Takata airbag recall

mcf

They won't call, just send letter.

Maybe safer to wear full face helmet for time being. [:p]

When I checked in Jan 2017 with onemotoring website & confirmed with Motor Image, no recall.

Today I checked website again, there is a recall on Apr 2017 for my 9 year old Subaru.

I wonder when they will call me???

I am not sure if airbag deployment is really so rare. Yesterday just saw the accident at Ghim Moh junction involving a motorcar and motorcycle. I think head on. Airbags were all deployed in the car. Someone I believe was the motorcyclist was lying on the floor.

But the risk of actually having a defective airbag in your car is quite low at "60 to 80 parts for every one million". (From: http://blog.caranddriver.com/massive-takata-airbag-recall-everything-you-need-to-know-including-full-list-of-affected-vehicles/ )

So for the reminder that function properly, would it be safer to leave them there?

I've only experience once when an airbag deployed. An idiot friend of mine drove into a standing car with his Mz6. We hit that SUV at approximately 30-40km/h.

Still deployed and I got punched in the face with that bag... saw stars and face burn some more.

I shudder to think what would have happened if there were shrapnels as well.

I think barring the cabin deforming... and with wearing a seatbelt... it'll be safer irrespective whether there's an airbag or not... at least for passengers. Drivers have bigger problems with the steering column impaling them.

I agree with the advice... if you're not able to turn the passenger bag off when you have a potential defective airbag... best to remove it completely.

Edited by ins1dious

Sometimes PIs can't help you when you need them..

Something to consider when you try to save the extra pennies..

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/car-owners-asked-to-remove-airbags-affected-by-fatal-flaw

Senior Transport Correspondent

SINGAPORE - Unable to get parts for a recall to fix a fatal airbag flaw, at least one parallel importer is asking customers to deactivate or remove the airbags from their vehicles.

This course of action comes years after disgraced airbag maker Takata issued a worldwide recall on defective products which have killed more than a dozen and maimed many others.

Garage R, a parallel importer specialising in high-performance models, has written to owners affected by the vehicle flaw - which could potentially send metal shrapnel into the head and torso of front occupants when an airbag deploys - asking them to remove the airbags.

This, it said, was because the replacement parts were hard to come by and that they were expensive.

Honda Civic Type R owner Aaron Hia, 32, was among those who received the letter. "I was a little upset when I got it. And you had to pay $80 or $90 to remove the airbag."

Mr Hia, a product trainer with a car distributor, said he replaced the car's steering wheel two months ago, and the aftermarket wheel has no airbag. He said he has yet to remove the passenger-side airbag. He said the whole issue has been "a real headache".

In response to press queries, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said importers and motor dealers who have imported or sold vehicles affected by safety-related recalls are required to "comply with, and complete the rectification of affected vehicles in accordance with the respective vehicle manufacturers' requirements".

Those who fail to comply with this regulation will be fined up to $2,000 for each vehicle, subject to a maximum fine of $50,000.

The authority said it is aware some vehicle manufacturers have recommended deactivating or disabling the faulty airbags in the vehicles "as an interim measure if replacement parts are not readily available".

The Takata recall was made more than two years ago. As of now, the LTA said 80 per cent of the 150,000 vehicles affected here have been rectified or deregistered.

"LTA will continue to work closely with the motor dealers to ensure there is a continuous supply of replacement airbag inflators for all affected vehicles in Singapore," a spokesman added.

Asked how much time motor companies are given to fix a safety-related flaw, the authority did not respond.

Motor firms said there is no fixed time stipulated for recalls to be done.

Sometimes PIs can't help you when you need them..

Something to consider when you try to save the extra pennies..

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/car-owners-asked-to-remove-airbags-affected-by-fatal-flaw

I had a related experience last year when I called up my PI to ask about the airbag issue.

I renewed the COE of my Wish last Jan, and called the PI around Aug/Sep to ask if the car was affected. After telling him the car was bought from them 10.5 yr ago, the fella who took my call said they are responsible for cars for 10 yr only, after which owners have to find ways/means to settle any issue - including the airbag recall - on their own.

A check immediately after, with LTA yielded that the PI was wrong and irresponsible. LTA said that as long as a car is not deregistered, the agent (AD or PI) remains responsible for it. He also said that LTA regulation stipulates the agent must inform the owner and have arrangements to rectify the problem. But there is a catch - LTA regulation doesn't mention anything about the cost (who will bear) of the rectification. 

This means the PIs must have make arrangements on the means for the rectifications to be done, but they are not mandated by law to foot the bill, and they can tell owners that there is a way to rectify those manufacturers' defects and recalls, but owners must be prepared to pay. If owners refused to, then it's their own problem.

Ultimately, consumers are at the losing end.

I didn't have problem with my PI for 10 yr+, but my confidence in them was thrown out of the window by the chap who took my call.

I had a related experience last year when I called up my PI to ask about the airbag issue.

I renewed the COE of my Wish last Jan, and called the PI around Aug/Sep to ask if the car was affected. After telling him the car was bought from them 10.5 yr ago, the fella who took my call said they are responsible for cars for 10 yr only, after which owners have to find ways/means to settle any issue - including the airbag recall - on their own.

A check immediately after, with LTA yielded that the PI was wrong and irresponsible. LTA said that as long as a car is not deregistered, the agent (AD or PI) remains responsible for it. He also said that LTA regulation stipulates the agent must inform the owner and have arrangements to rectify the problem. But there is a catch - LTA regulation doesn't mention anything about the cost (who will bear) of the rectification.

This means the PIs must have make arrangements on the means for the rectifications to be done, but they are not mandated by law to foot the bill, and they can tell owners that there is a way to rectify those manufacturers' defects and recalls, but owners must be prepared to pay. If owners refused to, then it's their own problem.

I didn't have problem with my PI for 10 yr+, but my confidence in them was thrown out of the window by the chap who took my call.

if this PI is big, maybe the fella who took your call is one of the SEs who may not be familiar with such cases. did you manage to check with the higher-ups in the PI?

btw, which PI ah?

Hmmm...

Can ADs do the repair, given if you are willingly to pay more for the safety?

Hmmm...

Can ADs do the repair, given if you are willingly to pay more for the safety?

That depends on which AD are you referring too..

Certain ones like Toyota and possibly Honda, they simply won't touch a PI care.

Merc will 'adopt' your car for a fee of tens of thousands. I can't say for other ADs but not everyone will accept it..

I read today's ST report with disbelief. LTA never reply to ST on any deadline for such replacement :a-bang: Waiting for the car COE to expire har. 

Between the 2 evils, I would have imagine LTA would require the air bag to be replaced within 6 months max or have them disabled. Failing which, any vehicle caught on the road will be compounded if it is to believe the danger of the air bag as reported.

Don't need to be disheartened. Borneo motor send me a recall letter for my vios due to scratch in 4/5 months. Alerting me and the when stock available will notify me for repair. Brought the car in may 06. Receivedo the letter Jan 16.

You said lah..

My neighbour subarea impresa due to scratch next year April. Last week he received a recall letter for MI.

You said leh!

If any of the abve AD reading and claiming fault news...I am waiting for you with your recall letter. If subaru I will get the letter from my neighbour. Borneo I am still holding on to the letter for memory sake. Knn

I read today's ST report with disbelief. LTA never reply to ST on any deadline for such replacement :a-bang: Waiting for the car COE to expire har.

Between the 2 evils, I would have imagine LTA would require the air bag to be replaced within 6 months max or have them disabled. Failing which, any vehicle caught on the road will be compounded if it is to believe the danger of the air bag as reported.

Should write in to LTA and enquire why.

Find out what is their lapse in this area.

Maybe it's not the ADs.. Takata really have issues fulfilling the demand for replacements..

I don't know if those small PIs will even answer enquires..

Anything that is safety related lta take a more catiotionary approach