Bye Bye Sonata taxis

Yamapi

so fast these sonata taxis has reached the end of their 8 year lifespan. maybe heading for scrapyard liao. pic from fb

11212418_10153027310044862_1607332984_n.

so fast these sonata taxis has reached the end of their 8 year lifespan. maybe heading for scrapyard liao. pic from fb

Yeah, going to replaced by i40

These sonata taxis should be the first batch. There are still many sonata taxis running on the road. Heard from the sonata taxi driver the other day when i took his taxi, he told me his taxi will be replaced by i40.

ermmm but there are so many i40 running on the roads already, but maybe those are new take up and not replacement.

Somehow I dont feel sad when these Sonatas bye bye ; unlike when the Toyota Crowns retire.

Maybe its because they always smoke me when moving off traffic lights . [rolleyes]

Xers007, on 02 Jun 2015 - 4:01 PM, said:

ermmm but there are so many i40 running on the roads already, but maybe those are new take up and not replacement.

Maybe since there are many i40 on the road, so when all those sonata reached their 8 year lifespan, the taxi company will replace with i40, seems like they have no other choice besides buying korean make?!

Japan no turbodiesel in RHD suitable for us I think. So cheapest option is Hyundai.

I think Comfort locked up Hyundai and Silvercab locked up Kia (specific models).

Given the limited growth rate allowed after the rule changes, I am not sure if Silvercab has the numbers needed to continue to lock in Kia unless they scrap the old cars en masse.

Yah the i40 would be the "one" since so many already running and normally comfort/yellow cab only use one model at one time unless that model coming EOL.

Ake109, on 02 Jun 2015 - 4:13 PM, said:

Japan no turbodiesel in RHD suitable for us I think. So cheapest option is Hyundai.

I think Comfort locked up Hyundai and Silvercab locked up Kia (specific models).

Given the limited growth rate allowed after the rule changes, I am not sure if Silvercab has the numbers needed to continue to lock in Kia unless they scrap the old cars en masse.

So far only comfort buy korean make in bulk for their taxi. Other taxi companies dont have korean make, other than silvercab. Didnt see any new model for kia taxi on the road?

IIRC, it is not due to turbo consideration but conformance to diesel particulate emission standard

Somehow I dont feel sad when these Sonatas bye bye ; unlike when the Toyota Crowns retire.

Maybe its because they always smoke me when moving off traffic lights . [rolleyes]

ya man. Really knn.

For commercial diessel vehicles, road tax on 800cc or 3000cc are all the same I think.. only idiots will buy a small cc diessel car..

tyco_kia, on 02 Jun 2015 - 4:18 PM, said:

More like Korean taxis or car makes are probably cheaper than their Japanese counterparts. [bounce2] [bounce2] [bounce2]

Maybe price is cheaper for korean make?! But maintainance wise, dont know cheaper than jap or not? But always heard from taxi drivers who are driving the korean make taxi that their taxi have many problems after certain years, as compared with last time toyota taxi.

Got lah. Toyota Avensis. The only problem is more expensive than Hyundai.