Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

Roughly how much for a decent lifestyle excluding overseas travel?

3,000RM per couple?

5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

3,000RM per couple?

5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

rent a small apartment

buy a beat up daihasu truck and hopes it doesnt breaks down

3000rm should be enough

14736440338_58ce306543_m.jpg

worker in msia below manager level can't even meet that salary range ...

if you live further up from jb ... like batu pahat, muar, etc ... $5k not just decent ... it's sibei shiok liao ...

don't take jb price as the benchmark because jb price is "speculated" by sporeans

3,000RM per couple?
5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

Most people (99% of the time), tend to play down the costs of health care.

Later in life.....I will worry a hell lot more on medical costs more than anything else.

Thats why one choose to work beyond retirement, so that this highly unpredictable cost is covered by the company insurance policy....at least part of it if not 100%.

3,000RM per couple?
5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

3,000RM per couple?

5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

It depends what kinda quality of life u after.

One thing for sure, it would be way cheaper than living in the most expensive city in the world!

Most people (99% of the time), tend to play down the costs of health care.

Later in life.....I will worry a hell lot more on medical costs more than anything else.

Thats why one choose to work beyond retirement, so that this highly unpredictable cost is covered by the company insurance policy....at least part of it if not 100%.

It depends on how you take care of your body. The healthier you are, the longer it drags. [sweatdrop]

3,000RM per couple?

5,000RM per couple?

For views, thanks.

you need about rm$8k

$3k for you and your wife

$5k for robbers and police...

• Praise 10

Thats why ins co loves unmarried singles.

These ppl tend to buy huge preniums and stay healthy hell a lot longer.

By the time they claim....the Ins co would have earn many folds over.....and worst still goes to the govt bcos nobody to pass on to. More delays on claim payment..... can make even more money.......lol.

It depends on how you take care of your body. The healthier you are, the longer it drags. [sweatdrop]

actually, i look at retirement differently where i want to retire in spore

lets say i can retire in jb living in a 5000sqft semi-D

but at what age do you retire? 60-65-70?

at that age i dont want to live in a gigantic 5000sqft semi-D ..

at that age i want to live in a 1000sqft pigeon hole with good facilities and infrastructure

one call ... ambulance can arrive or i can go to see doctor easily

so ... what is the purpose to retire in msia? to live in great bungalow or live decent?

somemore 2 old folks living in jb in a landed property ... sounds "no no"

unless you are in good health, your body is in good shape and you still can drive around and run errand

For a couple to retire in My with rm8,800 per month including rent but excluding purchase of vehicle, enough?

If budget increased to rm15k, what can I expect including rent and vehicle? No intention to buy property coz plan to come back Sg when old and not mobile, meaning cannot drive anymore.

malaysia or thailand is not a bad place for retirements . . .

austrailia is no no! you will never know till you have lived there; its full of 'hidden' racism in that land down under !

canada, usa etc.... the weather & distant will be to harsh for the local old folks here.

what i see most importantly (as someone had briefly mentioned) on the followings:

- sound infrastructure build and availability; this includes utilities like water, electricity etc.

- well covered medical & healthcare packages; cheap & good

- security & safe

- accomodative environment; food, healthcare services, environment, weather, transport etc.

- stable banking rates; this is critical for proper usages of your retirement funds

- minimal standard living standards

- domestic assistance

thailand has better scores on the abovementioned compared with malaysia!

but of coz, sillyporeans will feel much more at home in bolehland than thailand.

regardless of both countries, it will be suicidal to buy a house there nowadays.

wondering if the retiring villages in these 2 countries are as 'friendly' as those already built in japan for years?

Edited by A_korusawa

i would choose taiwan for whatever reason but earthquake and typhoon scare me .....

actually, i look at retirement differently where i want to retire in spore

lets say i can retire in jb living in a 5000sqft semi-D

but at what age do you retire? 60-65-70?

at that age i dont want to live in a gigantic 5000sqft semi-D ..

at that age i want to live in a 1000sqft pigeon hole with good facilities and infrastructure

one call ... ambulance can arrive or i can go to see doctor easily

so ... what is the purpose to retire in msia? to live in great bungalow or live decent?

somemore 2 old folks living in jb in a landed property ... sounds "no no"

unless you are in good health, your body is in good shape and you still can drive around and run errand

exactly, people tend to forget when they retire, all they need could be just 800 sq ft to move around [laugh][laugh]

wait until you stay in TYO. Everyday shake shake shake.... [bigcry]

i would choose taiwan for whatever reason but earthquake and typhoon scare me .....

shoudnt retire

we should continue to work

go orpit, look for old buddies go lim kopi, jiak breakfast, gor tiam thng choo

shoudnt retire

we should continue to work

go orpit, look for old buddies go lim kopi, jiak breakfast, gor tiam thng choo

yes this should be the way ^_^^_^