Kopitiam employee washing her shoe in a sink

Jman888

the only food court that i will never step in <_<<_<

poor system, cannot attract good food store operator, poor hygiene (but i duno why most hospital appoint them as anchor tenant).....

Video of Kopitiam employee washing her shoe in a sink goes viral
PUBLISHED ON JUN 23, 2015
shoe2e.jpg
The female employee washing her shoe in the sink at an alleged Kopitiam outlet in the National University of Hospital. -- PHOTO: SCREENGRAB FROM FACEBOOK VIDEO
BY LEE MIN KOK
SINGAPORE - A video of an employee washing her shoe in a sink at a food court in the National University Hospital has been making the rounds online.
Facebook user Queenie Here posted the video last Sunday (June 21) night, in which she also wrote: "Care for a dessert @NUH Kopitiam? I wanted to order dessert after my dinner. Unfortunately I saw this scene....."
The clip, which lasts almost two minutes, shows the woman scrubbing one of her shoes with a brush under a running tap within the cold desserts section of the food court. She then appeared to put it back on her foot.
As of 11am on Tuesday, the clip had attracted more than 270,000 views and was shared over 14,000 times.
It also attracted over 1,000 comments, with a large number of netizens expressing their disgust at the lack of hygiene exhibited.
"How can the staff do that? They are preparing food for people to eat and drink," wrote user Amy Goh.
"Unbelievable and unacceptable!!!" wrote Cecilia Lim.
The Straits Times has contacted Kopitiam for comment and is awaiting a reply.

Mercs posted this

NEA to take action against Kopitiam after employee was caught washing shoes in sink
PUBLISHED ON JUN 23, 2015
BY LEE MIN KOK
SINGAPORE - The National Environment Agency (NEA) said it will take action against food court operator Kopitiam after one of its employees was caught on camera washing her shoes in a sink at an outlet in the National University Hospital (NUH).
The employee has been sacked after the incident was highlighted on social media.
In a statement, the NEA said it has investigated the matter. "The wash basin is usually used by food handlers to wash their hands and food containers. This episode was a flagrant breach of hygiene that could have resulted in contamination of food and utensils," said the statement.
Facebook user "Queenie Here" posted the video last Sunday (June 21) night. She wrote: "Care for a dessert @NUH Kopitiam? I wanted to order dessert after my dinner. Unfortunately I saw this scene....."
Care for a dessert@NUH Kopitiam?I wanted to order dessert after my dinner. Unfortunately I saw this scene...... #HTCDesireEye
Posted by Queenie Here on Monday, June 22, 2015
The clip, which lasts almost two minutes, shows the woman scrubbing both her shoes with a brush under a running tap within the cold desserts section of the food court. She then appeared to return the brush to a container which held other kitchen utensils.
As of 11am on Tuesday, the clip had attracted more than 270,000 views and was shared over 14,000 times.
It also attracted over 1,000 comments, with a large number of netizens expressing their disgust at the lack of hygiene exhibited.
"How can the staff do that? They are preparing food for people to eat and drink," wrote user Amy Goh.
"Unbelievable and unacceptable!!!" wrote Cecilia Lim.
Kopitiam, known for its chain of food courts in Singapore, has since apologised for the incident. In a post on Facebook on Tuesday morning, it assured customers that the washing equipment used by the employee had been replaced and the sink disinfected. It added that the employee has been sacked.
Dear Customers,With regard to the incident in our food court located at NUH, we would like to apologize for this...
Posted by Kopitiam True Singapore Taste on Monday, June 22, 2015
A Kopitiam spokesman said that the company will also be conducting a hygiene briefing for all staff members working in the food court.
NUH wrote on its Facebook page that it was aware of the video and had alerted Kopitiam's management.
Hi, we are aware of an online video clip regarding a Kopitiam staff at one of its outlets in NUH. This is highly...
Posted by National University Hospital on Monday, June 22, 2015
According to the NEA, food retail outlets who are convicted for hygiene lapses may be fined not more than $2,000 and have their licences suspended.
It urged the public to call its 24-hour NEA Call Centre on 1800-2255632 should it come across any poor hygiene practices in food establishments.

if u look at the video, the other colleagues walking by bo chup too. Must hv been doing this many x

i hate the kopitiam at NUH, went there few time already feel disgusted especially around their beverage/fruit juice counter.

NHG seriously have to review using kopitiam group in all their hospital (i believe they are the sole operator for all the hospital).

i hate the kopitiam at NUH, went there few time already feel disgusted especially around their beverage/fruit juice counter.

NHG seriously have to review using kopitiam group in all their hospital (i believe they are the sole operator for all the hospital).

i oni go starbucks now...

Not juz this place but prob many other places too. It's juz too bad or stoopid of them to do it openly.

Moral of story: dun be rude to the waiter or send the dish back comprain the chef's cooking sux.

Not juz this place but prob many other places too. It's juz too bad or stoopid of them to do it openly.

Moral of story: dun be rude to the waiter or send the dish back comprain the chef's cooking sux.

eh you sell soya bean right? what other WHITE thing you put? who your supplier? @porker or @turboflat4

:D:D:a-confused:

agree, just dun eat the dish, leave the place and never return -_-

then come mcf complain [laugh][laugh]

She already sacked yesterday.

sacking is easy, just re-employ her in the neighbourhood Kopitiam outlet, no one would know.

if u look at the video, the other colleagues walking by bo chup too. Must hv been doing this many x

She smiled a lil for the beedeo as well :D

eh you sell soya bean right? what other WHITE thing you put? who your supplier? @porker or @turboflat4

kns.... lucky I quite nice to the uncle and auntie selling soya at my place.... :D .... else later find some thick watery substance.... [rolleyes]

Kopi tiam coffee is horrible.

Anyway these types of food handlers who don't care are still around in many other places.

Kopi tiam coffee is horrible.

Anyway these types of food handlers who don't care are still around in many other places.

bro, you are right about the coffee . . . yucks!

Eh....tink u hanging ard porker too much lah. Even shoe washing can turn into gay talk.