[Advise] Hit and Run - Parking Mode

Extremme

Hi guys, need some advise.

I parked my vehicle at an open carpark and left. Upon coming back I noticed a dent on my front bumper. Luckily my car has a car cam and it captured clearly the vehicle that did it. Apparently the accident happened when the driver beside me was trying to drive out but I think because there was some illegal parking infront, the driver tried to steer nearer to my car in order to drive out and somehow too close and knock on my bumper.

So what I have done was right after the accident:

- lodged a Police Report

- went to my insurance authorised workshop to lodge a report to claim against 3rd party

This happened like 3 weeks ago. I then checked with the other party's insurance coy and apparently they have already issued a notice to the driver but the driver did not respond. I Was told the insurance will send 3 reminders to that driver over a span of 3 months and if the driver still did not respond, it will be referred to the TP and they said they MIGHT not honour any claims.

My question is then what should I do. Who is going to compensate my damages? I assume if this goes to TP, the law will take care of the driver but then how about my repairs? My car is still moving around with the dent right now.

Thks.

Ask your insurance company what happens next. Different insurers have different policy on own damage ckaims

Last time, I claimed my own damage, paid the excess and NCD gone.

It took about 3 to 4 months for my insurance to settle the 3rd party claims, they reimbursed the excess and restore NCD..

good to ask your insurance first.

Bumpers are made from deformable plastic, hence they are dented easily by design.

They are easily knocked back after heating. Repairig your bumper after a low speed dent won't cost you much. The workshop will heat, push back out the dent and then paint.

Pursuing insurance won't be worth your time and effort

funny... why are we always at disadvantage even when it is clearly others fault? in this case, there is already clear video evidence. just like getting hit by foreign vehicle. it seems like car insurance is just for show or for insurance companies to earn money only. this cannot that cannot. just want easy way out, not really serving the real purpose. read liao also sian.

Ouch sorry for you man,

I am suprise your insurance are so boh chup, would be interesting to know which coy this is. I would be surprised if AXA or the bigger players don't honor this kinda thing. For now I think all you can do is just bite the bullet, ask your insurance coy if you pay yourself first can you claim the driver later if he admits? Its sucks to have a new car with a dent.

Hi guys, need some advise.

I parked my vehicle at an open carpark and left. Upon coming back I noticed a dent on my front bumper. Luckily my car has a car cam and it captured clearly the vehicle that did it. Apparently the accident happened when the driver beside me was trying to drive out but I think because there was some illegal parking infront, the driver tried to steer nearer to my car in order to drive out and somehow too close and knock on my bumper.

So what I have done was right after the accident:

- lodged a Police Report

- went to my insurance authorised workshop to lodge a report to claim against 3rd party

This happened like 3 weeks ago. I then checked with the other party's insurance coy and apparently they have already issued a notice to the driver but the driver did not respond. I Was told the insurance will send 3 reminders to that driver over a span of 3 months and if the driver still did not respond, it will be referred to the TP and they said they MIGHT not honour any claims.

My question is then what should I do. Who is going to compensate my damages? I assume if this goes to TP, the law will take care of the driver but then how about my repairs? My car is still moving around with the dent right now.

Thks.

what frustrate me is not the chicken owner that does not own up, its the failure of enforcement.

with evidence that is clear cut, why are we not protected??

do we need to be an elite in order to enjoy better protection??

Haiz........speechless

Make a TP. report with police report.just bear it unless you take dent photo n keep it for reference n wait for answer.

I ve done it for 3 successful claims under hit n run if u r patience.

Bro, you got to understand his insurance is for HIS protection. Yours is for YOUR protection. There's nothing stopping you from claiming your loss from your insurance. Only problem is, given the damage your lossess (excess, NCD) will outweigh any gains.

You want to claim from him? Nothing stopping you from doing so. You surely have his particulars by now. You can send him a demand letter, either by yourself or through lawyer. If still no response then start legal action. Only problem is, worth the cost (incl aggro) or not? May well be cheaper to swallow indignation and fix it yourself. I believe that's what everyone trying to tell you...

Btw what's the quote for repairs?

This type of incident, considered as hit n run right ? If so, then police should act. If not, what is the use of having this hit n run law ?

Yes, Hit n Run without stopping is an serious offence even on a slightest scratch or dent depends on the victim action.

Get his address and embarrass his whole neighbourhood

now got harassment law liao leh ...

Last month one driver's daughter opened her door big big and cause dent/paint chip on my rear passenger door. I wasn't around but wife and kids were in the car. Driver just "motioned" sorry and left. I came back and TA MA DE !!! paint chip was 15mm x 5mm.

I thanked him [sly]