S60 vs Ford Mondeo 2015

Enson

Which car is more worth it considering the ford mondeo now at 161 with Arf $30k and S60 event car at $180k but arf s21k. Drive wise I think s60 is more responsive at 6.5s 0-100kmh but ford is also similar in bhp but still 6spd vs S60 8spd. I ask Volvo if it is the same as BMW 8Spd they not sure.

The mondeo is very spacious considering with full sun roof for the 5door version.

4th Gear

Which car is more worth it considering the ford mondeo now at 161 with Arf $30k and S60 event car at $180k but arf s21k. Drive wise I think s60 is more responsive at 6.5s 0-100kmh but ford is also similar in bhp but still 6spd vs S60 8spd. I ask Volvo if it is the same as BMW 8Spd they not sure.

The mondeo is very spacious considering with full sun roof for the 5door version.

Car price should be determined by ARF, which you rightly pointed out in view of the BS CEVS so-called rebates, which is not a rebate at all and the government does not fund any money in whatsoever.

S60 is a used car, and still selling at 180k, even at a much lower ARF. Think of it this way, where does the funding of the sponsorship comes from - the bodoh consumers. I've been wondering why does Wearnes have all the budget to fund these events, one after another.

So value for money, definitely the Ford. As for performance and features - you're the final judge - just make sure don't let the spec figures fool you.

If I were you - the Ford.

Edited by Reo

Interior: S60 winz

Driving feel: Mondeo winz

Badge/Face value: S60 winz

all up to which you feel most shiok with...

Mondeo competes with S80 in size. Sounds like you want us to tell you to get the Volvo event car.

If Singaporeans can't work out the value offered in the Mondeo then I wonder what all this first place in Maths stuff really means! [laugh]

I would buy both of these cars 2nd hand. Never 1st hand. Especially the ford.

Cheers.

Personally i prefer the V60 over the S60

Buy ford and you'll bleed via every holding your body when you sell. Best way to save money is drive 10 years. Else with the depreciation, you might be better of buying a c180 in the first place.

Of course you want upfront value for money it's the Mondeo. It's larger, more lavishly equipped and cheaper.

The S60 has a stronger engine and better economy but imo its practicality is very poor. Their 8-speed speculated to be an Aisin designed 8-gear that is now also used by Lexus. Definitely its engine will get you up to speed faster, but the Mondeo is not too far off at 7.9s, and it is heavier. However Mondeo's torque arrives later. On the flip side, the Mondeo has a reputation for good handling, something Volvo does not.

I have a comparison sheet if you want me to post as these are two cars I have been comparing for quite a while.

There is also some existing discussion in Conti Talk on the Mondeo thread. I would consider the Mondeo a continental rather than American as it is European tuned and designed. Volvo is also continental, from Sweden.

Edited by 7hm

BMW 8spd is made by ZF.

Volvo is 8spd is made by Aisin of Japan. Suppliers of Toyota and Lexus GB.

I will prefer Volvo..

Edited by Tohto

take the s60

dealers will take in mondeo at scrap value anytime after your purchase

Ford cars really so jialiat ar? I was tempting to trade in s60 D2 for mondeo... hmm

Isn't the S60 170K (not 180K)?

Must remember those might be used event cars.

Ford cars really so jialiat ar? I was tempting to trade in s60 D2 for mondeo... hmm

Resale values definitely poor. But a look on the existing second hand market show that their prices aren't too far from the competition. But dealers are dealers and will rarely give good trade in for a minority brand.

It is the downside of buying a car that is cheap upfront, it usually has equally low resale.

Interior: S60 winz

Driving feel: Mondeo winz

Badge/Face value: S60 winz

all up to which you feel most shiok with...

Bro, wowo owners buy for badge value meh? If look at badge, would have bought tao kay merc or disappearing engine oil bmw liao.

Or...even a very worrisome volkswagen liao

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Mason016