Another MU Place To Consider

Picnic06-Biante15

Former Botak Jones owner returned as Big Bern's American Grill... :serious-business:

Ha..ha.... saving the distant of driving all the way to Sembawang,The Handlebar" but still cannot compare with the surrounding environment of The Handlebar.

Yahoo news: Big Bern’s: Starting over again…at 63

At the height of their business, with up to 13 outlets, they were living their dream. Their tills were ringing in decent 6 figures sales each month and life was exciting and fun. Their customers could not get enough of their hard core no-frills American chow. They went from Bernie’s to Botak Jones and consulted for a few outlets with similar concepts…there was no stopping them.

Then, it all fell apart, “it was a series of bad business decisions and partnership woes” and I could see the pain in the business hardened eyes of Bernie Utchenik as he said so. When Bernie and his wife Zee moved on from their last Botak Jones outlet (they sold it) in Balestier, they were still staring at a “staggering” 6 figure debt, the same they used to make monthly back then. Now at age 63, when he should be reaping the rewards and enjoying the soft sunset years ahead, they are starting all over again. “No choice. We got some good years left ahead and we got debts to clear”. But have willpower and skills, will travel, I say.

They now roost here in Toa Payoh (Bernie has this thing for quaint and industrial spots) and their comforting and lovable American menu is up again. Plus, Bernie and Zee are up at it personally at the stall each day. He suffers from personal anxiety disorders but calms it with his fighting spirit and some medication. Despite all that, he spends at least 3 hours a day in the kitchen. Slowly and surely, the debt is clearing and nothing is stopping them. He spoke nothing of his woes and gushed only about his kitchen craft. I had to dig and scratch it out of him.

I am not a fan of salmon- too bland and blah for me. But I note how well chefs do this. They took a wild caught salmon (the texture and flavour is bolder) and seared it very well and was not the usual dry piece of fish I usually get at dressed down western eateries like this. Their own made tartar sauce was a bonus to the show. The lovely potato cake completed the show.

The Po-Boys sandwich did not floor me the first time I tried it. The bread used felt like a stack of cardboard but they recently changed it to what felt a whole lot more authentic- it was softer and gummier inside and crunchy but not crispy. The battered soft shell crabs lumps had its natural flavour but would’ve preferred it with more marinate. The greens and the chiili sauce lifted it.

Bernie is very practical… “sell good food, treat the customers well and git myself back on my feet”. He will get there and be up for air very soon, I know.

Big Bern’s American Grill
978 Toa Payoh North , #02-01
+65 6710 7362

1130am to 9pm daily

Link: https://sg.news.yaho...-094536952.html

post-21853-0-47901500-1436938647.jpg

Edited by Picnic06

I think Toa Payoh should be a centralise location for all to meet ...... :serious-business:

Hee....hee... only 5 minutes driving from my house ... :a-happy:

but closed at 9.00 pm ... :a-m1524:

Edited by Picnic06

Former Botak Jones owner returned as Big Bern's American Grill... :serious-business:

Ha..ha.... saving the distant of driving all the way to Sembawang,The Handlebar" but still cannot compare with the surrounding environment of The Handlebar.

Yahoo news: Big Bern’s: Starting over again…at 63

At the height of their business, with up to 13 outlets, they were living their dream. Their tills were ringing in decent 6 figures sales each month and life was exciting and fun. Their customers could not get enough of their hard core no-frills American chow. They went from Bernie’s to Botak Jones and consulted for a few outlets with similar concepts…there was no stopping them.

Then, it all fell apart, “it was a series of bad business decisions and partnership woes” and I could see the pain in the business hardened eyes of Bernie Utchenik as he said so. When Bernie and his wife Zee moved on from their last Botak Jones outlet (they sold it) in Balestier, they were still staring at a “staggering” 6 figure debt, the same they used to make monthly back then. Now at age 63, when he should be reaping the rewards and enjoying the soft sunset years ahead, they are starting all over again. “No choice. We got some good years left ahead and we got debts to clear”. But have willpower and skills, will travel, I say.

They now roost here in Toa Payoh (Bernie has this thing for quaint and industrial spots) and their comforting and lovable American menu is up again. Plus, Bernie and Zee are up at it personally at the stall each day. He suffers from personal anxiety disorders but calms it with his fighting spirit and some medication. Despite all that, he spends at least 3 hours a day in the kitchen. Slowly and surely, the debt is clearing and nothing is stopping them. He spoke nothing of his woes and gushed only about his kitchen craft. I had to dig and scratch it out of him.

I am not a fan of salmon- too bland and blah for me. But I note how well chefs do this. They took a wild caught salmon (the texture and flavour is bolder) and seared it very well and was not the usual dry piece of fish I usually get at dressed down western eateries like this. Their own made tartar sauce was a bonus to the show. The lovely potato cake completed the show.

The Po-Boys sandwich did not floor me the first time I tried it. The bread used felt like a stack of cardboard but they recently changed it to what felt a whole lot more authentic- it was softer and gummier inside and crunchy but not crispy. The battered soft shell crabs lumps had its natural flavour but would’ve preferred it with more marinate. The greens and the chiili sauce lifted it.

Bernie is very practical… “sell good food, treat the customers well and git myself back on my feet”. He will get there and be up for air very soon, I know.

Big Bern’s American Grill

978 Toa Payoh North , #02-01

+65 6710 7362

1130am to 9pm daily

Link: https://sg.news.yaho...-094536952.html

Yes this place quite central and convenient but close too early leh....

I think Toa Payoh should be a centralise location for all to meet ...... :serious-business:

Hee....hee... only 5 minutes driving from my house ... :a-happy:

but closed at 9.00 pm ... :a-m1524:

Then you *Swah* to Lor 8 ... can sit outside drink beer lor ...

Time again for another Meet-Up. :a-happy:

Almost 9 months leow since the last MU at "The Handlebar" tuck way inside former Kampong Wak Hassan, S'wang end.... :serious-business:

Received a message with regards to a new eatery along Sembawang Road.

Anyone interested ?

Time again for another Meet-Up. :a-happy:

Almost 9 months leow since the last MU at "The Handlebar" tuck way inside former Kampong Wak Hassan, S'wang end.... :serious-business:

Received a message with regards to a new eatery along Sembawang Road.

Anyone interested ?

On!  This time on you...hahha

GEt that poonde @staff69 and troublemaker @angcheek to cum too

I am looking tentative date on 26th March 2016, Saturday after Good Friday.  :a-toast:   :a-toast:

Don't know how many member here going for long weekends up north to MY or Thailand on 26/03/2016.

The address is 33 Sembawang Road. Lots of parking space.

@radx , @wyfitms , @yeshe , @Bavarian , @turboflat4 , @sp4wn , @spring , @staff69 , @angcheek , @porker , @fourzero , @Thaiyotakamli , @pinobii , @vellfire , @kobayashigt , @donut , @vid (are you back in SG ?) , @Mustank , @strdcloud , @mockngbrd, @weez911, @runforyourlife

Mai Kong Boh Jio  :yuush:  

An evening of TKSS & 'yam seng' session niah, no discussion of work, family matters, MCF matters, political matters, .... etc.      :secret-laugh:

date subject to changes if most of us unable to make it.

Any one reading this are WELCOME to join in.

Wait for announcement :a-aggressive:

Edited by RadX

I'll not be back in March. May come back some time this year but not confirm yet. You guys have a good time!

On! This time on you...hahha

GEt that poonde @staff69 and troublemaker @angcheek to cum too

Hahah nabezzz ... will sure go and make trouble if im not traveling

Thanks for the arrangement @picnic06-biante15/

Edited by Angcheek

I am looking tentative date on 26th March 2016, Saturday after Good Friday.  :a-toast:   :a-toast:

Don't know how many member here going for long weekends up north to MY or Thailand on 26/03/2016.

The address is 33 Sembawang Road. Lots of parking space.

@radx , @wyfitms , @yeshe , @Bavarian , @turboflat4 , @sp4wn , @spring , @staff69 , @angcheek , @porker , @fourzero , @Thaiyotakamli , @pinobii , @vellfire , @kobayashigt , @donut , @vid (are you back in SG ?) , @Mustank , @strdcloud , @mockngbrd, @weez911, @runforyourlife

Mai Kong Boh Jio  :yuush:  

An evening of TKSS & 'yam seng' session niah, no discussion of work, family matters, MCF matters, political matters, .... etc.      :secret-laugh:

date subject to changes if most of us unable to make it.

Any one reading this are WELCOME to join in.

Wait for announcement :a-aggressive:

u v steady  :a-m1212:

can't promise anything now because of possible MY trip.  But I will definitely be there if able to.  

Appreciate your efforts. 

I'll not be back in March. May come back some time this year but not confirm yet. You guys have a good time!

Where ur office area ?

There is a coffeeshop along the road.

Used to eat their roast pork or wan ton mee but that was more than 5 years ago.

Ohh so ulu u also know ... last nite used to go there supper