Sudden death due to cardiac arrest

Ender

This type of news always keep me wondering if what I am doing is right. I exercise or run hard, to the point of exhaustion almost every session.

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/ex-national-swimmer-dies-cardiac-arrest-20150226

Ex-national swimmer dies of cardiac arrest

FORMER national swimmer Irving Ng, 43, was out for his weekly jog on Saturday when he died due to a heart attack.

The physical education teacher at Hai Sing Catholic School was only 1km from home when he collapsed after suffering a sudden heart attack, Chinese daily Lianhe Wanbao reported yesterday. Passers-by tried to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation on him, but he died after being taken to Singapore General Hospital despite efforts to revive him.

His wife, a senior tax manager in her 30s, was red-eyed when speaking to Wanbao, saying that a good husband, father and teacher has been lost.

He was recently nominated for the President's Award For Teachers. The couple would have celebrated their 10th anniversary on July 23, and Mr Ng had planned to take his wife on holiday as a surprise.

Mrs Ng said that her husband took care of everything at home and was a "perfect" husband. She added that his parents had eaten lunch with Mr Ng in the afternoon, and they were shocked to have lost him by night.

The teacher had put their daughter, eight, and son, three, to bed at about 8pm on Saturday, before going for his weekly run. His usual route begins at The Pinnacle@Duxton, goes round Marina Bay Sands and then ends back home, a distance of 9km.

According to her, Mr Ng - who represented Singapore in the SEA Games in 1989 - was very healthy and exercised at least thrice a week, adding that she found his death "too sudden".

However, he had complained about chest pains a few months ago, she said.

"The strange thing is that he later made an online search for the reasons for his chest pains, heart disease and other symptoms," she said.

He had tried to buy a life insurance policy last month, but was asked to go for a medical check-up by the insurance company as he had undergone surgery for appendicitis.

"I've just received a letter from the insurance company and it said as they had not received his medical report, they would not be able to approve his application," she said.

She told the evening daily that she was dazed by the sudden news of his death, but soldiered on, taking her children to her husband's bedside to see him one last time. She said she broke down only when she got home.

According to Mrs Ng, her husband doted on their children, taking them swimming and teaching them Mandarin.

When their daughter saw Mr Ng's body, she asked her mother repeatedly: "Who will cook from now on? Who will take me to school?"

Choking back tears, Mrs Ng said that their son had clamoured for his dad early on Tuesday morning, saying that he "wants dad", and she replied: "I want your dad too."

When asked about her father's death, the girl said that it was "very weird, the days without daddy are very weird".

Mrs Ng said she now has to be both mother and father to her children, so she signed up for driving classes on Tuesday.

Mrs Ng added that her husband had escaped death once in 2007, when a tree trunk fell on a tent he was in. He and two others who were in the tent were unhurt, while one fellow camper, Mr Mohammad Rohaizam Tumadi, died.

The local swimming community has reacted with shock and disbelief over Mr Ng's sudden death. He was part of the relay team at the SEA Games in 1989 which won gold. His teammates were David Lim, Kenneth Yeo and Desmond Koh.

After learning of Mr Ng's death, veteran swimmer Ang Peng Siong wrote on Facebook on Tuesday, "A friend of swimming we have lost! Irving, you will be dearly missed."

[email protected]

This type of news always keep me wondering if what I am doing is right. I exercise or run hard, to the point of exhaustion almost every session.

Ya me too bro, I jog weekly and as I'm not fit, get exhausted after running 4km or so.

Push myself and I could be damned and if I don't push, I'll never get going cos it would then be the easy way out of just walking or go shorter.

Friends always tell me to listen to my body and not exert. I told them my body always tell me to rest and relax :D:D

RIP to Irving, always very sad to hear this and we remember him having brought our nation glory in SEA games.

• Praise 11

Live life to the fullest everyday.

forget all the small petty things which are not worth it when u think back tomorrow.

Move on live fulfilling

Take a minute.

picture this image of your dependents crying at your coffin.

If u have any regrets or heart ache if there are anything u cpuld have done differently.

Do it now.

some time pushing too hard may not be good, some people smoke, eat never exercise can live till 80 years old.

recently i have seen few cases of people who has been working in harsh or stress environment, once they get more rest or take a less stressful job, they had mild stroke.

i was wondering what kind of condition could this be? these people cannot take less stress suddenly and their body must always keep in the tense condition?

Ya me too bro, I jog weekly and as I'm not fit, get exhausted after running 4km or so.

Push myself and I could be damned and if I don't push, I'll never get going cos it would then be the easy way out of just walking or go shorter.

Friends always tell me to listen to my body and not exert. I told them my body always tell me to rest and relax :D:D

RIP to Irving, always very sad to hear this and we remember him having brought our nation glory in SEA games.

Please bro............take it easy...............at our age is about having that movement to keep fit.............not pushing the limit anymore...........We still want to meet up for kopi often hor................I don't want to leave an empty seat there.............. [:p][laugh][laugh]

recently i have seen few cases of people who has been working in harsh or stress environment, once they get more rest or take a less stressful job, they had mild stroke.

i was wondering what kind of condition could this be? these people cannot take less stress suddenly and their body must always keep in the tense condition?

i think is the sudden change which confused the body.......................my grandfather smoke opium all his life and was normal all the while.............everything changed when he stopped suddenly..................and died within a very short period of time........... [:(][:(]

sad if this is true...

with increasing cases of sudden cardiac arrest among the fit and young....I dun think there are any straight answers.

All we can do is to live right, eat in moderation and have sufficient rest. Remember to kiss your loved ones everytime we go our separate ways.

When its time to go, its time to go man.

Please bro............take it easy...............at our age is about having that movement to keep fit.............not pushing the limit anymore...........We still want to meet up for kopi often hor................I don't want to leave an empty seat there.............. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Wha bro, very kam tong, thank you!!

I older than you so easy to put on weight so jog, play tennis but still got belly!!

MCF tennis kakis call me stomach :D so bad hor.....

Sometimes, it is actually in the mind but you are right, can't push too much but little bit must still push.

Don't worry will be around for the kopi sessions, cheers!!!

PS. Still haven't strike Toto yet so must definitely be around haha and HUAT ah!!!!!!!!

sad if this is true...

with increasing cases of sudden cardiac arrest among the fit and young....I dun think there are any straight answers.

All we can do is to live right, eat in moderation and have sufficient rest. Remember to kiss your loved ones everytime we go our separate ways.

When its time to go, its time to go man.

cannot lah................every time i start to kiss............the cloths start to drop........... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Wha bro, very kam tong, thank you!!

I older than you so easy to put on weight so jog, play tennis but still got belly!!

MCF tennis kakis call me stomach :D so bad hor.....

Sometimes, it is actually in the mind but you are right, can't push too much but little bit must still push.

Don't worry will be around for the kopi sessions, cheers!!!

PS. Still haven't strike Toto yet so must definitely be around haha and HUAT ah!!!!!!!!

Actually i find tennis quite demanding..................I played before when I was younger..............and mind you I was a guardsman............and I couldn't keep up.............. [:p]

You got go see the gym thread or not.................looks like can try leh......... [laugh][laugh]

do everything in moderation.

Sufficient sleep during proper sleeping hours is also very important, but often overlooked by the young and our society.

Edited by Kangadrool

Actually this guy quite kor lian.

In life, his wife tekan him to do all the housework - "took care of everything at home"

In death, his daughter doesn't even miss him - "days without daddy are very weird". Mind you, she is already 8 years old - she only cries about how no one will cook for her and bring her to you?

Sometimes a car can be like our body also. Imagine when you just got your new car and you lut & lut the engine like no tomorrow. After driving for 3 or 4 years the engine start to give problem like stalling and engine failure.

Same for the human heart. Imagine you are an athlete and when young you give your 100% and piah all the way. So when you reach like 30-40yo that's when all the problem comes.

Exercise no need so hard, once u tired, stop and take a rest, dont push ur limit, I sometimes exercise suddenly feel cmi, then I know I should take a rest or put it to a stop

Actually i find tennis quite demanding..................I played before when I was younger..............and mind you I was a guardsman............and I couldn't keep up.............. [:p]

You got go see the gym thread or not.................looks like can try leh......... [laugh][laugh]

Then u shud join MCF tennis! We dont run but walk!