Singapore Botanic Gardens - Unesco World Heritage

Ktglfc

Yeah :)

A very welcome SG50 present for our Singapore :))

Singapore Botanic Gardens clinches prestigious Unesco World Heritage site status

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-botanic-gardens-clinches-prestigious-unesco-world-heritage-site-status

BONN, GERMANY - The nation has its first Unesco World Heritage Site in the bag. The 156-year-old Singapore Botanic Gardens was awarded the coveted status at the 39th World Heritage Committee meeting in Bonn, Germany on Saturday.

The listing was announced at the International Conference Centre of Bonn by the chair of the session Ruchira Kamboj, a delegate of India to Unesco.

All 21 members of the World Heritage Committee elected to speak on the Gardens nomination. They lauded its various qualities, and gave it a resounding "yes".

This is something we all Singaporeans should be proud of :))

Edited by Ktglfc
  • Praise 10

Yeah :)

A very welcome SG50 present for our Singapore :))

This is something we all Singaporeans should be proud of :))

Our past and present national gardeners should be given a medal for this honor...

We have nothing , yet was able to create a World Heritage Site out of it.. kudos to them for their hard work... [thumbsup]

Nice nice

Next time when guests are in town, got something to introduce Liao

Last time, I can only introduce Great Wall of China, now can introduce Botanical Garden

Well deserved! Used to be my family's favourite place to hang out on a Sunday. We go there almost every week and the frequent orchestra performance is an absolute plus.

Soon will start collecting entrance fees liao . [sweatdrop]

Hope not.. and they have no reason to.. before, when it was free, the place was well maintained and clean. Now, what is the justification to do charge for entry?

One of the reason why this garden was so well received (by both locals and foreigners) was bec it was free, free to use and free for us to enjoy.. lets not spoil this natural beauty in the name of "realizing its economic potential" (re : Let's suck more $ from this while it's famous!) .. [rifle]

highly suspected and expected that too. [dead]

Just back from WCP McDonald place, saw the sign EPS parking coming soon...

Soon will start collecting entrance fees liao . [sweatdrop]

Edited by Kangadrool

I remember the nice ducks (they were quite huge) n not scare of humans

I got their photos somewhere.....

Congrats!

Will be there every alternate Sunday mornings for brisk walk right after breakfast at Food for Thought.

WELL DONE!

I remember the nice ducks (they were quite huge) n not scare of humans

I got their photos somewhere.....

Swans lah, what ducks? Brahaha.

Congrats!

Will be there every alternate Sunday mornings for brisk walk right after breakfast at Food for Thought.

WELL DONE!

Swans lah, what ducks? Brahaha.

Not le.....ducks....they were in the pond near the road...hee hee hee....

nice must go see now

Morning at the break of dawn is nice time to go, gates open at 5am. Can catch the morning mist . . . and maybe a glimpse of my cousin. Heh heh ....

Not le.....ducks....they were in the pond near the road...hee hee hee....

Noom noom noomm ... lor ark?

Morning at the break of dawn is nice time to go, gates open at 5am. Can catch the morning mist . . . and maybe a glimpse of my cousin. Heh heh ....

Noom noom noomm ... lor ark?

Hee hee....okie....I checked already, got both swans and whistling ducks....

Edited by Pinobii

Congrats to the team hard work that make it possible.

Congrats to Singapore.

Now when bro piak piak there.... They can proudly say they piak at a World Heritage site.....