Star Cruise vs Royal Carribean

Rollagt

Never joined Royal C before, so no comments.

As for Star C, joined a year ago and has a shock.

So many i***** on the cruise that we don't dare to go inside the pools.

Food is not nice too. Standard has dropped since I cruised with them 10 years ago.

Star Cruise is far from its heyday in the 1990s... now they are completely casino-oriented. It acquired Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) in 2000, and since then the practice is for the newer Star Cruise ships to go to NCL, and for NCL's old ships to come to Asia and to be rebranded as a Star.

Superstar Leo --> NCL

Superstar Aquarius, Superstar Libra and Superstar Gemini are all old ships from NCL

4 other ships which Star Cruise bought for the early 2000s never came, all were transferred to NCL

Now that they're finally building a new ship, it's going to be named Genting World. No points for guessing what its focus shall be.

Here's one of the few ships which were planned for the 2000s, but was never built...

superstarsagittarius-ii.jpg

Edited by Alheych

Never joined Royal C before, so no comments.

As for Star C, joined a year ago and has a shock.

So many i***** on the cruise that we don't dare to go inside the pools.

Food is not nice too. Standard has dropped since I cruised with them 10 years ago.

No need ***** it out la... Already mention in the earlier posts ;-)

After visiting the travel fair over the weekend, decide to give cruise a miss. Will definitely visit when kiddo is older. :mellow:

Yah after 4 days in cruise, u will be a boringchap lol

If you feel bored after 4 days, I believe other passengers felt also the same........ :dizzy:

Just need to go over to the next cabin of [gorgeous] and asked, want to try something 'out of the box' cos I have nothing else better to do ..... [sly]

:secret-laugh::secret-laugh:

I think if you participate on the various activities onboard the cruise ship, it would not be so boring. Like go for their fitness classes or dance classes. Ship tour, board games and sports.

my aunt just took RC to Alaska ... the experience was "phenomenal"

but one must love slow and steady itinery with companion instead of everyday go here go there to cover locations

cruise holiday is very unique ... you love it or you hate it.

unlike land holiday ... you go from cities to cities and have diferent experience

for me, 4-5 days on cruise is almost hitting the max liao ... any longer i will bored to death and go crazy ... LOL

anyone took RC to Alaska before? Always wanted to try this one but wonder how is the experience?

If you feel bored after 4 days, I believe other passengers felt also the same........ :dizzy:

Just need to go over to the next cabin of [gorgeous] and asked, want to try something 'out of the box' cos I have nothing else better to do ..... [sly]

:secret-laugh::secret-laugh:

I remember i watched the Topless show in SC 3-4 years back.

All the ang mo felt aircon not working and start.... [gorgeous]

I think if you participate on the various activities onboard the cruise ship, it would not be so boring. Like go for their fitness classes or dance classes. Ship tour, board games and sports.

If i feel its start getting boring then i would sit in the casino for the remaining days haha

anyone took RC to Alaska before? Always wanted to try this one but wonder how is the experience?

my colleague took 3 weeks off last year, flew there to take that cruise [sweatdrop]

Maybe he will get to know the cruise better than the staffs

Just like this lady

http://www.usatoday.com/story/travel/cruises/2015/01/19/woman-pays-164k-per-year-to-live-on-luxury-cruise-ship/22030011/

Lee Wachtstetter, an 86-year-old Florida widow, took her daughter's advice. She sold her five-bedroom Fort Lauderdale-area home on 10 acres and became a permanent luxury cruise ship resident after her husband died.

Mama Lee, as she's known aboard the 11-year-old Crystal Serenity, has been living on the 1,070-passenger vessel longer than most of its 655 crewmembers nearly seven years.

"My husband introduced me to cruising," she recalled. "Mason was a banker and real estate appraiser and taught me to love cruising. During our 50-year marriage we did 89 cruises. I've done nearly a hundred more and 15 world cruises."

How many visited countries does that add up to?

"I stopped counting after 100." she said. "Just say I've been to almost any country that has a port."

Most interesting have been the nations in Asia, she observed, because they're so different from America.

USA TODAY

A suite the size of a house? This ship will have one

She rarely bothers going ashore nowadays because she's most likely already been there several times. "And when most everybody goes ashore it's so quiet, and I have almost the whole ship for myself."

Istanbul is an exception, though. "I can't resist the Grand Bazaar," Wachstetter said. "You can find gorgeously regal or glitzy outfits there, perfect for formal or casual wear and not terribly expensive. I have to restrain myself every time because of my limited cabin space."

Ian Schemper

The pool area on a Crystal cruise ship.

What she misses most is her family, but manages to keep in touch with her three sons and seven grandchildren with her laptop computer. "I hear from one of them every day, and visit with them whenever we dock in Miami. Last year we docked in Miami five times."

Her daughter has since passed away, and so have all her close friends in the Fort Lauderdale area, she said

USATODAY

The 50 largest cruise ships in the world

"When my children were all young, I took them on cruises many times. Now they have families of their own and do what's right for them.

"The day before my husband died of cancer in 1997, he told me, 'Don't stop cruising.' So here I am today living a stress-free, fairy-tale life."

She estimates living the good life on the Serenity this year will cost her $164,000. That'll cover costs of her single-occupancy seventh deck stateroom, regular and specialty restaurant meals with available lunch and dinner beverages, gratuities, nightly ballroom dancing with dance hosts and Broadway-caliber entertainment as well as the captain's frequent cocktail parties, movies, lectures, plus other scheduled daily activities.

go-diva.webs.com

The 11-year-old Crystal Serenity holds 1,070-passengers. Mama Lee, as Lee Wachtstetter is known on board, has been living on the ship for nearly seven years.

Crystal Cruise Line's reputation and its availability of dance hosts for passengers traveling alone are what sold her on the Crystal Serenity. Readers of Travel and Leisure and Conde Nast Traveler magazine almost annually vote it the world's best cruise line, and the Serenity is the newer of the Japanese-owned cruise line's two ships.

"I enjoy dancing, and this was the best of the remaining ships that still use dance hosts," Mama Lee explained. "My husband didn't dance, just didn't like to, and encouraged me to dance with the hosts.

"Before coming aboard this ship I lived on a Holland America liner for three years. The day they announced they were stopping the dance host program was the day I decided to leave.

"I dance every night for a couple hours after dinner, have been doing it for years. And I've also trained with the ship's dance instructors."

As for dinner, she said, "I do love to eat and regularly dine at a table for eight. You meet interesting passengers, and I've made lots of new friends that way."

USA TODAY

USA TODAY's guide to the hottest new ships of 2015

She's put on 25 pounds since coming on board, she confides, and has been on a fruit and vegetable liquid diet, trying to shed them. "I'm happy to say I have only 10 more pounds to lose." she said, laughing.

Most days Mama Lee can be found in the Palm Court lounge doing needlepoint.

"It's my second love, have been doing it for 50 years. I've even helped teach it to some passengers. Everything I make I give to crewmembers. Gives me great pleasure.

"The crewmembers bend over backwards to keep me happy. Some are almost like family now. If they don't have what I want, they get it. even if they have to buy it off the ship or make it to my specific needs."

She pointed to a framed cushion wall hanging in her stateroom that holds dozens of her earrings.

"Unique, isn't it? A crewmember made it," she said.

Looking forward to her 87th birthday and seventh year aboard the Serenity, Wachtstetter, a former registered nurse, credits a good immune system for being able to steer clear of doctor offices.

"All the time I've been here I have never had a sick day," she said. "I'm so spoiled I doubt that I would ever be able to readjust to the real world again."

Three other women live on Crystal vessels but none nearly as long as Mama Lee, according to Hubert Buelacher, Serenity's hotel director. "She's just an amazing woman, one of a kind."

For a deck-by-deck tour of a Crystal ship, click through the carousel below.

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

sell a $400k hdb can live on cruise for how long? [sly]

not bad huh ... got cruise ... got food ... got entertainment ... go room to stay ... got spa ...

another option. Think this ship will be sailing from SG nearby to places in the months of Aug to Dec 15. Costa Victoria.

Edited by Camrysfa

I like cruise ship, because it is So relax.....but many sillyporean feel it is boring....

Similarly when I post previously ask about trip to Adelaide, many people here it is a boring place.

But my family (with school kids) all enjoy a lot. The pace here is always fast so just relax there is really nice.

I like cruise ship, because it is So relax.....but many sillyporean feel it is boring....

Similarly when I post previously ask about trip to Adelaide, many people here it is a boring place.

But my family (with school kids) all enjoy a lot. The pace here is always fast so just relax there is really nice.

I like ships in general. [:p] Thatz why I am in the marine industry.

If onboard a cruise ship, I would want to visit the bridge and engine room(which normally is out of bounds). [grin]

I like ships in general. [:p] Thatz why I am in the marine industry.

If onboard a cruise ship, I would want to visit the bridge and engine room(which normally is out of bounds). [grin]

If you are the VIP, usually the Cap will come and greet you. :)

Actually the purpose of going on a cruise is to put down ur heavy stress load and do nothing..let the sea breeze carry the stress away.

We locals are used to fast paced life..so even relax days also wan to chiong.

Did the alaska cruise.

Enjoyed it greatly. Don't get locked up inside, go on deck and see the scenery. It's beautiful.

If money allows, get a room with balcony and really enjoy.

Also dropping by the various pets and take short excursions.

I extended and did self drive at alaska before coming home.