SG Presidential Election 2016/17!

Yewheng

who is Singapore first elected president?  

150 members have voted

1. 1. who is Singapore first elected president?

• Wee Kim Wee
    • Ong Teng Cheong
    • S R Nathan
    • Yusof Ishak

Well KFC is probably about 70% into his first term. There I've done the 70% thing 😂

\

nb...i get @turboflat4 to 70% thrust your behind then u know

The term for president is 6 years.

Based on last election date on 27 August 2011, I guess the next PE will be 26 August 2017 (Saturday).

The PE will be held from fifth years onward and cannot exceed 6 years. Of which, it must be held before 27/08/2017.

It's either before 2016 National Day or after it. :serious-business:

So.... this come to mind that March or Sept 2016 school holidays.... [sly]

No 70% thing, but can do the in on first page thing?

Hmmmmm............. GY, since he is now not related with any political party ... :serious-business:

I support GY for PE also! But, alas, don't think he will ba. He makes good $$ at Kerry Logistics, and can spend $$ on cars also people can't say much about him. Imagine if the president loves cars, and wanna drive his own sports cars. The security team.... [bigcry]

No 70% thing, but can do the in on first page thing?

I support GY for PE also! But, alas, don't think he will ba. He makes good $$ at Kerry Logistics, and can spend $$ on cars also people can't say much about him. Imagine if the president loves cars, and wanna drive his own sports cars. The security team.... [bigcry]

61797658.jpg

Will likely candidates be MBT and WKS? [crazy]

I certainly hope not n those 2 are not popular at all and they know it as well.

If there's a need to have a PAP backed candidate, I'll go for George Yeo.

Err.....while I think TCB is really not bad but a check on wiki shows he is always 75 currently.....

Is it too senior to still run in PE?

Prof tommy koh 1st choice. TCB 2nd

Is TK eligible?

Actually, it's always puzzled me why people keep supporting George Yeo for Elected President, almost to the point of idolisation. BTW, I've actually met the guy. He is definitely bright and able, but he's never impressed me as a person who's made a strong stand on principle - e.g. he was the first one to propose the building of the casinos in SG (and then opposed it later, by which time he was a lone voice in the wilderness); also, he was the one who designed the MDA blocks on the Internet, shortly after the gahmen assured a visiting Bill Gates that SG wouldn't practice Internet censorship.

When he lost Aljunied, he not only resigned from the party, but relocated to HK. Which is why I came up with the meme below: GY is the new NAIR. :D

In other words, GY is like the best of the current crop of MIW - an able technocrat, but not made of any special moral fibre. Remember what the role of the EP is supposed to be about: to be a hawk watching the reserves, and even challenging the gahmen when need be. What, in GY's political history, has really convinced people that he's the right person to do this?

post-52704-0-64032900-1442541732.jpg

Actually, it's always puzzled me why people keep supporting George Yeo for Elected President, almost to the point of idolisation. BTW, I've actually met the guy. He is definitely bright and able, but he's never impressed me as a person who's made a strong stand on principle - e.g. he was the first one to propose the building of the casinos in SG (and then opposed it later, by which time he was a lone voice in the wilderness); also, he was the one who designed the MDA blocks on the Internet, shortly after the gahmen assured a visiting Bill Gates that SG wouldn't practice Internet censorship.

When he lost Aljunied, he not only resigned from the party, but relocated to HK. Which is why I came up with the meme below: GY is the new NAIR. :D

In other words, GY is like the best of the current crop of MIW - an able technocrat, but not made of any special moral fibre. Remember what the role of the EP is supposed to be about: to be a hawk watching the reserves, and even challenging the gahmen when need be. What, in GY's political history, has really convinced people that he's the right person to do this?

I tend to agree with you

Not forgetting that he was a good FM which means he has excellent diplomatic skills

Not sure how the balance between firm and being diplomatic is gonna work for him if he were to stand for PE

Next presidential election should be in 2016, so early discuss liao?! Lol.

EH, GE, we started wayyyy in Oct2014 hor...kekeke

Anyway PE discussion should be less controversial than GE. No freak this and that, no IB here and there. :D