Oil Change Scam

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-avpx8UTakI

Sometimes, cheapest isn't the best. I know of friends (guys and girls) who don't know anything about cars at all, get ketok from many different places on their cars, from the buying of the car, to the insurance, to the servicing.

While this isn't happening in Singapore, do share with your driver friends. Check up on your driver's manual to see what needs servicing when, because, the manufacturers would know better (usually lah)...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-avpx8UTakI

Sometimes, cheapest isn't the best. I know of friends (guys and girls) who don't know anything about cars at all, get ketok from many different places on their cars, from the buying of the car, to the insurance, to the servicing.

While this isn't happening in Singapore, do share with your driver friends. Check up on your driver's manual to see what needs servicing when, because, the manufacturers would know better (usually lah)...

i know of people who would leave the car for servicing and expect a good service.......they drive up to the ws...ask the boss what time can collect and scamper off for a meal or do shopping. Came back to collect...pay the bill no question asked! I followed one and was saying to myself...wtf.....!

I don't believe in not being present while mechanics work on my car. I prefer to stand near by and watch as long as I don't get in their way.

This does happen in Singapore. We're just not aware that it happens. As someone pointed out, most will just leave the car at the workshop and go makan. How many people out there will look at the mechanic do the work? Not many. I like to stay and watch because it's an opportunity to learn something and make sure they don't f**k up my car. You could have paid for a Motul oil but they may put in a cheaper oil instead without you knowing.

There is a particular workshop at Kaki Bukit which doesn't like people to stay and watch. They usually tell the customer to leave their car and they'll work on it. I don't care for that. I'm paying them to work on my car so I'm gonna make sure they do a good job. They're professional in their workmanship but I don't like hearing them tell me to leave my car and come back later. Me hanging around to watch them work on my car is a great way to make sure they work on it ASAP instead of procrastinating.

Aiya, businesses who do this sort of cheating is not going to last for long. Ppl will go to social media and news to make sure they go bust. Just look at Chew Chiew Loon.

I don't believe in not being present while mechanics work on my car. I prefer to stand near by and watch as long as I don't get in their way.

This does happen in Singapore. We're just not aware that it happens. As someone pointed out, most will just leave the car at the workshop and go makan. How many people out there will look at the mechanic do the work? Not many. I like to stay and watch because it's an opportunity to learn something and make sure they don't f**k up my car. You could have paid for a Motul oil but they may put in a cheaper oil instead without you knowing.

There is a particular workshop at Kaki Bukit which doesn't like people to stay and watch. They usually tell the customer to leave their car and they'll work on it. I don't care for that. I'm paying them to work on my car so I'm gonna make sure they do a good job. They're professional in their workmanship but I don't like hearing them tell me to leave my car and come back later. Me hanging around to watch them work on my car is a great way to make sure they work on it ASAP instead of procrastinating.

Some workshops got their safety policy, if they don't allow you to watch and you are uncomfortable with that, then just go for another workshop. Should not judge them base on that.

If really so scared, I think diy service better.

Besides watching what they removed and replaced in my car, I also like to ask them simple questions to test they know what they are doing.

Last step for me when I reached home is to find a parking lot that the floor is clean and check the next day is there any fluid on the ground to confirm there is no leaking.

Workshops have a million and one way in which they can con you. It is just whether they want to or not.

know of people who would leave the car for servicing and expect a good service.......they drive up to the ws...ask the boss what time can collect and scamper off for a meal or do shopping. Came back to collect...pay the bill no question asked! I followed one and was saying to myself...wtf.....!

Yeah, I know of such people too, go in, kenna conned to get more services, then leave their car there, not sure if the additional services done or not.

I think the extra services one, happens at quite a few shops too, especially those running the "deals" at $38 or something for an oil change. Go in find them, suddenly your car that was running fine for the last 6 months has a lot of problems...

Yeah, I know of such people too, go in, kenna conned to get more services, then leave their car there, not sure if the additional services done or not.

I think the extra services one, happens at quite a few shops too, especially those running the "deals" at $38 or something for an oil change. Go in find them, suddenly your car that was running fine for the last 6 months has a lot of problems...

want to blame ws also difficult when one is willing to be tardy with their property. Last time i was given charge to a team of fitters and dre for some plant maintenance and servicing! Nb....some really try to pull of a good one due to laziness......u know what.....ask them to change lub oil in some machine....fella go clean the nuts and told me change already.......nb....luckily i was somewhere spying on them and i sure give them a piece of my mind.....😡😡😡😡 Edited by Eviilusion

If the work is about half an hour, I may wait on the spot and watch. But anything more than an hour I prefer to go and drink coffee first. That is why I only send my car to AD for service and repair. If the repair is too expensive, I will send to one of AMK Auto-point workshop whereby I know the Boss. If I send my car to unknown workshop, I will sure ended up paying more.

Either you kenna chopped carrot at outside ws or go back authorized ws to kenna chopped.

Some workshops got their safety policy, if they don't allow you to watch and you are uncomfortable with that, then just go for another workshop. Should not judge them base on that.

If really so scared, I think diy service better.

If you stand a few meters away from your car, should be okay. I'm not really judging them. I'm merely stating why I don't really like this workshop despite knowing that they're professional in their work. To be honest, I don't trust workshops at all.

DIY does sound like a good option if you're doing simple work in your driveway. In fact I have done quite a bit of work on my car in my drive way. However when you need to pull out certain complicated parts, it's better to get the workshop to do it. Learn how the workshop does it and you should be able to do it the next time you need to replace it.

Either you kenna chopped carrot at outside ws or go back authorized ws to kenna chopped.

Haha the minute workshops see you drive BMW or Merc their labour charge for changing parts goes up.

If you stand a few meters away from your car, should be okay. I'm not really judging them. I'm merely stating why I don't really like this workshop despite knowing that they're professional in their work. To be honest, I don't trust workshops at all.

DIY does sound like a good option if you're doing simple work in your driveway. In fact I have done quite a bit of work on my car in my drive way. However when you need to pull out certain complicated parts, it's better to get the workshop to do it. Learn how the workshop does it and you should be able to do it the next time you need to replace it.

Haha the minute workshops see you drive BMW or Merc their labour charge for changing parts goes up.

Usually complicated parts requires special tools which can be really expensive to invest in just for your own change, there are pros and cons in servicing outside. Best is still go to the workshop you are comfortable in.

This one takes the cake:

One Autobay workshop I used to go to changed a new set of Iridium plugs during my first visit. The second visit - 6mths later - they removed the plugs and changed to copper - and billed me the copper plugs! Fortunately I checked the bill and kicked up a fuss. They apologised (its a mistake they said), changed to a new set of Iridium. Needless to say, they got my business twice only.

I like to mark tyres too. Good way to check if they actually rotated the tyres.

This one takes the cake:

One Autobay workshop I used to go to changed a new set of Iridium plugs during my first visit. The second visit - 6mths later - they removed the plugs and changed to copper - and billed me the copper plugs! Fortunately I checked the bill and kicked up a fuss. They apologised (its a mistake they said), changed to a new set of Iridium. Needless to say, they got my business twice only.

I don't have to mark my tyres.. all 4 tyres have non identical tyre kerb rash marks so obvious to the eyes

Haha, mine have too. But sometimes rotate till forgot which is which liao.

Do you need to rotate tyres at all ?

I don't.

It wears out evenly if I don't rotate.

Most important is that your wheels are aligned properly.