Subaru Legacy 2015

antelop

my JDM BP5 has no LSD and no Mcintosh (using Subaru HU) but its omv is still abt $8k higher than MI units [lipsrsealed]

Because you got aluminium suspension components. Those not cheap hor!

compared to camry 2.5, still managed to be 0.1s faster despite AWD. lol. also beats teana and accord.

by subaru high performance standard of course can't make it.

Yeah, don't understand why the Jap full sized (mid in US standard) family sedan are getting slower with each new model while the conti brands are all sub-8 seconds now.

turbocharged !

conti even pushing 1L TC now as family small car and mini SUV

bringing cost down and making handsome profit

Yeah, don't understand why the Jap full sized (mid in US standard) family sedan are getting slower with each new model while the conti brands are all sub-8 seconds now.

My journey with Subaru has been the utmost disappoinment and at times, especially now, like a joke.

The car was bought in late Nov '06, but has been stalling at the simplest tasks, such as up a slope and reversing to park. Just after 2.5 years of having the flagship car, I made several complains about the car stalling over the years. Engine diagnostic was carried out, etc but the problem could not be identified. The problem was passed off as 'dirty shaft' and even was told once that 'this model has this problem' (imagine my horror when I heard this!!).

Nonetheless, I persisted with the car though it continued to stall (latest was in March '15 while reversing out of my carpark). This problem was highlighted in my last service but was never attended to; Which leads on to the bad service that I experienced.

I booked the car servicing online and sent it in on a Saturday, but was informed that it was going to be a full servicing so it cannot be completed in half a day and it was better carried out on a weekday. I re-booked the servicing few days after CNY, a weekday and sent it in at 9. However and disappointingly, I was told that there was a shortage of manpower and if I proceeded with the servicing, I would only get it the very next day (of which I could not as I needed the car).
Once again, I booked a servicing slot, sent it in early at 8am, got the car serviced (though I did mentioned about the stalling problem, it was not attended to). However, that was not the end. I was informed few days later, that they have left out a bill and asked me if I could go down to pay (I'm leaving one detail here cause it is another thing all together). Imagine, going down to Subaru 4 times just for one servicing!

Skipping more details, I finally managed to have Subaru's Customer Service Executive contacting me and for once, willing to find out what really went wrong.
I do appreciate Stella's effort to try resolve the problems and carry out damage control, but honestly, it is a tad late. It has been 6-7 years and Subaru has not seriously attempted to solve the stalling problem. Only after such horrendous experience and public outreach, did they try to do damage control.

My journey with Subaru has been the utmost disappoinment and at times, especially now, like a joke.

The car was bought in late Nov '06, but has been stalling at the simplest tasks, such as up a slope and reversing to park. Just after 2.5 years of having the flagship car, I made several complains about the car stalling over the years. Engine diagnostic was carried out, etc but the problem could not be identified. The problem was passed off as 'dirty shaft' and even was told once that 'this model has this problem' (imagine my horror when I heard this!!).

Nonetheless, I persisted with the car though it continued to stall (latest was in March '15 while reversing out of my carpark). This problem was highlighted in my last service but was never attended to; Which leads on to the bad service that I experienced.

I booked the car servicing online and sent it in on a Saturday, but was informed that it was going to be a full servicing so it cannot be completed in half a day and it was better carried out on a weekday. I re-booked the servicing few days after CNY, a weekday and sent it in at 9. However and disappointingly, I was told that there was a shortage of manpower and if I proceeded with the servicing, I would only get it the very next day (of which I could not as I needed the car).

Once again, I booked a servicing slot, sent it in early at 8am, got the car serviced (though I did mentioned about the stalling problem, it was not attended to). However, that was not the end. I was informed few days later, that they have left out a bill and asked me if I could go down to pay (I'm leaving one detail here cause it is another thing all together). Imagine, going down to Subaru 4 times just for one servicing!

Skipping more details, I finally managed to have Subaru's Customer Service Executive contacting me and for once, willing to find out what really went wrong.

I do appreciate Stella's effort to try resolve the problems and carry out damage control, but honestly, it is a tad late. It has been 6-7 years and Subaru has not seriously attempted to solve the stalling problem. Only after such horrendous experience and public outreach, did they try to do damage control.

Well many Subaru owners go to outside specialist subaru workshops and never go back to MonkeyIdiots for a reason.

In my 10 years of ownership, I serviced at MI twice. Once as it was free, and the other time to change power steering and timing belt at same time. Power steering was done at MI because my car was towed there and the tow was after office hours. Regular workshop no one to receive if tow there. After the repairs, my Legacy was returned with missing bolts that lock the engine cover. I never go MI when I can avoid it. Lim-Tan as my preferred Subaru workshop as they are much more familiar with boxer engine problems

so did they manage to find out the reason for the engine stalling?

and yeah, I hv owned two Subarus in SG for close to 9 years but never did any servicing in the AD.

no choice Subaru major market is U.S,

there buyers don't like snail, Singapore too small :D:D

U sure U.S people dun like snail?

I dare say USA is the most performance orientated country in the world.

Cheap gas... cheap cars... cheap fun.... :D[laugh]

In my 10 years of ownership, I serviced at MI twice. Once as it was free, and the other time to change power steering and timing belt at same time. Power steering was done at MI because my car was towed there and the tow was after office hours. Regular workshop no one to receive if tow there. After the repairs, my Legacy was returned with missing bolts that lock the engine cover. I never go MI when I can avoid it. Lim-Tan as my preferred Subaru workshop as they are much more familiar with boxer engine problems

I did just one free service at MI then, because warranty back on '06 models was so utterly useless, I headed to AMK for further work.

One STiV5 and two Legacy (RSK & GTW), not a single issue to complain about through the years except for my dash in the last LGW that was basically falling apart by the end. Servicing at AMK was far quicker, cheaper and more professional than MI and I believe it would be the same for most specialist workshop.

I almost pity new Subaru buyers, with 5yrs servicing provided my MI. It would be tied to warranty so locks is mediocrity?

not a single issue to complain about through the years except for my dash in the last LGW that was basically falling apart by the end.

I almost pity new Subaru buyers, with 5yrs servicing provided my MI. It would be tied to warranty so locks is mediocrity?

Walao, the dashboard on the BL/BP. So angry with it.

It is made of the weakest dashboard material I have ever seen.

Feels quite premium when new (when I first saw the BL/BP in 03 it felt like the best interior Subaru had made till then) then no matter how you baby it, it cracks and spiderwebs.

Strangely, I noticed the US Legacy forums don't complain about the dash cracks. Wonder if the made in Lafayette USDM Legacies use/ have a different supplier for the dash.

so did they manage to find out the reason for the engine stalling?

and yeah, I hv owned two Subarus in SG for close to 9 years but never did any servicing in the AD.

Nope, Motor Image was unable to diagnose the problem since when my car was 2.5 years old. Made many complains over the years but they did little. Either passed it off as dirty shaft or worst I heard is that this model has been known to have this problem.

Only when I made a fuss on their Facebook, they offered to finally put in effort to solve the problem. But found it ridiculous and felt like I've been taken for a ride as they failed to solve the problems over the past 6 years and now they are 'serious' but solving the problem when I have only 1.5 years left...

Nope, Motor Image was unable to diagnose the problem since when my car was 2.5 years old. Made many complains over the years but they did little. Either passed it off as dirty shaft or worst I heard is that this model has been known to have this problem.

Only when I made a fuss on their Facebook, they offered to finally put in effort to solve the problem. But found it ridiculous and felt like I've been taken for a ride as they failed to solve the problems over the past 6 years and now they are 'serious' but solving the problem when I have only 1.5 years left...

Hi, which model Subaru are you driving? You mentioned flagship car. legacy or Tribeca?

[sweatdrop]

I've been driving a gen 4 LGTW for almost 2yrs. Never heard of this "stalling" issue before on the forums or other L owners.

which shaft did they claim is the "dirty shaft"? I only know of two "shafts" - cam shaft n drive shaft.

when my LGTW feels like it's going to stall (rpm drops to 500 or so), it's only when slowing to a stop (such as for red light). It's due to dirty throttle body, which is due to the high flow-rate open pod installed by the previous owner. Easily rectified by cleaning the TB. Since the 1st occurrence, I have figured out that cleaning the TB every 20k will prevent this.

so u still hv the Legacy? I can't imagine u tolerating this for 8.5yrs [sweatdrop]

Perhaps you can consider bringing it to a Subaru specialist workshop to diagnose/fix the issue. Then send the bill to MI [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

[sweatdrop]

I've been driving a gen 4 LGTW for almost 2yrs. Never heard of this "stalling" issue before on the forums or other L owners.

which shaft did they claim is the "dirty shaft"? I only know of two "shafts" - cam shaft n drive shaft.

when my LGTW feels like it's going to stall (rpm drops to 500 or so), it's only when slowing to a stop (such as for red light). It's due to dirty throttle body, which is due to the high flow-rate open pod installed by the previous owner. Easily rectified by cleaning the TB. Since the 1st occurrence, I have figured out that cleaning the TB every 20k will prevent this.

so u still hv the Legacy? I can't imagine u tolerating this for 8.5yrs [sweatdrop]

Perhaps you can consider bringing it to a Subaru specialist workshop to diagnose/fix the issue. Then send the bill to MI [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

Hi John,

I have no idea which shaft or throttle it is. But yep, it can be bad, like going up Takashima's carpark, simple task like reversing into my house. Anyway, no more Subaru for me (coupled with the bad experience with MotorImage).

Looking at other cars now. Any recommendation?