Medical appointment

Blacksnow

i searched for "medical appointment" and this is what I found ...does not really cover my question but here it goes;

how do you guys go for your medical appts when you are working ? for my coy, we basically use our annual leave to go for the appts as coy does not give time-off.

what about you guys ?

By right should take leave, as it is not MC.  But my boss very understanding., can leave office earlier, or take extended lunch or come late in the morning, depending on time of appointment.

i searched for "medical appointment" and this is what I found ...does not really cover my question but here it goes;

how do you guys go for your medical appts when you are working ? for my coy, we basically use our annual leave to go for the appts as coy does not give time-off.

what about you guys ?

i just inform him can liao.. no need apply anything....... in return, every time i go, the doc will offer MC i will decline and go back to work..

for your coy, maybe last time people take advantage that's why they have this ruling 

what about you guys ?

Inform boss earlier, show him my apt card / letter, and if possible always arrange appt at the last 1/2 hour before clinic closes ... this will prove to boss that you are minimizing the disruption of work ...

Then ask for time off to see Dr... usually boss will be understanding if you show the above ...

what about you guys ?

Usually company will be quite flexible.

If not, then apply annual leave, ask doc for MC and then cancel annual leave lor.

Doc always ask me if i need MC - whether private specialist or govt hospital specialist.

Edited by Kusje

i just inform him can liao.. no need apply anything....... in return, every time i go, the doc will offer MC i will decline and go back to work..

for your coy, maybe last time people take advantage that's why they have this ruling 

Unfortunately, when you decline an MC only you and Doc knows.

Happen to me many times, turn down countless MCs to plough on due to my commitment to my colleagues as they too do the same but bosses come and go and some don't appreciate the sacrifices we employees give, sad but I will continue to do so if anything for my wonderful colleagues [thumbsup]

Usually company will be quite flexible.

If not, then apply annual leave, ask doc for MC and then cancel annual leave lor.

Doc always ask me if i need MC - whether private specialist or govt hospital specialist.

Same

It's all abt trust! Just tell boss and go see.

As long as work done wat

I will just take the MC as "insurance", but go back to work.

Happen to me many times, turn down countless MCs to plough on due to my commitment to my colleagues as they too do the same but bosses come and go and some don't appreciate the sacrifices we employees give, sad but I will continue to do so if anything for my wonderful colleagues [thumbsup]

Happen to me many times, turn down countless MCs to plough on due to my commitment to my colleagues as they too do the same but bosses come and go and some don't appreciate the sacrifices we employees give, sad but I will continue to do so if anything for my wonderful colleagues [thumbsup]

If I.need an mc i will take..if don't need take then why take...i did not make any sacrifice

And I do it because I believe in being fair... I don't do it to impress anyone

The post was make in reference to medical appointment not about going clinic to see doc for flu or fever...

Edited by Galantspeedz

I will just take the MC as "insurance", but go back to work.

If something happens during work I believe your company will be liable and the company insurance is unlikely to cover you since you were deemed unfit for duty, I.e mc

For this matter, if something serious happen during work like you fall down and broke your hand, ultimately you may have to pay your own bill instead of claiming company insurance

I always tell my staff if you have an mc, go home. I rather be shorthanded for 1 day then have you underperforming for next few days because you had insufficient rest

If I.need an mc i will take..if don't need take then why take...i did not make any sacrifice

And I do it because I believe in being fair... I don't do it to impress anyone

The post was make in reference to medical appointment not about going clinic to see doc for flu or fever...

I understand n kudos to you for not taking MC when not needed but that's the thing right? We may think it's not needed but as u said in other post what happens if something happens to you so my point is it still is a sacrifice on your part even if you don't think it is.

And as for impressing someone, that's not what I meant as well. No need to for us to impress anyone you are absolutely right but again my point is that some bosses are ngiaow only see when staff comes in late, goes long lunches etc, they don't see when staff sacrifices like turning down an MC. Perhaps you are lucky u don't get this kind of boss but trust me there are quite a few of these kind around!

well this may apply mostly in factory, production, physical operation kind of work. For indoor office jobs where there's "leeway", most will know their limits and do with caution.

Ultimately, my work still need to be done by myself when I am back from MC. No difference.

Taking MC is just for "insurance" purpose should I decide to rest instead of work. 

If something happens during work I believe your company will be liable and the company insurance is unlikely to cover you since you were deemed unfit for duty, I.e mc

For this matter, if something serious happen during work like you fall down and broke your hand, ultimately you may have to pay your own bill instead of claiming company insurance

I always tell my staff if you have an mc, go home. I rather be shorthanded for 1 day then have you underperforming for next few days because you had insufficient rest

I understand n kudos to you for not taking MC when not needed but that's the thing right? We may think it's not needed but as u said in other post what happens if something happens to you so my point is it still is a sacrifice on your part even if you don't think it is.

And as for impressing someone, that's not what I meant as well. No need to for us to impress anyone you are absolutely right but again my point is that some bosses are ngiaow only see when staff comes in late, goes long lunches etc, they don't see when staff sacrifices like turning down an MC. Perhaps you are lucky u don't get this kind of boss but trust me there are quite a few of these kind around!

Depends what's the medical appointment is for...

My ex boss like that lor...ngiao on small things and don't appreciate extra things done

must learn from FTs.... sweet talk a lot, but do little or no do...

The biggest mistake to make is when a new boss is crossing over from another department and you didn't walk up to him/her to congratulate, talk lotsa of rubbish, carry his balls.... Some bosses need people to come forward to talk to him/her instead of him/her approaching the ground staff, need lotsa attention, assurance, talk and talk...  Happened and seen all these in my working life.....

Depends what's the medical appointment is for...

My ex boss like that lor...ngiao on small things and don't appreciate extra things done

Edited by Kangadrool

what about you guys ?

The employer might want to follow the MOM guidelines below.

IMHO, usually it is very straight forward,  go for medical appointment,  if no MC given, use Annual Leave.

It is when there is time-off that things becomes "creative" to maximise the annual leave or sick leave. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can an employee use sick leave to attend medical appointments?

Yes, but only if the doctor provides them with certification of sick leave. 

The Employment Act does not allow employees paid time-off for a medical appointment if the doctor doesn’t then give them certified sick leave.

However, if you are an employer, you are encouraged to be flexible and supportive in allowing employees paid time off if they need to see a doctor for follow-up sessions and other legitimate medical appointments.

Source - http://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/sick-leave/can-an-employee-use-sick-leave-to-attend-medical-appointments

Happen to me many times, turn down countless MCs to plough on due to my commitment to my colleagues as they too do the same but bosses come and go and some don't appreciate the sacrifices we employees give, sad but I will continue to do so if anything for my wonderful colleagues [thumbsup]

That's why take and keep the MCs even if you go back to work. If boss buay song with you, take the whole stack of MCs and THWACK the bugger in the face until he song song gao julong. If he still buay song, tell him Bracula teach you one.

take a notebook from your admin department and start pasting and recording series of events as per ISO standards. :D

That's why take and keep the MCs even if you go back to work. If boss buay song with you, take the whole stack of MCs and THWACK the bugger in the face until he song song gao julong. If he still buay song, tell him Bracula teach you one.

Same

It's all abt trust! Just tell boss and go see.

As long as work done wat

Not if you own a better car than your boss..