Volkswagen Class 3A Driving Refresher Course

One of my friend passed his driving two years ago and now wanted to take some refresher course. He found out that Volkswagen did provide a Class 3A Driving Refresher Course.

May I ask MCF members anyone has experience with this centre and how good is the training from the Instructor?

To learn from Driving Centre needs to be a member first but Volkswagen centre do not need.

One of my colleagues went for it. She said it's quite good, as the instructors are actually full time private driving instructors who are making extra money in their free time.

And Volkswagen getting more sales, via this "value add" service?

Seriously, if you are rusty to begin with, shouldn't you first go to a driving school (any) to relearn the driving skills, instead of heading to the car showroom first??

Family member intends to go try this soon since it's more accessible for them in particular.

The prices are higher than elsewhere, but it seems the instructors are properly qualified people. Also you get to try a conti car, I guess.

Of course I guess they are also trying to make some sales in this manner I reckon.

they teach you how to handle stalled GB? @soya you shd go

Maybe they also teach how to react to stalling DSG also [drivingcar]

ya thats wat i meant...duwan be toooo obvious lah..wait i kena rape...lol

One of my friend passed his driving two years ago and now wanted to take some refresher course. He found out that Volkswagen did provide a Class 3A Driving Refresher Course.

May I ask MCF members anyone has experience with this centre and how good is the training from the Instructor?

To learn from Driving Centre needs to be a member first but Volkswagen centre do not need.

how much the refresher course? how many session?

I think one session $100 for 2 hours, so consider it $50/hour. I don't think they book as a whole course, you can book individual sessions.

does the Instructor need cert? is the car also particular modified for learning purpose?

otherwise anyone can do it

I think one session $100 for 2 hours, so consider it $50/hour. I don't think they book as a whole course, you can book individual sessions.

$100 too expensive lah, don't think they got market, normally whoever needs to refresher course just use their relatives or close friend's car

does the Instructor need cert? is the car also particular modified for learning purpose?

otherwise anyone can do it

I called the VW centre and they said the car will be VW Jetta. Not sure modified for learning purposes or not. I did not ask about whether the instructor is same as the driving school instructor but I presumed must be.

$100 too expensive lah, don't think they got market, normally whoever needs to refresher course just use their relatives or close friend's car

Expensive compared to what? You gotto pay the instructor and for the usage of the car and insurance. You think car use for foc?

Use your friend's car? Let's say(touch wood) get into accident...how do you think your car insurance will handle it. Confirm void. Ppl no confident that's why want to take refresher course.

TS, do not listen to ppl TCSS here.

they teach you how to handle stalled GB? @soya you shd go

Haha I was just going to say that. Also they will teach you how to drive to prevent judder.

Expensive compared to what? You gotto pay the instructor and for the usage of the car and insurance. You think car use for foc?

Use your friend's car? Let's say(touch wood) get into accident...how do you think your car insurance will handle it. Confirm void. Ppl no confident that's why want to take refresher course.

TS, do not listen to ppl TCSS here.

this course should call "VW potential buyer refresher course", if the learner in the end bought VW car , should waive the course fee :a-happy:

Edited by Quantum

I called the VW centre and they said the car will be VW Jetta. Not sure modified for learning purposes or not. I did not ask about whether the instructor is same as the driving school instructor but I presumed must be.

what type of modification will that be?

No diff from approaching those private instructors yourself to conduct the course in their own training cars instead of using VWs.

As with most things you learn, it all boils down to the individual instructor.

The driving centres will charge more but you will get more structured sessions and can start out in the centre's circuit if the confidence level is really very low.

what type of modification will that be?

Brake pedal on passenger side.

Nothing wrong unless they have clauses in their insurance like a named driver policy. At most pay higher excess if new/young/elderly driver. People doing refreshers are legally qualified to drive, so it's basically a "my friend was driving my car then tio accident" scenario.

You guys are missing the point of the course.

It is for potential VW buyers to recognize the symptoms of DSG failure such as juddering, gear shift indicators going bonkers, failure to move off, etc.

Or in some cases, the symptoms of cracked piston.

Edited by Fcw75