Another Travel Agency Run-Road - Asia Euro Holidays

Berncsp76

Gov should start regulating these travel agencies. It is so easy to just close and then say claim from travel insurance or SCT. But who finally pays for these travel insurance? It is all of us who will be paying for it when the travel insurance goes up in prices just to cover these errant travel agencies owners.

SCT on the other hand will only take care of cases below 10k.

Travel agencies must be the only business model where you can take other people's money, run road and has no liabilities

Gov should start regulating these travel agencies. It is so easy to just close and then say claim from travel insurance or SCT. But who finally pays for these travel insurance? It is all of us who will be paying for it when the travel insurance goes up in prices just to cover these errant travel agencies owners.

SCT on the other hand will only take care of cases below 10k.

Travel agencies must be the only business model where you can take other people's money, run road and has no liabilities

U forgot used car dealers too.

Too be fair, there are still travelers who prefer a hassle free holiday where u just go thru a travel agency n they do everything for u from hotel booking, flights n land tours. Sometimes it's cheaper as well cos they book in bulk n u do get cost savings. Downside is the unnecessary visits to places where u may not be interested in. Older folk prefer this way though. My sympathies to the affected customers and hope they get some respite either thru travel insurance or small claims tribunal.

One other major reason why tour packages can be that cheap is because they bring you to those 'shopping' places to ketok you. Happens in almost every country that you tour. Tourist coming to Singapore also have this.

and if you don't buy ... tour guide face is blackier than a char kway teow wok ... lol

One other major reason why tour packages can be that cheap is because they bring you to those 'shopping' places to ketok you. Happens in almost every country that you tour. Tourist coming to Singapore also have this.

U forgot used car dealers too.

Add new car dealers (volks auto), spa pkg, group buys, sim lim sq, Brazilian property, Ponzi schemes, etc, etc. Saddest part is that there doesn't seem to be any laws that serve as an effective deterrent. These scammers know it and seem to be getting away wif it.

it's either pro business or pro consumer ... mutually exclusive ...

Add new car dealers (volks auto), spa pkg, group buys, sim lim sq, Brazilian property, Ponzi schemes, etc, etc. Saddest part is that there doesn't seem to be any laws that serve as an effective deterrent. These scammers know it and seem to be getting away wif it.

I wonder if the owners of these companies are big time gamblers in our casinos....

Just read they lost money buying properties in Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia in 2010. I thought property prices in all 3 locations went through the roof in the last 5 years?

If real, got lelong sales coming soon.

it's either pro business or pro consumer ... mutually exclusive ...

Hv never found the situation to be pro consumer coz the toothless tiger is the biggest wayang show.

Remember that all airfare & tour packages advertised were suppose to display the nett price INCLUDING taxes & surcharges? Take a look at ST classifieds n tell me if that is the case. Queried CASE on this b4 n they replied that they were not aware of any ads that are violating this.

Really champion.....

Hv never found the situation to be pro consumer coz the toothless tiger is the biggest wayang show.

Remember that all airfare & tour packages advertised were suppose to display the nett price INCLUDING taxes & surcharges? Take a look at ST classifieds n tell me if that is the case. Queried CASE on this b4 n they replied that they were not aware of any ads that are violating this.

Really champion.....

Agreed with your inputs, even many a time I go to hardware shops/ light shops to buy stuff and ask for reciept just in case of spoilt - they say you want reciept you must pay GST ; no reciept no GST .... i wonder how the business here works.... i thought by right when prices are quoted they are inclusive of GST; don't know if IRAS knows this is going on in the first place; of course as a consumer we want to save every cent!! If they are already GST registered they still need to pay GST on purchases ;

Might I even add that many low cost airlines (especially the budget ones) display prices which are unbelievably low and when you start hitting the dates it changes (unless its like 6-7 months away) then they charge you extra for luggage , then comes the meals, then the insurance which i remember by default is included, then comes the choice of seats; then of all the things you gotta pay Service charge for Credit Card fee facilitation) and then you find it only the same price as a normal carrier with less conditions and lower penalty if you want to change dates too ;

nothing to complain.

If those who want seat no, priority quee, meals and check-in luggage, they have to pay for it.

I almost choked on my milo this morning when I read the headlines ... " travel agency's licence revoked after sudden closure".

ppl already run-road, then you announce revoke license ??

Really champion.....

For SQ flights which most of you are familiar,

Economy Section : 10 different types of pricing.

Business Section : 3 different types of pricing.

First Class (Suit) : 2-3 different types of pricing.

In order words, not everyone pay the same airfares

nothing to complain.

If those who want seat no, priority quee, meals and check-in luggage, they have to pay for it.

agreed ... if you planned everything and its a must go, budget carriers are still cheaper (when there are no sales by regular carries)

anyway, for a 3 or 4 hour flight, no makan also can .... unless if got medical conditions

I almost choked on my milo this morning when I read the headlines ... " travel agency's licence revoked after sudden closure".

ppl already run-road, then you announce revoke license ??

STPB maybe work only 5 days a week [lipsrsealed] and Friday happy relak day and maybe ST more hardworking

yup ... one of my kaki love budget airline because for 4/5 days trip ... a cabin luggage can liao

get the cheapest with no check in luggage, no meal, no seat selection ... just hop on hop off can liao

must book sibei early to get the lowest tix for asia countries (ie: TH, HK, TPE, even China cities)

the most frustration part is flight delayed and worst it's cancelled ... this one really KNN

nothing to complain.

Tour agencies will need to transform and look for places which DIY travel are not easy.. places like Korea, Turkey etc..