Setup a workshop in Singapore?

MQX87511

Hello Everybody,

As the topic, To setup a workshop of business on car service and repairing, kindly advise

1. Roughly How Much?

2. To Takeover existing workshop ownership, where have Advertising?

Thanks a lot [:)]

Edited by MQX87511

There's no free lunch in this world. Gotta do your own calculation. You may wanna start with autosavers as they are a franchise chain.

Hello Everybody,

As the topic, To setup a workshop of business on car service and repairing, kindly advise

1. Roughly How Much?

2. To Takeover existing workshop ownership, where have Advertising?

Thanks a lot [:)]

Question is, do you know the fundamentals of car repairs and servicing?

The workshops I go to, the boss' hands are always black, even if there are 5 workers under him.

Can hire supervisor while you sit in office shake leg, but must be prepared to do anti-attrition every once in a while so he doesn't get poached over or he don't open his own workshop and bring all your workers with him.

Takeover can vary, I know one place asking for S$150K, but now should be more due to increased revenue.

Nowadays bosses where got hands on one? I think some of them cannot even do a proper oil change

There's no free lunch in this world. Gotta do your own calculation. You may wanna start with autosavers as they are a franchise chain.

Autosaver? Prepare to share profits

Nowadays bosses where got hands on one? I think some of them cannot even do a proper oil change

Very suitable for people who are lazy to do their own calculations and research. Franchise is a short cut to learn the cost and operations.

Franchise is for those want fast, "sure work" system, protocol, follow strictly instructions and got money no time to think ppl. hahaha..

I got a boss who owned a car workshop, the most headache is to find good workers and retain them. Secondly the rental is forever rising.

Need to keep the cost low and customers keep coming.

Franchise is for those want fast, "sure work" system, protocol, follow strictly instructions and got money no time to think ppl. hahaha..

I got a boss who owned a car workshop, the most headache is to find good workers and retain them. Secondly the rental is forever rising.

Need to keep the cost low and customers keep coming.

I have proper channel to get good technicians from China,

seems like an oxymoron

As in recruitment agency? The problem now is to meet MOM foreign worker quota.

China workers aren't stupid. If they do not get paid at least $2K not adding overtime pay to come all the way here. They wont waste time at your workshop.

Nowadays, technician must be tech savvy. Otherwise, don't know how to read fault code.

I would not get China technicians. Their working ethos is not in line with ours.

Nowadays, technician must be tech savvy. Otherwise, don't know how to read fault code.

I would not get China technicians. Their working ethos is not in line with ours.

boh bian lah, Malaysia technicians too expensive, and unstable :TT_TT:

Do some reading lah. http://www.stjobs.sg/career-resources/hr-updates/car-workshops-hit-by-labour-crunch/a/208628

Car workshops hit by labour crunch

Owning a car is regarded as glamorous in Singapore - but not working as a mechanic in a car workshop, it seems.

By: The Straits Times, Ong Kai Xuan | 28 Apr 2015
208628__1430185336.png

Owning a car is regarded as glamorous in Singapore - but not working as a mechanic in a car workshop, it seems.

The local industry is now making effort to fix this image problem amid a serious shortage of skilled labour at car workshops.

Working as a mechanic can offer decent career advancement and higher-paying jobs down the track, workshop owners say.

The Straits Times spoke to many car workshops here - and the general consensus is that it is hard to hire locals as technicians.

Automotive workshop BCC group director Francis Lim said: "Jobs in automotive workshops are viewed as unglamorous - dirty, tough and lowly paid. Even ITE graduates who studied automotive technology don't want to join the industry."

Mr Edmund Lim, managing director of Lim Tan Motor, agreed. His staff size has shrunk from more than 50 to about 40, and he has nine job listings on the Jobs Bank website.

Mr Francis Lim, who is also the president of the Singapore Motor Workshop Association (SMWA), said ITE graduates often do not realise that car workshops provide good career progression.

Many start as a rookie mechanic with a mentor, become a senior mechanic and eventually a manager, drawing up to $5,000 a month.

The Straits Times spoke to Mr Joe Tan, a regional manager at Robert Bosch, a multinational engineering and electronics firm that also makes automotive components. He graduated from the ITE automotive technology course and went straight into the industry, starting as a mechanic.

He said: "I'm the only one in my circle of friends from ITE who is actually working in the industry now. Most of my classmates went on to other industries and they don't realise that you can have good career progression in the automotive industry. Some of them regret not joining the industry."

The labour crunch is taking a toll on some workshops. Mr Phua Cheng Long, manager of automotive firm Tuffi Group, said it was wary of accepting projects as it might not have enough staff.

"Some customers of our competitors have come to us instead because our competitors did not have sufficient manpower, but we're not sure if we can do the job either," he said.

Workshops have to hire foreign workers, with the bulk coming from Malaysia, along with nations such as China or the Philippines.

But the hiring of foreign workers has its pitfalls as well - foreign worker levies increase costs and some workers are not reliable.

"A lot of foreigners just take up the job for a year and leave. They only do it to get approval as a permanent resident or to move on to other jobs," said Mr Edmund Lim.

The problem is worse for workshops that prepare new cars for sale. Volatility in the number of Certificates of Entitlement issued affect their business, and, thus, the level of staff they need. When the number of COEs fall, these workshops cut costs by shrinking staff size. But the workers often do not return when more hands are needed.

Mr Mohammad Ansari was an upholstery technician supervisor in Tuffi Group, but he left in 2008 when COE numbers began falling.

Within a few months, he found a job as a driving instructor. He said: "The car industry is too volatile and insecure. I can earn twice the amount now in a more comfortable job that is less stressful."

SMWA is working to solve this. It has set up an accreditation system with ITE for technicians without paper qualifications but with more than five years' experience.

The Skills Evaluation Test (SET) involves two night lessons a week for four months and costs $2,500 a person for SMWA members and $2,800 for others.

This gives technicians a certificate recognising their skills - lower foreign worker levies will be imposed on them as they will fall under the skilled-workers category.

SMWA has also partnered ITE to provide students with internship opportunities. It is also looking to take part in the school's career fairs to tell the students about possible career progression and lift the sector's image.

This strategy is already bearing some fruit. Mr Sherwin Beh, an automotive technology student in ITE, has gone for an internship.

Mr Francis Lim said: "This is not something that can be overcome overnight. There are more than 2,000 car workshops, and this labour crunch will probably push smaller players out and consolidate the industry."

boh bian lah, Malaysia technicians too expensive, and unstable :TT_TT:

Malaysian mechanics are super slack.I recommend China ones.

If you see workshops at Sin Min there(multi storey) they are tiny and not comfortable to work in.

New multi-level factories costs $3-4+ k per month rental at least.Buying 600-900k.

I recommend use own website for advertising.

Good luck.

Edited by Gitanic

Ubi, Yishun and Woodlands got many new B2 buildings can house many many car workshops. I think this biz really competitive. Need to have good technician and reputation to retain customers.

On the other hand, now COE so ex so biz is better for them cos more older cars on the road need their service. New car less breakdown and less wear & tear, first 3 years usually will go back to AD workshop to get warranty.

Do some reading lah. http://www.stjobs.sg/career-resources/hr-updates/car-workshops-hit-by-labour-crunch/a/208628

Car workshops hit by labour crunch

By: The Straits Times, Ong Kai Xuan | 28 Apr 2015
208628__1430185336.png

thanks for you r information, indeed its tough in this industry

Ubi, Yishun and Woodlands got many new B2 buildings can house many many car workshops. I think this biz really competitive. Need to have good technician and reputation to retain customers.

On the other hand, now COE so ex so biz is better for them cos more older cars on the road need their service. New car less breakdown and less wear & tear, first 3 years usually will go back to AD workshop to get warranty.

to be honest, nowadays all bizs is competitive, there is not easy money to earn in market

That's why I say the ones I go to mah... never say all...

the ones I go, the bosses always help me do servicing and repairs... and when I'm there I see them hands on do brake pads replacement or all the sweaty stuff...

I dunno why you wanna go into this line now.

With increasing COE quota and more new rides on the road in the next 3 years, business for workshops will start to dry up and many will be out of business.

Itz a cycle.

Of course, I may be wrong and you are onto something with good lobang....................... eg. AD pass business to you etc.

harlow, your assumption incorrect leh

coe low ... car workshop no biz because first 3-years under warranty, after 3-years change car liao

coe high ... car workshop boom like mushroom because many keep their car pass warranty

many servicing and repair work for outside workshop

now with many turbo car ... many go for tuning, change this change that and turbo require higher maintenance

biz should be jin ho jiak and laughing to the bank

but finding workers is a big challenge

I dunno why you wanna go into this line now.

With increasing COE quota and more new rides on the road in the next 3 years, business for workshops will start to dry up and many will be out of business.

Itz a cycle.

Of course, I may be wrong and you are onto something with good lobang....................... eg. AD pass business to you etc.