Advice needed on Car Aircon

Kieran1975

My car going to due in Dec 2015 and currently hunting a new car now ....

Aircon start giving me problem last month, cool air instead of cold air blowing out.

Went to see the "MCF recommended" aircon specialist in the north and was told compressor going to kaput.

I was quoted $600-$700 for the compressor and decided just to top up aircon gas.

After topping up the aircon gas, aircon is back back to norm until today.

Went to seek 2nd opinion from another workshop in the north, this time was told the cooling coil leak and need to change else compressor will sure die soon.

is it the compressor or cooling coil causing the problem or worst both need to change.

Do you think my aircon able to "tong" for 4-5 months by just topping up aircon gas every month?

Bro, i faced similar dilemma before. In the end changed whole compressor to have an ease of mind.. While it may be more economical to top gas periodically,but you won't know if it may link to more critical problem. If your compressor is leaking oil,have no second thought please. The luminous green colour oil is pumped into coil and can be harmful to health, esp our little ones when prolong inhaling..

Edited by Optramagnum

what car model?

Maybe boleh land have 2nd hand unit that is still good and at less than half pice.

Toyota wish. You have lobang in boleh land ? I'm fine if below SGD $300.

Buy new.....denso compressor made in japan plus labour $530

I just did mine

Mine is due Oct 30 2015.

I'm prepared to top up gas till I scrap.

Now very cold since I top up 2 weeks ago.

Hahaha... We both have the same problem. The second work shop I visited told me cannot top up too many time as compressor will kaput. Maybe he try to con me....

I try to be nice to my Aircon.

Will switch it on a few minutes after the car moves off.

I never set colder than 22.5 Celsius.

On days when it's cold and I'm not with my family, I don't even switch it on.

I think your Aircon shop not honest.

Most I visit will tell me to top up and pray hard......

My buddy also thought need to charge up gas. But end up need to do a aircon flush. Inject new oil and his aircon back to normal.

Sometime is condenser coil nv take care and clean periodly. Heat transfer capability went down causing the hi pressure side to rise outside operating range and kaput the compressor.

My buddy also thought need to charge up gas. But end up need to do a aircon flush. Inject new oil and his aircon back to normal.

Sometime is condenser coil nv take care and clean periodly. Heat transfer capability went down causing the hi pressure side to rise outside operating range and kaput the compressor.

How to take care condenser coil? Remove dash to clean?

Condenser coil is the one in the engine. Spray on with coil cleaner and wash off with water

Edited by Kippei

For my case is the fan carbon used up need replacement, when stuck in jam I enjoy sauna. Cars these day nearing 10 yr component start to fail.

I'm facing the same problem as yours. Check with almost all workshop. Say need change compressor but it too ex thou so i go for the cheaper option to top up gas. But dun last long. So most probably jus change the compressor to prevent any more damage.

u can go for recon, its a cheaper option rather than keep wasting money to top up gas. the amount of money spent on topping up gas is rather spend on a reconditioning the compressor.

Many differing opinions on aircon flushing :

1) if it ain't spoilt, don't touch it. If not more problems might follow.

2) preventing measure to prolong ur compressor life as the oil itself will get dirty.

Mine blow hot air for 10 mins then cold air, went to ubi kim and was told change compressor $680. Think will seek another opinion before deciding.

If it ain't broken don't fix it.

I never do anything to my aircon for 8 years and it's still working well.

Only change aircon filter, that's it. Never top up gas or change oil before.

And yes, it's a VW.