Donate your unopened CNY goodies

Qpik

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/dont-throw-away-cny-goodies-donate-them-20150305

Hi Folks, today is Chap Goh Mei, last day of CNY. As usual, most of us would have alot of goodies leftover. Wondering what to do with it?

Fret not, this year, you don't have to throw those unopened ones away. Neither do you have to force yourself to pack it for your tea time snack. Check out link and donate for a good cause.

• Praise 12

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/dont-throw-away-cny-goodies-donate-them-20150305

Hi Folks, today is Chap Goh Mei, last day of CNY. As usual, most of us would have alot of goodies leftover. Wondering what to do with it?

Fret not, this year, you don't have to throw those unopened ones away. Neither do you have to force yourself to pack it for your tea time snack. Check out link and donate for a good cause.

Great initiative!

I support!!

But all mine are opened already, and most are inside my tummy as fat cells.... Still, hopefully more support..

Great initiative!

I support!!

But all mine are opened already, and most are inside my tummy as fat cells.... Still, hopefully more support..

mine already in the sewage liow...........forced myself to eat it before it goes lao hong.....

My metabolism not that high, so most of it is still stored in my fat a**... Haha... Though, my family tries not to have wastage by not buying too much at one shot. Is buy before CNY, eat eat, see how, like almost finish, then buy more..

lol....I already fat enough hope no more space for additional fats... :D

Always got more room for fats one..

Last time I thought 80KG I couldn't grow any more: Wrong.

Then I thought I hit 90KG and would stop: Wrong.

Then I hit 100KG and thought it wouldn't stop: Wrong also, haha...

Actually, I don't know what's my point... Just that I'm wrong a lot about my body... Maybe..

Always got more room for fats one..

Last time I thought 80KG I couldn't grow any more: Wrong.

Then I thought I hit 90KG and would stop: Wrong.

Then I hit 100KG and thought it wouldn't stop: Wrong also, haha...

Actually, I don't know what's my point... Just that I'm wrong a lot about my body... Maybe..

????? I am at 99 now...........now starting to diet...dun wanna hit the 0-100 mark~~~~~

lol

????? I am at 99 now...........now starting to diet...dun wanna hit the 0-100 mark~~~~~

lol

The motivation totally gone at 100KG+ mark for me.. It felt like "aiyah, 100 liao, even 105, what's the diff? Or 110, small diff only, already 3 digits lah..." type lor..

Jiayou with your diet! I'm trying to lose weight too, diet+jogs / some basic static exercises... You can join the Exercise and Lose Weight thread, a lot of bros encouraging each other to lose weight / keeping up with each other.. Quite good.. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2658554-exercising-and-losing-weight/page-13

The motivation totally gone at 100KG+ mark for me.. It felt like "aiyah, 100 liao, even 105, what's the diff? Or 110, small diff only, already 3 digits lah..." type lor..

Jiayou with your diet! I'm trying to lose weight too, diet+jogs / some basic static exercises... You can join the Exercise and Lose Weight thread, a lot of bros encouraging each other to lose weight / keeping up with each other.. Quite good.. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2658554-exercising-and-losing-weight/page-13

Hahahaha bro...dun lose heart....I also sianz 1/2, but no choice as weight gone up I get sick easier.....

try to tone down loh....jaiyou too.

Hahahaha bro...dun lose heart....I also sianz 1/2, but no choice as weight gone up I get sick easier.....

try to tone down loh....jaiyou too.

A little sad when I drop weight liao, then go up again.. But trying to force myself to diet and exercise.. Thanks and Jiayou for your own too... I better don't post too much here coz I already OT a lot, haha, sorry mods! =D Have a good weekend...

Wah. What weight did you guys "start" at?

I started at 65 before NS. ORD at 70.

Went up to 82-83 in the last ten plus years and now down to 79-80.

Want to go back to 70!!! [bigcry][bigcry] [bigcry]

I rather not give such things away,

These pastries all have a shelf life. They were all manufactured months before the Lunar New year. And these things were not exactly vaccum sealed shut (scotch tape around a lid doesn't really count) so that's why they "lao hong" and go bad.

I'd rather eat them myself or discard away. Rather than give it to someone who may only eat in few weeks time then get food poisoning

Mr Dennis Tong, operations manager of Bright Hill Evergreen Home, said: "The festive snacks can be used during tea breaks for our elderly residents or used as prizes during activities and games that we organise."
Most of the snacks have already been distributed to the 137 help groups that the charity partners. The help groups include children's homes and family service centres.
And if there are unwanted festive goodies, Ms Ng said, these could go to animal farms, where the food can be converted into ingredients used for animal feed.

i really duno these food is actually good for the old folk or the animal, i have eaten less than 10 pieces of these stuff in this year CNY, and i get quite uncomfortable after eating them last few years.
the shelve life of these product are usually quite short, how to tahan for so long especially they were made and start selling as early as 1 months before CNY.

I very kiasee about all this.

Anything that's even remotely close to leftover, i eat myself. I don't allow my wife or my child to eat.

If i think any sign of going bad, i will throw away.

All these bak kwa, pineapple tarts and CNY pastries are the most unhealthy food in the world. I don't think it is a good idea to donate such items to the old folks - will probably make them sick, die earlier and give them diabetes. If want to donate, donate money or things that are useful and good for them, not some unwanted CNY pastries.

Eat 1pc or 2pcs is ok (with control). How many more cny goodies will they hv chance to eat in the nursing home? This maybe their last cny goodies...