Sudden death due to cardiac arrest

Ender

Our local kopi sup sup water, but I've known people every morning double espresso, afternoon also double espresso.. I think they comparable to energy drink looking at the published numbers. In between still drink Coke and other caffeinated soda. Why need so much caffeine.

Actually, espresso is one of the lowest in caffeine although full bodied taste. More caffeine comes out when soak the powder longer. Espresso is only 30 secs at high pressure, while siphon and drip is few minutes of hot water flowing to extract and hence more caffeine. The highest caffeine content is cold drip. Because the water is dripped into powder overnight.

200+mg per 100g of espresso according to Google wor.

ok lah if consider one shot of espresso only 8gm.

I drink Nespresso quite regularly. Google say a 40ml espresso has 60mg for espresso and 83mg for lungo.. That is very high for 40ml of coffee..

I need to buy more decaffeinated capsule for my next round. 

Dunno leh .. my heart rate goes up more significantly with espresso, but not with local kopi. Perhaps it's has to do more with the beans than the process.

maybe only respond to espresso, my mum has heart problem but she likes coffee, her heartbeat also faster if she drinks ang moh kopi.

I would advise if u are really serious about endurance sports, go do a thorough assessment by a cardiologist.

Cos even if u do an exercise treadmill not enough, u still need an echocardiogram.

Even then they can only tell u that u are low risk. Nothing is ever 100% [:p]

2 things can kill you, one is a heart attack, that's easier to detect. But the 2nd, fatal iregular heart beats is harder to confirm whether there or not.

Got once the doctor did an ecg on me....he told me my diastolic was quite high and suspected a heart attack and called an ambulance for me...

I filled both my waterbottles with coffee during the 72km route march.....it really perked me up.....

no lah, mind can overcome matter most of the time. But must be for something worthwhile mah. If your family is drowning in the sea, or u running away from a lion, sure no problem.

For a triathlon or marathon? No lah .... not like u are a professional competing for prize $$$ [laugh]

Won't u need to go toilet +++?

Route march, i always have gatorade in my bottles or water bag. Or else i get cramps quite easily.

Sometime those words can give the contestant a boost......but sometime it can backfire and cause injury to the contestant...when all is fine its okay...but when things go awry just because of that little push people will regret.

My time 86/87.....i dont think got even redbull....hahaha! But my sargeant always tells the cookhouse to make rose water and add salt....maciam hundred plus! After physical exercise drinking that combi with ice is just heavenly. Doc....army route march....you pee wherever or whenever the urge comes....

I think those Pocari sweat powder should have ?

bro....cant remember but i dont like these energy drinks. The only time i love redbull was whenever i want to get rid of hangovers......even the sarabat uncle knew the reasons why i ordered redbull on Sunday mornings...

200+mg per 100g of espresso according to Google wor.

One cup of double-espresso is made from 20g of powder. Means is 40mg of caffeine. Espresso is lower in caffeine than drip method of brewing, but is certainly not caffeine free.

How much coffee is too much?
THE STRAITS TIMES  Jan 14, 2016

Caffeine is a part of many adults' daily routine and a morning brew usually helps them kick-start the day. But caffeine can also be a substance that people consume unknowingly as it is found not only in coffee, but also in other food and beverage products, and even medication.

While ingesting caffeine generally has no ill effects, too much of it is not a good thing either.

Late last year, a man in his 20s from Kyushu, Japan, was reported to have died from a caffeine overdose. He had drunk too many highly caffeinated drinks to help him stay awake in his job at a 24-hour petrol stand.

While rare, caffeine overdose has been reported elsewhere as well. So how much is too much?

DANGER OF OVERCONSUMPTION

Dr Lui Hock Foong, a gastroenterologist at Gleneagles Hospital, said a typical coffee drinker has nothing to worry about as a lethal dose of caffeine is 10-15g a day, which translates to 100 cups of coffee.

"It's difficult to consume this amount over a short time," he said.

"In the case of the Japanese man, he was consuming caffeinated energy drinks, which are more concentrated in caffeine. Caffeine pills were also found in his stomach."

However, it is easy to overdose on caffeine powder, which are sold as stimulants, warned Dr Lui.

"One can reach the lethal dose through ingestion, as in the case of an American teenager who died from caffeine toxicity in 2014," he pointed out.

The Food and Drug Administration in the United States has issued a consumer warning on powdered caffeine, as a teaspoon of it has the same amount of caffeine as about 28 cups of regular coffee.

Dr Desmond Wai, a gastroenterologist and hepatologist at Mount Elizabeth Novena Specialist Centre, said caffeine poisoning is now being recognised.

It is believed to be caused by the large intake of coffee within a short time and the cause of death is usually arrhythmia, or an abnormal heart rate, he said.

The caffeine level in blood is also affected by the way the coffee is made. Brewed coffee has more caffeine than instant coffee. Other factors include the volume of the coffee cup and drinks that are consumed around the same time, he added.

Here are four more things to note about caffeine.

DO NOT EXCEED FIVE CUPS OF COFFEE A DAY

The daily recommended caffeine intake for adults should not exceed 400mg a day, said Dr Lui.

Children should not consume caffeine at all and adolescents should limit their intake to at most 100mg a day, according to Mayo Clinic in the US.

Generally, an adult should not drink more than:

•Four to five cups of coffee, which have 80-100mg of caffeine per cup on average;

•Twelve cans of a standard Coca-Cola, with each containing 34mg of caffeine;

•Six cans of high-caffeine soft drinks, with 70mg of caffeine per can; or

•Five cans of energy drinks with 80mg of caffeine per can; or two cans if the energy drink contains double that amount of caffeine.

CAFFEINE IS FOUND NOT ONLY IN COFFEE AND CAFFEINE PRODUCTS

Tea can contain about one-quarter of the amount of caffeine in coffee, said Dr Lui.

Energy drinks, such as Red Bull and Monster, contain caffeine too.

Other products with caffeine include NoDoz caffeine supplements, Coca-Cola, Diet Cola, chocolate and medication, like Panadol Extra, said Dr Wai.

He suggested that drinkers try to limit themselves to two or three cups of coffee daily.

"Caffeine will naturally be broken down by our body, though drinking more water can help bring down the level in our body," he said.

INCREASED INTAKE DOES NOT EQUATE TO INCREASED ALERTNESS

Drinking more than the safe recommended intake level can make you feel worse as caffeine is a stimulant of the nervous system.

Doses above 1g will trigger unpleasant symptoms such as hand tremors, headaches, restlessness, heart palpitations and increased urination, said Dr Lui.

"Consuming caffeine above this limit can lead to caffeine toxicity that is potentially fatal."

Too much caffeine also causes diarrhoea and heartburn, said Dr Wai.

Dr Lui said one should resist the temptation to continually increase caffeine intake to keep awake as it is largely counterproductive.

"A minimum period of rest is essential for the body and should not be curtailed with stimulants."

CAFFEINE IS BENEFICIAL ONLY IN MODERATE AMOUNTS

New studies have confirmed the generally positive effects of caffeine when taken in modest quantities, said Dr Lui. The benefits are seen in the enhancement of physical and mental performances, as well as protective effects from several chronic illnesses, he said.

Said Dr Wai: "Drinking coffee has been shown to reduce risk of dying from cardiovascular disease, neurological diseases, liver diseases and even suicides."

Having done some research on the effects of caffeine -- pure unadulterated chemical, it's very toxic and will cause birth defects.

Serenade -- that's on the assumption the coffee powder used is pure...and that the caffeine is unadulterated by heat and other causes, such as coffee rust back in production. So...

Lethal dose may be half teaspoon of 100% caffeine. Symptoms are immediate, an assassin's tool. No recovery possible.

Yet mitigated doses are positive as illustrated by Dr Lui in Jman's article.

No coffee will get headache, why is that? Receptors in the brain are formed to need caffeine. They complain when they are not engaged in the form of headache and mild withdrawal symptoms.

[:(]  [:(]

Boy, 16, dies after 2.4km run during PE lesson in Ang Mo Kio
Malavika Menon
Aug 01, 2017 04:01 pm

A 16-year-old boy at Chong Boon Secondary School in Ang Mo Kio Street 44 died on Tuesday morning.

It is believed he collapsed after a 2.4km run during physical education lesson.

A Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) spokesman told The New Paper they got a call at 8.15am from the school and sent a fire bike and an ambulance.

He said school staff members were applying cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on the boy when the call was made.

On the way to Tan Tock Seng Hospital, SCDF paramedics continued applying CPR on him.

Hospital staff members were told to be on standby to receive him.

A police spokesman told TNP they got a call from the hospital at 11.44am that a 16-year-old boy had been pronounced dead.

Police are investigating the unnatural death.

When TNP arrived at the school at 2.50pm, a student said he had attended an assembly in the school hall where the principal had told them of the tragedy.

TNP has contacted the school and the Ministry of Education for comment. 

shit...

what happened???

how come kids (and humans) now got so many just die like that???

My son is 12 this year. Already need to worry about PSLE, normal flu, stomachache, LS, fitness, etc. etc. and still got such unexplained tragedy...

RIP, boy...

Hope we do not hear of anymore such tragedies...

I thought sleep is more important and has a greater risk of cardiac arrest?

Ppl try to stay awake by drinking caffine drinks is depriving the heart from getting the much needed rest. Young ppl stay up to chiong electronics games. I mean we have all been there before. Not putting in the hours to sleep will put a lot of stress on the heart. Drinking caffine drinks to stay awake will only make things worse.

Bottom line I think sleep has a greater effect dan what caffine drinks can do to your heart. Young or old.

Last time during NS those siao lang after a couple of days of excercise we hardly got any sleep still make us run 2.4km after that. Lucky nobody die.

I thought sleep is more important and has a greater risk of cardiac arrest?

Ppl try to stay awake by drinking caffine drinks is depriving the heart from getting the much needed rest. Young ppl stay up to chiong electronics games. I mean we have all been there before. Not putting in the hours to sleep will put a lot of stress on the heart. Drinking caffine drinks to stay awake will only make things worse.

Bottom line I think sleep has a greater effect dan what caffine drinks can do to your heart. Young or old.

Last time during NS those siao lang after a couple of days of excercise we hardly got any sleep still make us run 2.4km after that. Lucky nobody die.

yes sleep is important, but young people usually think they are young can burn the other end of the candle as much as they want [sweatdrop]