Star Cruise vs Royal Carribean

Rollagt

Why not nice? I was hoping to go on board Royal Caribbean for my next trip.

I tried Star Cruises. Nothing special. Only like the casino [laugh]

Went on board Mariner of the Seas (Royal Carrib) stopping at KL and Langkawi. Excellent experience. Kids all loved it. After 5D/4N still don't want get off the ship.

Did Legend of the Sea few years back depart SG disembark at Kaohsiung.

In btw covered Vietnam & HK. Wonderful 10days experience.

Stayed in a junior suite with Huge Balcony.

Food was Excellent.

Service too.

:wub:

my experience with Star Cruise 10 years back, I was so glad to have the balcony class, as the class segregation was quite obvious. more like casino ship than anything

Royal Cab was 3 years back. balcony class but less segregation and slightly more atas and kids friendly.

When my girl is 1 1/2 years old, we flew to sydney. My wife gave her bread to eat during take off and landing, she didnt cry or complain.

When I first take plane during my pri sch days. Take off I find it very fun coz the sudden burst of energy is very shioK and I still ask my father how come car cannot have such effect. When the plane is landing, my ears are so painful that I cry and cry, father dont know what to do but to press on my ears and tell me to swallow saliva.

Flight attendant show me the press the nose and blow nose but the pain is too much for me to bear, how to focus what she talking. In the end, I suffer the ear pain till touch down. For the next 2 days, i had this muffled hearing and I hate it to the core. Told my father I dont wan to take plane anymore.

Back to present, I can imagine what my kiddo is going thru if she is like me, cannot tahan the ear pressure pain, somemore is only a toddler.

current cruise for Royal Carribean - Mariners of the Sea

current cruise for Star Cruise - Star Gemini

In comparism:

price - Star Cruise is cheaper

size - Star Gemini is very small, smaller than the previous star virgo and many times smaller than Mariners of the Sea

facilities - Obviously Mariners of the Sea has more facilities as it is bigger

currency - USD on RCC while SGD on SC

food inclusive in your package - SC has western rest, chinese rest and buffet rest while RCC has no chinese rest thus more western food

For me, i would prefer SC food as I dislike western food. However Star Gemini is very small ship, I doubt i will enjoy myself there as I don't gamble. The most I will stay 3D2N. Anything more than that will bored me to death. If I were to go cruise again, I would choose RCC for the facilities.

If your child is 2.5 years old and first time going to cruise, I think going SC will be easier for trial? As SC ship is smaller, berth in harbourfront while RCC ship need to berth in Marina centre. Harbourfront is easier for you. 2.5 years old can't use much facilities anyway. I brought my son to Star virgo when he was 2.5years old and all he can do is play water at the pool and jacuzzi and the arcade.

BTW for info, Star cruise is building a very big ship now and wil be ready in 2016.

http://www.philippineflightnetwork.com/2013/11/star-cruises-to-build-largest-cruise.html

When I first take plane during my pri sch days. Take off I find it very fun coz the sudden burst of energy is very shioK and I still ask my father how come car cannot have such effect. When the plane is landing, my ears are so painful that I cry and cry, father dont know what to do but to press on my ears and tell me to swallow saliva.

Flight attendant show me the press the nose and blow nose but the pain is too much for me to bear, how to focus what she talking. In the end, I suffer the ear pain till touch down. For the next 2 days, i had this muffled hearing and I hate it to the core. Told my father I dont wan to take plane anymore.

Back to present, I can imagine what my kiddo is going thru if she is like me, cannot tahan the ear pressure pain, somemore is only a toddler.

I think its pretty much depending on the building blocks of ones body. Some very sensitive and some are not so, only way is to try and see how it goes.

Edited by Xers007

Actually why not consider going Club Med instead? It's all inclusive and kids friendly

In comparism:

size - Star Gemini is very small, smaller than the previous star virgo and many times smaller than Mariners of the Sea

food inclusive in your package - SC has western rest, chinese rest and buffet rest while RCC has no chinese rest thus more western food

For me, i would prefer SC food as I dislike western food. However Star Gemini is very small ship, I doubt i will enjoy myself there as I don't gamble. The most I will stay 3D2N. Anything more than that will bored me to death. If I were to go cruise again, I would choose RCC for the facilities.

If your child is 2.5 years old and first time going to cruise, I think going SC will be easier for trial? As SC ship is smaller, berth in harbourfront while RCC ship need to berth in Marina centre. Harbourfront is easier for you. 2.5 years old can't use much facilities anyway. I brought my son to Star virgo when he was 2.5years old and all he can do is play water at the pool and jacuzzi and the arcade.

BTW for info, Star cruise is building a very big ship now and wil be ready in 2016.

http://www.philippineflightnetwork.com/2013/11/star-cruises-to-build-largest-cruise.html

then 2016 i will be on cruise again haha

Actually why not consider going Club Med instead? It's all inclusive and kids friendly

Hmm..sounds good also. Will discuss with wifey and decide from there.

In comparism:

That's very informative wor.. looking fwd to the new SC vessel !

Oh ya hor..i remember it is meant for Asian . LOL

Farm stay first thing think of is AussieLand liao. Speaking of overseas, how do you all manage toddlers having ear pressure pain during flight ascending and descending ?

can try this

http://ukfarm.com.my/

or this

http://www.rwsentosa.com/language/en-US/Homepage/HotelsAndSpa/OceanSuites

depending on budget

Edited by Galantspeedz

go for royal Caribbean.

ship is bigger with more facilities.

very kid frenly.

for food, there is kids menu in the fine dining and there is a buffet style restaurant if you fancy Chinese food.

there is a kids club and many parent leave their kids with them, they will dress them up in pirates costume and parade around the ship, very nice.

use the daily planner to plan your activities. and you will be spoil for choices.

the on board staff are asian and they assign cleaners to probably 10 cabins and your fare include their tips so they are contactable anytime and frenly too, they will fold the clean towels into shape of animals and leave them on your bed, got rabbit, monkey etc etc

disembarking is the best part, the ship will dock at 7am and then you take your own sweet time to get off the ship not like SC, when everyone is gather in the theater and all disembark together, very stressful if you have kids with you.

the cabin is also bigger as it is designed for ang mos.

there is 2 swimming pools 1 indoor and 1 outdoor.

overall, it is a cruise ship and not a gambling ship.

but take Mariner of the Seas and it is almost twice the size of Virgo, esp oct period is the start of Monsoon period, bigger the ship the more stable in the rough seas if you happened to encounter high seas.

but if you take Legend of the Seas then it is roughly the same size as Virgo

lastly at high seas, not mobile connection. escape from work and bosses.

my 2 cents contribution as i have take SC 5 times and Royal Caribbean 4 times as my kids love cruises.

Star Cruise is far from its heyday in the 1990s... now they are completely casino-oriented. It acquired Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) in 2000, and since then the practice is for the newer Star Cruise ships to go to NCL, and for NCL's old ships to come to Asia and to be rebranded as a Star.

Superstar Leo --> NCL

Superstar Aquarius, Superstar Libra and Superstar Gemini are all old ships from NCL

4 other ships which Star Cruise bought for the early 2000s never came, all were transferred to NCL

Now that they're finally building a new ship, it's going to be named Genting World. No points for guessing what its focus shall be.

PRC PRC and more PRC ... profit is everything ... [sly]

Now that they're finally building a new ship, it's going to be named Genting World. No points for guessing what its focus shall be.

If you are the type of person who likes to do a lot and chiong, then cruising is not for you.

Cruising is the relax holiday. Chill and do nothing, well do nothing much.