Kra canal affect Singapore Port

Fcw75

We are talking about the how the canal will impact the GDP of Singapore right?

If we are talking about shipping lines benefiting, beside reducing of fuel cost, ships can carry more.

Drives freight cost lower for direct & indirect competition.

Say fast forward 10 years from now.

Why would anyone use singapore as a hub when there is cheaper alternative with a much lowered cost.

When no one using Singapore as hub, the ships will reduce the frequencies which drive price up.

And a Singapore base company cannot survive with a low margin of say Usd 10 while in other places they can.

We will lost out in pricing competition as well.

Ask someone to quote air tickets Sin/JKT/Sin and JKT/Sin/JKT and you will know why.

Good explanation bro.

Are you in the freight forwarding industry?

I believe you are referring to Beijing-based AIIB ?

It is without doubt who will be funding the Kra project considering the entire project, like the High Speed Rail from Kunming to Singapore, are all driven by Chinese state enterprises and $ .

Interestingly, the Bank's founding members (including Singapore and Thailand) are now holding a meeting this week hosted by our Ministry of Finance.

http://www.cnbc.com/id/102689065

SINGAPORE, May 19 (Reuters) - Founding members of the China-backed Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) will hold a three-day meeting in Singapore this week to discuss operational policies for the establishment of the institution.

The gathering, called the 5th chief negotiators' meeting, will also discuss the draft articles of agreement for the AIIB in Singapore from Wednesday to Friday, a Singapore Ministry of Finance statement said on Tuesday.

AIIB is the brain child of Singapore ... -_-

It was quickly supported by China and many ASEAN countries. Opening of AIIB had pissed off many like IMF, ADB and some European banks cos Asian would not borrow from this banks ... :meaw:

The port business contribute 6.5% of Singapore GDP annually. It hurts but I don't think that it will bring the whole economy down...

You are looking at things too simplistic.

This will have a serious domino effect on Singapore.

As many have said, a lot of other sectors depend on our port business.

Unemployment is not counted under GDP, please correct me if I am wrong.

AIIB is the brain child of Singapore ... -_-

It was quickly supported by China and many ASEAN countries. Opening of AIIB had pissed off many like IMF, ADB and some European banks cos Asian would not borrow from this banks ... :meaw:

Actually AIIB is the alternate offspring from IMF, ADB and the World Bank. [:p]

So why wanna setup competiting financial inst leh?

Becoz China got fedup with the 3 existing banks for dragging their feet and not giving Beijing a greater say within their management.

So after so many years of demanding for reforms and more vote rights to developing countries, China finally gave up and off it goes setting up not just AIIB, but also BRICS New Development Bank, which is now based in Shanghai.

Sorry if I fail to make a long boring story short and interesting.

yup this 1, latest report i read, alot of country have already sign up, including sg.

only prominent country that refuse is JAPAN .

look at the way china is expanding , sooner or later they gonna form a strategic partnership like nato.

Don't know what Japan is thinking.

Other US-friendly nations like UK, France, Germany and Australia all decided to join AIIB when they realise where the money is now and in the future.

US has its own reason not to join - it wants to protect its USD and its position as international currency. That itself is already a short-sighted since for anyone to prosper in a open-trade globalise economy, the last thing you do is the shut your doors to up and coming opportunities.

As you can see, you don't have to be part of an alliance, like NATO, to prosper and benefit from world trade.

In any case, China has all along reject the concept of "Alliance", prefering to having "Partnership" based on bilateral relations to each country.

certain industries need security to operate, and Singapore is poise to that advantage of that.

can the Thai and China govt provide that assurance, only time will tell whether it will be as successful as the Suez or Panama Canals.

dont think anyone wanna play china

nobody more hiong than china

We are talking about the how the canal will impact the GDP of Singapore right?

If we are talking about shipping lines benefiting, beside reducing of fuel cost, ships can carry more.

Drives freight cost lower for direct & indirect competition.

Say fast forward 10 years from now.

Why would anyone use singapore as a hub when there is cheaper alternative with a much lowered cost.

When no one using Singapore as hub, the ships will reduce the frequencies which drive price up.

And a Singapore base company cannot survive with a low margin of say Usd 10 while in other places they can.

We will lost out in pricing competition as well.

Ask someone to quote air tickets Sin/JKT/Sin and JKT/Sin/JKT and you will know why.

I don't know but are suez and panama global hubs in any sector? Or just a place everyone pays for multiple entries?

An airline will almost always charge higher in its home based city.

Don't know what Japan is thinking.

Other US-friendly nations like UK, France, Germany and Australia all decided to join AIIB when they realise where the money is now and in the future.

US has its own reason not to join - it wants to protect its USD and its position as international currency. That itself is already a short-sighted since for anyone to prosper in a open-trade globalise economy, the last thing you do is the shut your doors to up and coming opportunities.

As you can see, you don't have to be part of an alliance, like NATO, to prosper and benefit from world trade.

In any case, China has all along reject the concept of "Alliance", prefering to having "Partnership" based on bilateral relations to each country.

now every country want to catch the wave of china,

money is there to be make, see who catch it nia.

by rejecting to join the china allilance, further project your country company stand a lower chance of winning any bids.

I don't know but are suez and panama global hubs in any sector? Or just a place everyone pays for multiple entries?

An airline will almost always charge higher in its home based city.

Usd 150 for indoensia to return flights while Usd 300 is the cheapest we got.

The Siamese kingdom actually came down hard on Kedah and Patani, both Malay sultanates, before the eventual treaty with the British to draw the boundaries at where we are familiar with today. It is a sensitive historical conflict between the Thais and Malays, and Thailand must have Malaysia's partnership for this to work. And some bros also suggested, maybe even Indonesia for Indonesia's own interest in trade.

Melaka, Johor and Tumasik (ironically, had older kingdoms than Johor Lama and Melaka) were indeed invaded many times in history.

last i went pahang there was a wooden arc spanning the road....we were told that was the place where the malay kingdom finally managed to stop the Siamese attack and was the starting point in managing to push back the Siamese to its' present border. Actually we havent even reach Pahang yet...it was like the border between Johor and Pahang!

http://cn.chinadaily.com.cn/

http://world.chinadaily.com.cn/2015-05/19/content_20759143.htm

中国日报北京5月19日电(记者 赵艳蓉) 就目前热传的中泰拟建克拉地峡运河的消息,中国驻泰国大使馆表示,据使馆了解,中国政府有关部门迄今为止没有参与关于此项目的研究和任何具体合作,也未就此问题发表过任何立场。

Maybe this is why the gov is taxing us like nobody business....every road comes to and end somewhere!

Pekan ?

In the beginning, Pahang (and even Trengganu and Riau) was like a subsidiary state of Johor. They were appointed by the Johor sultan before the colonists came. Johor Temengong (who eventually became the Sultan with blessings of Britain) was on good terms with the British, and supported the British interests in Malaya which contributed to the Anglo-Siamese treaty that ended the conflicts. Songkla, Patani and part of Kedah (Satun where the canal will run through) were made part of Thai territory, we know today.

sorry lar...more than a decade liao....i forgot where the arc stood!

So look like someone somewhere are blowing the trumpet once again..looks like it not going to happen any sooner.

http://mothership.sg/2015/05/kra-canal-might-not-be-a-reality-so-soon-after-all/

Social media in Singapore was abuzz over the weekend over the possibility of China and Thailand cooperating and building the Kra Canal.

Mothership.sg also wrote a piece on the implication of the Kra Canal on May 18, 2015.

However, readers and observers have pointed out that the news of China and Thailand signing an Memorandum of Cooperation (MOC) on the Kra Canal have mostly been reported in Southern China and Hong Kong (including state-owned Wen Wei Po) news outlets.

Major Chinese news outlets such as Xinhua and CCTV have not reported on this “signing”.

Officials from both countries deny involvement

Just today, news wire AFP reported that China’s Ambassador to Thailand has “denied any official involvement in a project to construct a canal through the Malay peninsula linking the South China Sea and the Andaman Sea”. The article was carried by news websites such as the Australia Daily Telegraph and Herald Sun.

Additionally, a Channel NewsAsia IndoChina correspondent Panu WongCha-um has tweeted that a Thai official has denied news reports on the signing of a Kra Canal MOU.

Here are the tweets:

kra-canal-tweet-1.jpgkra-canal-tweet-2.jpgkra-canal-tweet-3.jpg

We will update this story as it develops.

Could be a warning by China to Singapore (and other neighboring countries) to give up their Janus faced policies.

Either you are with them or you are against them.

Could be a warning by China to Singapore (and other neighboring countries) to give up their Janus faced policies.

Either you are with them or you are against them.

I rather say is china warning to USA......As USA is maintain a strong presence in Singapore and Philippines...