F I F A

Neutrino

First class corruption.... almost legalised corruption.

And at age 79 when his kkj dun tink can stand liao still wan absolute power for f

Blatter still president. Nobody dares to go against him.

Seems like he is the biggest crook in FIFA 😂

I'm also wondering who Singapore voted for?

With the recent arrests of the Timor Leste Manager and also the perpetual links to kelong here, the last thing we want is to be associated with is the current corrupted FIFA leadership/regime.

That said, not sure how this works as AFC could be persuaded to vote collectively and not break ranks. Understand Australia did break ranks though but with the funding FIFA gives to Asian countries, we may have no choice but not bite the hand that feeds you but if that's really the case then seems like we got no backbone which has always been a Singaporean fundamental.

Wha even football has so much politics, thought it was the beautiful game?

But surely there's no reason to think that a new incoming FIFA President wouldn't keep up any funding to AFC.

Isn't it better to get rid of these corupt officials or officials who pretend nothing is going on and get the game sorted out once and for all.

But surely there's no reason to think that a new incoming FIFA President wouldn't keep up any funding to AFC.

Isn't it better to get rid of these corupt officials or officials who pretend nothing is going on and get the game sorted out once and for all.

Valid point on why not take a chance on a new incoming President as the existing one has so many questions marks over his head! Maybe there's more to it than meets the eye that besides the various associations being funded, perhaps the individuals also benefit hence the loyalty to Blatter? No proof on this so far but I won't be surprised if this gets exposed eventually but till then it's all speculation!

I'm also wondering who Singapore voted for?

With the recent arrests of the Timor Leste Manager and also the perpetual links to kelong here, the last thing we want is to be associated with is the current corrupted FIFA leadership/regime.

That said, not sure how this works as AFC could be persuaded to vote collectively and not break ranks. Understand Australia did break ranks though but with the funding FIFA gives to Asian countries, we may have no choice but not bite the hand that feeds you but if that's really the case then seems like we got no backbone which has always been a Singaporean fundamental.

Wha even football has so much politics, thought it was the beautiful game?

Voting is secret. Furthermore given the f***ked-up-ness of our own FAS, I won't be surprised if they prefer the status quo. Mr Blatter has always said nice things about Singapore.

Edited by Benarsenal

Wah. Ho say liao lor.

I think they will hold another election. Probably the Prince Ali fella will contest again.

BTW, what an idiot Sepp is. Kena elected then resign. Waste everybody's time.

Edited by Benarsenal

He should not even be in power for that long. Say no corruption is impossible with so much going on in football.

[bounce2][bounce2]

CNA : Sepp Blatter resigns as FIFA president amid growing corruption probe

ZURICH: Sepp Blatter on Tuesday (Jun 2) resigned as president of FIFA in a stunning capitulation to critics as a mounting corruption scandal engulfed world football's governing body.

The 79-year-old Swiss official, FIFA president for 17 years and only re-elected on Friday, calmly told a hastily arranged press conference that a special congress would be called as soon as possible to choose a successor.

"I felt compelled to stand for re-election, as I believed that this was the best thing for the organisation," he told a hastily arranged press conference at the organisation's Zurich headquarters. "That election is over but FIFA's challenges are not. FIFA needs a profound overhaul," Blatter added.

The New York Times and ABC News reported that Blatter is the focus of an FBI corruption investigation in the United States, citing unnamed law enforcement officials and sources familiar with the case, but gave no further details.

An FBI spokesman said the bureau was "making no comment" beyond last week's announcement by the Attorney General and FBI director that FIFA was being investigated for corruption.

ABC News said Blatter was being investigated by the FBI and US prosecutors as part of the probe that led to last week's indictments. Attorney General Loretta Lynch announced last Wednesday that the US had indicted 14 FIFA executives and sports marketing executives accused in a US$150 million bribery scheme.

Blatter did not mention the corruption storm that erupted less than a week ago, but went on: "While I have a mandate from the membership of FIFA, I do not feel that I have a mandate from the entire world of football - the fans, the players, the clubs, the people who live, breathe and love football as much as we all do at FIFA.

"Therefore, I have decided to lay down my mandate at an extraordinary elective Congress. I will continue to exercise my functions as FIFA President until that election."

Blatter has defiantly held off resignation calls for many months amid controversies over the award of the 2018 and 2022 World Cup to Russia and Qatar and more recently over bribes allegedly taken by top soccer officials.

Swiss police arrested seven FIFA officials, including two vice presidents, at a Zurich hotel last Wednesday setting off the latest storm for Blatter. The arrests were carried out on behalf of US prosecutors who accuse the seven, and eight other suspects, of involvement in US$150 million of bribes.

Blatter had repeatedly pleaded his innocence and that of FIFA over the corruption. "The executive committee includes representatives of confederations over whom we have no control, but for whose actions FIFA is held responsible. We need deep-rooted structural change," he reaffirmed in his statement.

Blatter said he would remain in office as an interim leader until the election. The special congress cannot be held until between December 2015 and March 2016, according to Domenico Scala, chairman of FIFA's independent audit and compliance committee

more stories, Link: http://www.channelne...as/1888694.html

England got chance to hold the 2018 Wporld Cup .... [smash]

Asian and African nations who voted for Sepp Blatter to stay for the 5th term will now be [sweatdrop] when the new President take over.

B'cos of their votes that make Sepp Blatter won the 5th terms and now he resigned only after 5 days after voting. :blink: