Taiwan: Car Rental (Taipei)

BabyBlade

Anyone has experiences with driving around Taiwan? And tips to provide for left hand drive countries, car rental company etc.

Generally public transport such as the Metro is far more convenient than a car (no need to find parking etc) but if we're talking about going out of Taipei, would you recommend driving or just taking the bullet train?

Anyone has experiences with driving around Taiwan? And tips to provide for left hand drive countries, car rental company etc.

Generally public transport such as the Metro is far more convenient than a car (no need to find parking etc) but if we're talking about going out of Taipei, would you recommend driving or just taking the bullet train?

I drove from 台中 to 日月潭 then to 清境農場... Personally I dun feel the need to drive in Taipei because too many cars on the road and the MTR is well covered for the whole of Taipei...

For left hand drive, going up to the highway, please remember the exit is on the right and the slow lane is also on the right. Other than that nothing different with right hand drive... The highway road to 清境農場 is not busy and easy to drive, no need for GPS.

If you do decide to drive from 台中, I will look for the rental company contact for you. The company is located in 台中. Enjoy your trip...

Oh forgot to mention, I was driving Toyota Wish for the trip.

Edited by Carnoob

the problem driving in taiwan is sibei jam. and i am not talking about taipei. taichung, kaoshiong, hualian, all tourist places sibei jam. i gave up and hire private taxi sit back and relax. lol

I had a very happy time driving on the mountain passes in the middle of the country. One of the best driving experiences. I actually went in rainy season, many of the mountain roads were actually above the low clouds. Shiok.

Some of the little out-of-the-way eateries/cafes cum bar type establishments nestled halfway up a mountain or in roadside in some little village in a valley in central Taiwan, I would have never discovered if not for self-drive. Since Taiwan you can get by with Mandarin and Hokkien, definitely recommend to drive and explore.

Just rented from one of the big companies (Hertz or Avis one of those). Car delivered to hotel and pick up from hotel (yah I lazy).

Edited by Ake109

I just came back from a week self drive in Taiwan, rented from this company call "He Lian" in pingyin company website is http://www.easyrent.com.tw

I have check around several company and this gives the best rate. As I reach pretty early around 6am from Scoot flight, therefore I took a HSR to Hsinchu and collected my car, drive around Hsinchu/Nantou/Puli/Yilan.

I return my car at Yilan and my cost works out to be Twn 1650 per day with insurance and GPS car was a Toyota Vios the speedo and RPM are all digital.

If you need further info cam PM me and I will send you my Blog but this trip is not updated yet.

Edited by Acewin

At I was visiting Cingjing and Jiufen, I rented a SUV (first time driving SUV) for 3 days just for the experience of driving LHD and covered the following routes:

taipei(ximending) > jiufen > taipei(maokong) > taipei (shihlin market) > taipei (ximending)

taipei > cingjing

cingjing > taoyuan airport

Maybe it differs from person to person, but for me, a GPS is a must to navigate the complicated roads in taipei city and the various highways, upramps, downramps, flyovers in and around taipei city. I would be hopelessly lost with it.

Taipei traffic is generally heavy and carpark is not easy to find, I had to park at the public multistorey carpark about 10 min walk from my minsu.

For the places that I went, the road are properly paved and are in very good condition, even up the mountains. Of course, you have to pay toll to enjoy it.

Somehow I managed to take it easy and enjoyed it and feel that it is not too stressful.

It would be good to drive in Cingjing as some of the tourist spots are just that much easier to get to by car. It is a mountain so to avoid walking up and down it, a car is definitely a good choice.

One thing to note though, the GPS that I got was taiwan chinese input by default and it is not hanyu pinyin. Fortunately, it does support handwriting recognition.

Also, being kiasu and avoid time wasting while driving, I also spent some time to research the routes, parking spots and also read up on the traffic rules and driving habits and etiquette in Taiwan.

Of course in the city itself, driving is definitely not a must, e.g. I used the mrt and bus to get to the various attractions such as Taipei 101, ronghe night market, wufenpu, national museum, danshui etc

Ultimately, the purpose of driving is for convenience and freedom to come up with itinerary that suits you. Have fun!!!

Concerning GPS, you actually used the Google map from your phone. I find it more easy to use than the GPS provided by rental company.

Just need to signed up a data line on the day arriving Taipei airport. The data line is very cheap.

I just came back from a week self drive in Taiwan, rented from this company call "He Lian" in pingyin company website is http://www.easyrent.com.tw

I have check around several company and this gives the best rate. As I reach pretty early around 6am from Scoot flight, therefore I took a HSR to Hsinchu and collected my car, drive around Hsinchu/Nantou/Puli/Yilan.

I return my car at Yilan and my cost works out to be Twn 1650 per day with insurance and GPS car was a Toyota Vios the speedo and RPM are all digital.

If you need further info cam PM me and I will send you my Blog but this trip is not updated yet.

The rates on the website says the rate of Vios is NTD2400. How did you get NTD1650?

According to my wife who do the booking, send email to co, tell them you are an overseas visitor ask them which credit card got discount and they will entertain you. But must write in mandarin. Hope tis helps.

If you can ride, rent a scooter to tour around will give you an entirely different experience.

I rode in Taiwan three times before, twice on big bike but would recommend a scooter.

If you can ride, rent a scooter to tour around will give you an entirely different experience.

I rode in Taiwan three times before, twice on big bike but would recommend a scooter.

But if you want longer distance, scooter cannot ride on their highway..

I tried renting scooter in Hualien & Yilan but the all shop owner refused to rent to us. They cited bad experience from tourist cause tourist accumulated lots of parking and traffic fine and all these are channel to the shop owner cause the scooter register under them.

I went taiwan twice, both time self drive..

The 1st time, 3d2n covering Taichung > Cingjing > Lushan > Taichung

2nd time, rented 6 to 7 days covering Taipei Airport > Keelung > Jiufen > Shifen > Yilan > Hualien > Taroko Gorce > Taichung > Taipei Airport

Taroko Gorge to Taichung route is the famous cross island highway.. one of the best driving road i've done.. You guys can read about my experience at the link in my signature..

Edited by Shull

I went Taipei last year. I rented a Colt Plus from Car-plus to cover the route:

Day 1: Taipei->Tai Chung

Day 2: Tai Chung->Sun Moon Lake->Nan Tou->Qing Jing

Day 3: Qing King->Mt Toroke->Yillan

Day 4: Yilan->Yeliu->Jiufen->Shifen->Taipei

I am going back there again in December to cover the following route:

Day1: Taoyuan->Hsinchu

Day2: Hsinchu->TaiChung

Day3: Taichung -> Kaoshiung

Day4: Kaoshiung->Kenting

Day5: Kenting->Tainan

Day6: Tainan->Alishan

Day7: Alishan->Wulai ->Taipei.

Anyone going this year-end?

I went Taipei last year. I rented a Colt Plus from Car-plus to cover the route:

Day 1: Taipei->Tai Chung

Day 2: Tai Chung->Sun Moon Lake->Nan Tou->Qing Jing

Day 3: Qing King->Mt Toroke->Yillan

Day 4: Yilan->Yeliu->Jiufen->Shifen->Taipei

I am going back there again in December to cover the following route:

Day1: Taoyuan->Hsinchu

Day2: Hsinchu->TaiChung

Day3: Taichung -> Kaoshiung

Day4: Kaoshiung->Kenting

Day5: Kenting->Tainan

Day6: Tainan->Alishan

Day7: Alishan->Wulai ->Taipei.

Anyone going this year-end?

I see your trip to cover from north to south and back to north in 7 days is very tight...

No chance to relax at all.. Most of the time you are rushing on the road. Like joining a package tour :dizzy:

I see your trip to cover from north to south and back to north in 7 days is very tight...

No chance to relax at all.. Most of the time you are rushing on the road. Like joining a package tour :dizzy:

Taiwan is actually quite small. In my itinerary, each point to point is about 2 hours. So, should still have 10 hours of daylight to explore the cities each day. Those southern cities have very few attractions. Our aim is to visit as many old street possible.