I got sala (wrong) meh?

Antonee

Earlier today, was walking towards traffic light where green man was flashing. Saw the timing left about 11 secs turnaround timing and i quickly make my way towards with a batch of pedestrians walking towards me. Apparently, one of the car turning right gave me a BEEP!

What the heck did i do anything wrong? How did this goondu pass his licence? Didnt highway code teach driver turning right to give way to oncoming traffic where applicable? Boleh lah!

Usually flashing green man means stop and wait.

Yes, once the green man flashes, TP advises pedestrian should stop and wait and do not cross. But as long as got pedestrian crossses even red light, car has to stop. To be gracious, the car should not beep at you.

Both parties should exercise some patience,so incident can be avoided. But horning is meant to warn others of danger, not to make ppl panic or agitated..

Earlier today, was walking towards traffic light where green man was flashing. Saw the timing left about 11 secs turnaround timing and i quickly make my way towards with a batch of pedestrians walking towards me. Apparently, one of the car turning right gave me a BEEP!

What the heck did i do anything wrong? How did this goondu pass his licence? Didnt highway code teach driver turning right to give way to oncoming traffic where applicable? Boleh lah!

@Antonee,

Did you start crossing when the green man was still solid, or when it has already started flashing?

If it was the latter, sorry to say you were at fault for not following pedestrian rules.

@Antonee,

Did you start crossing when the green man was still solid, or when it has already started flashing?

If it was the latter, sorry to say you were at fault for not following pedestrian rules.

11 seconds actually a lot of time when pedestrian from opposite side has yet to reach this side of the road, I have seen many time drivers can't wait and want to drive pass before the traffic light for pedestrian become red.

not about wrong or right, pedestrain should look if the car is stopping for them before crossing, and the car should stop if someone is crossing the road..

pedestrain kena knock down, both parties got nothing to win.

its a lose-lose situation. Driver gets into trouble for negligence, pedestrain loses life or limb.

As a pedestrain, care for your life. As a driver, care for your future.

Or even jia lark is that car turning right never notice green man is on the favour of pedestrian and suddenly stop beyond the turn right box, oncoming traffic beep!

@Antonee,

Huh, which rules? See point 9. No where was mentioned regarding when you said above.

According to Traffic Rules:

Light signals for pedestrians
—(1) Light signals may be used to indicate to pedestrians the period during which they should or should not cross the road.
(2) The light signals for pedestrians shall consist of one red light with the figure of a red man standing upright and one green light with the figure of a green man walking.
(3) The effective diameter of the lens of each light shall not be less than 300 mm.
(4) The height of the centre of the lens of the green light above the road shall be 2,290 mm except that it may be increased where owing to road gradient it is desirable to do so.
(5) The centre of the lenses of the lights shall not be more than 350 mm apart.
(6) The post on which the lights are supported may be painted black and yellow in alternate horizontal bands.
(7) The illuminated red man light shall be taken to indicate that the pedestrian shall not cross the road.
(8) The illuminated green man light shall be taken to indicate that the pedestrian may cross the road.
(9) The flashing green man light shall be taken to indicate that the red man light is about to be illuminated.

My point is, not withstanding give and take, the car shouldn't horn unnecessarily.

Perhaps TS was walking with a tortoise pace? Perhaps the car driver was really impatient? Even then, no need to horn, even if the green man is flashing.

Huh, which rules? See point 9. No where was mentioned regarding when you said above.

According to Traffic Rules:

Light signals for pedestrians

(1) Light signals may be used to indicate to pedestrians the period during which they should or should not cross the road.

(2) The light signals for pedestrians shall consist of one red light with the figure of a red man standing upright and one green light with the figure of a green man walking.

(3) The effective diameter of the lens of each light shall not be less than 300 mm.

(4) The height of the centre of the lens of the green light above the road shall be 2,290 mm except that it may be increased where owing to road gradient it is desirable to do so.

(5) The centre of the lenses of the lights shall not be more than 350 mm apart.

(6) The post on which the lights are supported may be painted black and yellow in alternate horizontal bands.

(7) The illuminated red man light shall be taken to indicate that the pedestrian shall not cross the road.

(8) The illuminated green man light shall be taken to indicate that the pedestrian may cross the road.

(9) The flashing green man light shall be taken to indicate that the red man light is about to be illuminated.

My point is, not withstanding give and take, the car shouldn't horn unnecessarily.

Perhaps TS was walking with a tortoise pace? Perhaps the car driver was really impatient? Even then, no need to horn, even if the green man is flashing.

I will honk in this case if that guy crossing with eyes on phone... If he walk quickly and aware of the limited time left, no reason for driver to horn..

Why do ppl react so negatively towards a honk or a beep? Is it an offensive sign or sound?

Anyway it's a one sided story. You can say whatever you want.

This is very wrong practice to judge the rules on own ability. If Usain Bolt needs only 2 seconds to dash across, can he start at green man flashing with 2 seconds?

Flashing green man means "Do not start" crossing. PERIOD.

There are junctions, where the cars crossed stop line to take left and waiting for pedestrians to finish, but "last seconds" pedestrians make those car drivers look stupid as cars' green also turned red!

Why do ppl react so negatively towards a honk or a beep? Is it an offensive sign or sound?

Anyway it's a one sided story. You can say whatever you want.

There are different types of horn.

Friendly light horn or aggressive sharp horn.

This is very wrong practice to judge the rules on own ability. If Usain Bolt needs only 2 seconds to dash across, can he start at green man flashing with 2 seconds?

There are junctions, where the cars crossed stop line to take left and waiting for pedestrians to finish, but "last seconds" pedestrians make those car drivers look stupid as cars' green also turned red!

Huh? Rules are very clear here. No subjective interpretation. Flashing green man = pedestrian's right of way. So long as one make it across before the red man flashes. Exercise caution though. If 2 secs left, then it is not reasonable. TS is talking about 11 sec, so i supposed he could make it in the double-quick steps. End of the day, patience and good sense should prevail.

Edited by Latio2005A
  • Dislike 1

Some green man start flashing from 25 second counting down, you mean they have to stand there and wait?

Anyways, i was sweating like drenched (finished a run) . Most likely see me buay song, smelly and sweaty jus like hvaing a rough sex.

We are talking 2 different things. I said No "start" of crossing when flashing green man.

There are different types of horn.

Friendly light horn or aggressive sharp horn.

Huh? Rules are very clear here. No subjective interpretation. Flashing green man = pedestrian's right of way. So long as one make it across before the red man flashes.

Edited by Steptronic