How to persuade someone to seek help for possible depression

Buadongdong

Dear all, how do one persuade someone close to you to seek medical help for signs of depression? I've noticed some changes in this person's behaviour and think its good to seek help early but don't wish to hurt or agitate that person by telling him/her to seek psychiatric help. Some of the things mentioned by this person includes;

1) Talking about suicides

2) Referring to suicide articles and saying he/she will do the same

3) Out of the blue saying things like: "Don't push me or I will jump and let you see"

4) Become very emo all of the sudden

5) Look very lost and helpless when alone

6) Starting to depend on everyone for his/her needs as if we should spoonfeed him/her.

With those said, its very surprising as this person do not mention all these things at all previously but seems to talk about it every now and then, even when no one agitates him/her.

An example is when we went out for dinner. Halfway through the dinner, he/she will say something like: "You all better don't push me to my limits or I will jump". Its really out of the blue when everyone is just eating and not saying anything that will trigger this kind of reaction.

Hope to get some advice from all of you on how to persuade or bring this person to seek medical help.

If someone shows suicidal ideation, he or she can be detained in Imh temporarily.

Best is to persuade the person to go with you to the Imh 24 hour walk in clinic

But the suicidal intent must be strong enough before enforced detainment will be carried out

I always though people whom say they want to commit sucide most likely wont do it till one of my friend jumped down. Do not treat all these signal lightly, talk to the person and engage help asap.

Depression is not something to be taken lightly, needs to seek professional help and people around must pay attention to the person who is in depression.

dun think that "faking an excuse" to bring him to IMH is a good idea. Might kee siao upon knowing the one queueing up to see doc is himself.

Just bring your friend to see GP, GP should be able to assess if your friend is really depression. GP will refer your friend to A&E if he sense something is wrong.

i dun really agree that it is that person who need counselling, base on what you have described, it seem like the person didn't get much attention from people close to him/her.

If he/she need counselling, the people or the closest person around her should also be in the counselling session.

A very similar situation happened to a friend of mine.

They will rehearse many times in their mind and keep harping on it until one day they really do it.

Unbelievable but true. Do not take it lightly.

If person is really close, have a heart to heart talk. Speak gently and calmly. Most importantly, be sincere and tell him/her that you care and cherish him/her.

Tell him/her that depression can be cured but like all illness, takes time.

When heart unwell, one sees a heart specialist. When common flu and cough, one sees the gp. When one is troubled in the mind and spirit, either one seek a professional counsellor or psychiatrist.

A colleague of mine shared that when she was depressed and suicide not far off, it was like she was trapped in a dark room with only one door but she just cannot find the key to unlock it regardless how hard she tried. Through v good and patient counselling, she was able to leave that "room" without a key. A broken relationship started the whole depression thingy.

Our minds are more frail and fragile than we realise. That is why one is advised to guard what goes into its memory banks to avoid corruption or distortion. And for the sake of keeping this thread on topic, let's not bring in politics or whatever here.

Pls share if you know of any effective ways to help TS. Everyone is different hence what works for one may not for another. Of cos professional help will be needed unless the person is strong enough to overcome the mental obstacle on their own.

Hope this helps, TS and wishing your concerned party a speedy recovery.

BTW, my colleague took almost a year to be OK and numerous counselling sessions.

Edited by PSP415

People who are in such state are sometimes not capable of seeking help either because they don't want to or they are afraid or they are not aware of the state of mind they are in

If u really think he or she needs help, call imh for assistance

They will guide you on the next steps

IMH has pick up service for people who refuse to go to them. They are the professional when it comes to persuading the person to go with them. Works every time with @Radx & @jman888

Are you close to that someone? Are you the caregiver?

Does he/she have the symptoms?

1.Changes in sleep patterns
2.Changes in appetite
3.Poor concentration
4.Loss of energy
5.Lack of interest
6.Low self-esteem
7.Hopelessness or guilt

If he/she has 4 to 5 same symptoms, best is to tell him/her to see a mental health psychiatrist. IMH is one of them. Just go to A&E or call their hotline 6389 2000.

Edited by Megaweb

Dear all, how do one persuade someone close to you to seek medical help for signs of depression? I've noticed some changes in this person's behaviour and think its good to seek help early but don't wish to hurt or agitate that person by telling him/her to seek psychiatric help. Some of the things mentioned by this person includes;

1) Talking about suicides

2) Referring to suicide articles and saying he/she will do the same

3) Out of the blue saying things like: "Don't push me or I will jump and let you see"

4) Become very emo all of the sudden

5) Look very lost and helpless when alone

6) Starting to depend on everyone for his/her needs as if we should spoonfeed him/her.

With those said, its very surprising as this person do not mention all these things at all previously but seems to talk about it every now and then, even when no one agitates him/her.

An example is when we went out for dinner. Halfway through the dinner, he/she will say something like: "You all better don't push me to my limits or I will jump". Its really out of the blue when everyone is just eating and not saying anything that will trigger this kind of reaction.

Hope to get some advice from all of you on how to persuade or bring this person to seek medical help.

My advice is you may have to bring the person to seek medical help asap... good to solve this depression or even suppress it asap...

For the past few years, I have brought someone close to see a psychiatrist at CGH for depression ... she is under lithium now...

If you want, can always pm me, and I can forward you the psychiatrist's details.

IMH has pick up service for people who refuse to go to them. They are the professional when it comes to persuading the person to go with them. Works every time with @Radx & @jman888

yah better ask for special pick up service, the person already say 'dun push me' liao, still want to push him to see doctor <_<<_<