKBN0LA2E420150206

The city is not safe

Now the whole city knows he got new car, in the next few weeks his car will be stolen

So insurance company quote reasonable premium

I simply find it incredible that someone would walk 32 km daily to work. At least cycling can believe.

Part of.it he took bus

But still a crazy guy, he could have move.house nearer to factory or change job or move to another city option

Part of.it he took bus

But still a crazy guy, he could have move.house nearer to factory or change job or move to another city option

The part covered by the bus route is not included in the distance. He actually walked 32km round trip every day for work.

Sometimes, the distances involved in a continent-sized country are almost unimaginable to us in the little red dot. :D

With regard to your other point: I think not so easy for this guy to get another job or change house. He's not exactly a high earner, and the job market is not forgiving. Or maybe he had a set of personal ethics that forbade him from job-hopping - there are definitely such principled folk around.

The part covered by the bus route is not included in the distance. He actually walked 32km round trip every day for work.

Sometimes, the distances involved in a continent-sized country are almost unimaginable to us in the little red dot. :D

With regard to your other point: I think not so easy for this guy to get another job or change house. He's not exactly a high earner, and the job market is not forgiving. Or maybe he had a set of personal ethics that forbade him from job-hopping - there are definitely such principled folk around.

Then company should be kind enough to provide accomodation nearby or provide him a bicycle or bike.

I would agree on ur last point, he is an eccentric guy that dont like job hopping haha

I'd rather pay 70k coe than 15k insurance premium

I'd rather pay 70k coe than 40% income tax

😈

Yes I rather buy million dollar HDB HAHA

The point is not how far he walks everyday.. the important thing is that he is always on time for work! That's.. worth respecting.

Walking don't break down.

Train and bus will.

I'd rather pay 70k coe than 15k insurance premium

I'd rather pay 70k coe than 40% income tax

😈

wait till you pay 38% tax and 90k COE <_<

You are so generous to sg garment

Pay extra to aid nation building

😈

You are so generous to sg garment

Pay extra to aid nation building

😈

CPF already 30% plus. That is before your annual assessment.